Me and Pumpkin Pie

I guess I’ve always been a teacher.  I’ve taught dog grooming, Sunday School, knitting, spinning, dying, Bible Studies, etc.  Even as a nurse, I enjoy ‘precepting’–teaching the new nurses the specifics of neonatal nursing.  Pretty much anything that interests me I end up teaching about in one way or another.  Some people might say I’m just opinionated, or even, heaven forbid, bossy.  My point is, one of my motivating factors in reading others blogs and writing my own blogs is to encourage new ‘dieters’ (wrong word) and let them know the impossible can be done.  You can change the way you eat forever, and enjoy those foods and yourself.

I give you pumpkin pie and me as an example.  I enjoyed pumpkin pie at the holidays.  But really, what I enjoyed was the crust (mostly fat) and the real whipped cream (pure fat) on top.  The pumpkin part just had a nice smell and held the two good parts together.  So when the first Thanksgiving after I started W.W. rolled around (I had already been going for 10 months) and they suggested making an altered pumpkin pie filling, and just eating that, I just guffawed.  Hmmmph…..what’s the point?

The next two years, I thought about how you could use alternate crusts.  Toyed with the idea of making little leaf cutouts of pie dough to limit the amount of crust.  But I never really acted on any of those ideas.  I still didn’t think pumpkin pie filling was ‘worthy.’

Now, this year, someone (Lyn) posted their recipe for ‘Pumpkin Custard.’  To be honest, I think it was the title ‘custard’ that roped me in.  But it is really the pumpkin pie filling that was originally suggested way back when.  And now I can’t get enough of it!  I love it just plain in a cup (okay, with some lite cool whip on top) or if I have enough points, I will sprinkle some of my favorite granola on top.  I think about Lynn’s (different Lynn) post about really savoring what you eat, like a baby does (but I don’t spread it all over my plate and my face :)) !)

Anyways, all that to say that it takes time, but you really can change the way you eat and it can be VERY enjoyable!  Believe me, I am not deprived when it comes to eating well.  In fact, if I am not careful, I could overeat the healthy new foods I eat.

Keep trying new and different foods.  Be willing to be a little more open to try things.  Some you will like and some you will love.  And some you will reject as not being ‘worthy.’  But if I could change the way I eat after 20-plus years of being determined NOT to change my eating habits, I know you can do it.  Come on…try it, you’ll like it!

7 thoughts on “Me and Pumpkin Pie

  1. I agree. There are things I eat now that a few years ago I would have said “Ewwwwwwwww!!!” – and they are some of my favorite foods now.

    Tastes really can change, and when you start eating real food, you experience food in a much different way.

    And I love pumpkin custard!

  2. What do you mean you don’t spread it all over your face. That’s the good part!

    Are you a neonatal nurse? The “toughest” nurses I have ever met are neonatal nurses. “Don’t you mess with my baby!” ” Are you clean?” “How long did you wash?” “Heaven forbid, they aint ragdolls. Now get away from them!” “Please be quiet! They desat just being around them!” My fav – “You wake that baby and there will be hell to pay!” While I was a RT I worked in the NICU and was the lead RT on transports. You just don’t know how much I like you! :)

  3. Hi SuperDave! Glad you visited. Yep, I”m a NICU Nurse–just ‘celebrated’ 20 years in my nicu. Its definitely the longest job I’ve ever held. Your comments are hilarious, and, too true, I”m afraid. I have mellowed a bit over the years. I used to just have to leave the unit when one of the attendings did his rounds! I’m glad you like us in spite of ourselves. In spite of being old and tired and not wanting to work any more, it is still one of the greatest joys in my life. I just thought of this just now–you know that Eric Liddell saying “I feel God’s pleasure when I run”–well, I feel God’s pleasure when I rock a baby that no one else wants to rock.

    I have visited your blog, and actually left a comment on your ‘I Got Tagged’ blog. Isn’t blogging fun?

  4. I will definitely go to that website you mentioned and watch some clips; I just recently got internet at home, and I’ve already surfed around for stuff like that, but haven’t found anything all that challenging yet. I think I just might watch some over dinner!!!

    I laughed out loud reading this post, because it’s exactly like me! I used to hollow out my piece of pumpkin pue so that there was only about half an inch of pumpkin on the crust, then I would add whip. The pumpkin just wasn’t what I wanted… I wanted that perfect flaky crust my grandma always made!!

    I’ll definitely need to try the pumpkin custard. One snack that always “fools” me into thinking I’m eating a treat is a bowl of half cottage cheese/half applesauce. I use chunky unsweetened apple sauce, and then sprinkle cinnamon on top. Yum!!! Sometimes I even put some fat free cool whip on top!

  5. Hello there!

    (I’m a nurse too, haven’t worked in years cause I was staying at home with my son and then started my own business. I’m back at home again and loving it! Just a sideline…)

    It’s great to “meet” you. You have a fantastic writing style!

    I just make pumpkin pie custard, just using the can of premade filling or if I’m feeling Martha Stewarty, I make it from scratch. Just bake in a 9×13 inch pan and serve with FF Cool Whip. Tastes GREAT! And it’s really good frozen. If you’re like me and can’t be trusted with a whole pan of goodies, I freeze in individual portions. And if you’re like me and you can’t wait for the goodie to thaw, you can eat it frozen. Yummy!

    It is all about switching your thinking about food. You can still enjoy your favorite treats, you just have to challenge yourself to figure out how.

    GREAT topic!

Leave a Reply

