The Conundrum

What was I going to do about chocolate chip cookies?  Really, this was one of my biggest questions when I started Weight Watchers in January 2005 at the invitation of a friend.  I actually did not believe W.W. would ‘take’ in my life, but I was willing to give it a try, because everything hurt, every day, and I was on the verge of having high blood pressure, high cholesterol, and high blood sugar (diabetes,) all of which my father suffers from, with devastating results.  Even so, for a long time I had lived with the thought that I  would probably die early because I didn’t think I could do without chocolate chip cookies (among other things.)  It sounds bizarre now to even write that, but I am trying to make a truthful record of this process, mostly for myself, so I won’t forget what has happened, and what led me to this point.

Back to the chocolate chip cookies.  I pretty much knew that they would be one food I just couldn’t leave alone.  I am a good baker, and I had perfected my collection of chocolate chip cookie recipes.  As an example, my most favorite recipe had 4 cubes of butter, 4 cups of sugar, 4 eggs, and 4 cups of flour–YIKES! (I actually haven’t even looked at this recipe for 3 years.)

So, I sat and thought, what am I going to do?  And what I came up with was this:  dark chocolate was the ‘essence’ of chocolate chip cookies.  And ‘they’ say that dark chocolate is good for you.  I also knew that there was a limit to how much dark chocolate I could eat in one sitting.  So I found the best dark chocolate I could (Trader Joe’s, pictured center above) and saved points almost every day for some.  Since I had so many points to start, I think I started saving 5 points for the whole bar.  But soon, I pared it down to half a bar, and now most days I will have one points worth.  To me, I think this is still the best solution to the ‘conundrum.’  I eat the little square slowly, savoring each bite, and really find it very satisfying.

 Along the way, I did try many ‘energy’ and granola type bars that were labeled chocolate chip.  Some I liked more than others.  The thing about those was that they took longer to eat than a regular ch.ch. cookie, and when I was done with it, I did not want 20 more.  However most of those bars cannot really be considered nutritious food.

 I also experimented with developing a lower fat whole wheat ch.ch. cookie recipe, but they were not as good as the ‘real’ cookies, and they went down too fast, still leaving me wanting more.  The Fiber One bars pictured above are REALLY excellent, but they do have the reputation of causing a bit of gastrointestinal upset, to be delicate.  To be honest, I live alone, so they are definitely worthy, in my opinion.  I don’t take them to work anymore…

The CLIF bar pictured on the other side is a brand new addition to my ch.ch. cookie obsession.  I have only had one, but honestly, it was more satisfying than that bakery ch.ch. cookie I wrote about the other day!  The wrapper tells about how the guy who developed them was trying to make a better tasting energy bar.  It has lots of organic stuff, 5 grams fiber and 10 grams protein.  But it doesn’t have the weird taste that a lot of energy bars have.  The bad thing is that they are 5 points (240 calories,) so definitely not an everyday occurrence for me.  But I think they might just be the closest I come to a healthy chocolate chip cookie that I can enjoy occasionally (in the presence of other people!)

So there you have it–the chocolate chip cookie conundrum, and one woman’s solution.  Maybe someday I will evolve to the point where I don’t feel the need for chocolate chip cookies, but honestly, I don’t think life would be worth living without them! 

 

4 thoughts on “The Conundrum

  1. Hey good job Debby! That’s great that you found a substitute. I have just recently discovered that I love dark chocolate, and I get my fix everyday, twice a day with my Adora calcium supplements. I think they come in milk chocolate too, but I haven’t tried them yet. They are little discs of chocolate and they are sooooo good!! Usually after dinner, I want a little taste of something sweet and these definitely do it for me.

    Loving the blog!! =)

  2. I think that we all go through the “substitution phase” – when we try to figure out how to make foods that we were eating in a healthier, lower calorie, lower fat, lower salt way.

    I think we (mostly) all go through a phase where we shop in the “healthy food section” of the store – thinking that anything that is there is actually healthy. When as you said – it is SO not.

    I think we (many) also go through a protein drink/shake phase too.

    My husband recently found a dark chocolate that was a VERY high percentage of cocoa. It was a real eye openner at how much of my love of dark chocolate was actually the SUGAR and not the cocoa at all. It was hard to eat more than a tiny bite of the real cocoa one.

  3. Hey Jill, I’ll have to look for those little calcium chocolate things, they sound excellent. Thanks for the compliment!

    Hi Vickie,

    1) I agree 2) I agree 3) I did that 30 years ago, so I knew they did not satisfy me. 4) Oh yes, I know it is the sugar I like, but I still like chocolate to be the conveyer of the sugar! I do have a sugarless milk chocolate that I eat once in a while that I think is fantastic. Thanks for the good comments.

  4. Yep – I can totally relate to this post! I made the cc cookies using a can of beans instead of butter prior to joining ww. Probably healthy for you and not bad, although they tend to look weird and the texture is totally different. None of my friends would eat them.

    I’ve really been enjoying your blog – your quilts and other crafts are just beautiful! I just started on a big project for my sister (newly pregnant). Perhaps I should post my progress…

Leave a Reply

