Perspective

Hey all!  I just wanted to say thank you from the bottom of my heart.  The comments and emails were truly wonderful, and helpful too.  I will be out of touch for the next week, but hopefully back in the blogging saddle next week.  I miss writing ad nauseum about food.  And I miss reading and commenting on your blogs, although I have been able to sneak a peak at a few of them once in a while.

That said, going through the end of life with someone you love does tend to put a different perspective on all that we blog about.  The carrying on about a pound or two, lamenting dress sizes, what we eat, how much sweat pours–it all seems a bit ridiculous when life and death is happening all around us.

THAT SAID, I still find that I want to connect with you all about health, weight loss/maintenance, and of course, food.  On this most recent trip I discovered that I really really do not like sugar and sugar based treats.  They are too sweet, after I’ve eaten them I feel physically unsatisfied, and I am very tired of fighting off the ‘wanting more’ that always accompanies a sugary treat.

When I came home Saturday night, I did really want to treat myself with food.  I thought about all the different choices available along the drive.  I decided to come home and have half a leftover steak that was in the freezer, some zucchini, and half a baked potato with a little real butter on it.  Perfection!  I really wanted a decadent dessert, but did not want sugar.  Then I remembered that I had seen Chocolate Covered Katie on Miz’s blog and she had a recipe for chocolate fudge cake that I wanted to try.  That was EXACTLY what I was looking for!  The base of it is coconut butter and banana.  NO sugar.  Quite decadent.  I also tried her raw cookie dough balls--I liked them almost better than the fudge cake.  This is a new way of looking at dessert foods.  They are quite decadent, completely healthy whole foods.  They are not very low in calories but a little bit really does satisfy you.

Over and out. I’ll be out of touch for one more week.

8 thoughts on “Perspective

  1. I felt that same perspective when my mom was diagnosed with cancer – and because of it, I’ve stopped focusing on some things that really don’t matter all that much in the long run, and tried to enjoy more of life’s moments without worrying about the immediate future. Rough way to get there, as you have seen, but I guess it’s all part of our journey through life.

    Hang in there – thinking about you.

  2. I have been in and out of the blogging world, so I missed your post about your dad’s death. I also left a comment on that post today. Perspective does come during some of life’s most difficult moments. Take care, Debby…

  3. I’m so sorrry to hear about your father Debby. So glad you got to spend some time with him last week. Take good care of yourself and spend some time in your new perspective. You’ll be in my thoughts…

  4. Thinking of you and hope everything goes well this week. Enjoy being with friends and family and sharing wonderful memories.

    Time to experience Joy and sorrow and rejoice in a life well lived.

    Blessings

  5. {{Debby}} Sending you much love as you remember your dad and celebrate his life with all you have going on this week. You’re so right about perspective. Thank you for that reminder. Safe travels.

  6. I’m just reading about your dad’s passing, and I’m so very sorry for your loss. It’s beautiful, though, that you’re able to see that he had a beautiful life and to celebrate that.

  7. Oh, I hope that some day I’ll be able to realize that I don’t like sweet things or sugar–at least I know that if I avoid it for a while, I doesn’t have such a strong pull for me. The food links look great–I’m going exploring those links in a minute. Cyber hugs coming your way from me.

Leave a Reply

