Answers

There  were quite a few questions in  the last post-comments.  What?  You all haven’t read EVERY SINGLE ONE OF MY POSTS since I started this blog?

Jenny asked about custard oats. I think Lori coined the phrase.   I had tried it before, but she perfected the technique (if there can be a technique to adding egg whites to oatmeal.)  And, she also did a tutorial on it.   Just make your oats however you want.  I almost always use steel cut oatmeal and a little quinoa.  I don’t mind at all that it takes half an hour to cook.  Sometimes I cook two servings so I can take one to work.  It re-heats very well.  Follow the directions on the box–1/4 cup grain to 1 cup water.  When the oats are cooked, add in two egg whites, or 1/4 cup of egg beaters  (per serving.)  If I am using real egg whites, I have them already in a bowl and I have whisked them a bit.  Mix the whites in slowly at low heat or off the heat.  Then continue to cook for a minute or two, stirring the whole time.  They should ‘puff up’ quite a bit.  I think they puff better with real  egg whites.Of course there are a million add-ins, but my favorite is cinnamon, splenda, raisins, and walnuts.

Loretta asked about tabata intervals.  I am definitely no expert on these.  But I will give you the gist of it.  They were developed by Dr. Tabata (imagine that, a doctor naming something after himself…)  The idea was to get the maximum  impact from exercise in (I guess) the minimum amount of time.  He was using these techniques to train professional athletes.  The way you do it is simply to do an exercise for 20 seconds and rest for 10 seconds, and repeat eight times (total of 4 minutes.)  The best exercise to choose would be one that works your entire body.  But in looking around the net, really any exercise could be done.  And, one site even showed a woman alternating two exercises.  Which to be honest, I have done.  I can’t do push-ups for the entire time, so I would do 4 sets of pushups and 4 sets of step-ups or other similar exercise.  You will see when  you try it that it seems relatively simple to do something for 20 seconds.  But 10 seconds does not allow your body to completely recover, so each set gets progressively harder.  It is also supposed to raise your metabolic rate for quite a while, which is another reason I like doing them.  I would encourage you to try them at whatever exercise level you are currently at.  Just something as simple as stepping on  and off a stair or a 4-inch riser.   That is how Vicky started me, with something simple that I could actually achieve.  Here is a link to a video of a woman doing the dumbell swing alternating with ‘mountain-climber.’ I do that dumbell swing with more of a real squat.  I’m always trying to improve my squat and my lunge form.  Don’t worry about how many reps you do.  Just position yourself where you can see a big clock with a second hand.  Believe me, you will be watching and won’t have any trouble stopping after 20 seconds.  So I am starting when the second hand is at the 12, and counting ‘one.’  Stop in 20 seconds, start when the second hand is at the 6, and count ‘two.’  Just continue that way until you have counted to ‘eight.’  That’s it.

Susan said “Your dogs always look so cute and well behaved too!”  Oh.  That wasn’t a question.  But it deserves an answer anyway.  That, my dears, is the deceptive power of the internet.  You only get to see what I want to show you LOL.  Of course, in the interest of honesty, you have heard all about my insanity.  [Hey, re-reading this post was very encouraging.  We have all made great strides since that day!]   Well, we are all working on it.  And to be really fair, Mr. Monk is practically perfect, and of course , Sophie thinks she is absolutely perfect.  The jury’s out on that one.

Tish commented on the roasted cauliflower.  Lynn is the master of roasted veggies.  I highly recommend following her directions. Here’s how I do it (pretty much Lynn’s directions.)  Cut cauliflower into chunks.  Spray a cookie sheet with pam, salt and pepper, put cauliflower chunks on cookie sheet, spray again with pam, and more salt and pepper (or whatever spice you want.)  Put in 375 degree oven.  Cook 20 minutes and turn pieces over.  Cook another 20 minutes and turn again.  Cook 10 more minutes.  Soft on the inside, crisp and chewy outside.  Yumm.

Dehydrator comments:  Various suggestions were veggies and fruit, beef, tomatoes, and macaroons.  Guess which one I WANT to try first?   But I will be good and try veggies.  I have some zucchini and I am thinking about marinating it and then dehydrating.  Off to look up some recipes.

Pay it forward challenge: Okay, this wasn’t in the comments, but I am pretty excited about it.  I  bet you guys thought I wasn’t going to get around to paying up, huh?  Well, I still have until December something-or-other , but I am really excited that I finally came up with an idea and I am more than half done.  Can you believe  it? With all three projects.  Oh, I wish I could show what I am doing on the blog. But that will have to wait.  I’m off to dehydrate something and get on with the day.  Lots to do, and Noah is sleeping off our long morning walk, so must make hay while the sun shines (or get work done while dog sleeps.)

10 thoughts on “Answers

  1. I’ve been working on my Pay It Forward stuff too. Whoever decided we have 365 days to do it in was pure GENIUS! I love not being rushed!

    I’m going to have to break down and try the custard oats. Because I love custard and it loves me, so we should be very happy together! :)

    Hmm..I was just thinking of what veggies I have on hand to roast. No cauliflower but I have lots of peppers – mmmm. Can’t wait til dinner!

    • Hi Jillie! Good to hear from you! I just made a chocolate cheesecake (100 cal/slice.) Wish you were here to share it with me.

      Mmmm. Real custard. You just had me fantasizing about how to make that…

  2. I need to do a pay it forward thing. I missed out on it somehow.

    I didn’t coin the term custard oats, but I use the term *a lot* LOL! They are so yummy. Don’t know how I lived without them all my life.

    Must roast a veggie tonight.

  3. Thank you Debby (and Lynn) for the roasted “caul” recipe. I’ll do it. And the oatmeal custard too, when I get a day that feels like an oatmeal day to me. Hot muggy days are cold cereal and fruit days; cool days are oatmeal days. I’m very opinionated about this. I’m a little late in the game, but I hope that the people who receive the Pay it Forward items will share pictures! I love seeing how talented “you people” are!

    • Ha! I knew I liked you Tish! Us opinionated people gotta stick together! I agree with you about the oatmeal. I usually don’t eat cold cereal any more. Although I had raisin bran and milk after my walk today. But really, I only have that once every few months. I’m always a little sad when the summer comes because I just don’t have oatmeal any more. Oh, but sometimes I have a breakfast cookie! Do you know about those? The fitnessista came up with that one. Check my sidebar for a link.

  4. Thanks for the great directions on how to make custard oatmeal. And also cooking steel-cut oats with quinoa. I never know what to do with quinoa other than chilled with chopped onion, tomatoes and a little olive oil.

Leave a Reply

