Oops, Belated Bloggiversary Greetings!

How bout that?  Can you believe I’ve been doing this silly blogging for three years now?   This seems like the best time to share the funniest quote about blogging that I’ve ever heard–

Never in the history of the world have so many people had so much to say to so few about so little.

Come on.  You can’t be offended.  That is just plain funny.

Of course my first thought when I heard the morning radio dj’s say that was, “harumph,  you guys just don’t understand blogging.  And its not like you have such great words of wisdom to offer at 6am in the morning either.”

But it made me laugh, and it was funny enough that I memorized it LOL.

Oh, back to MY bloggiversary.  Which is, I know, of immense interest to so few  the masses.  Here’s a link to my very first post.  And lookie there–who was my only commenter?  That’s right, its BIF, good blogbuddy Jill!  Through thick and thin (harhar) Jill and I have stayed friends.  Jill recently encouraged me when I said to her in an email “darn it, I’m sick of the struggle” (referring to the never-ending battle to make good food choices and try to lose a little weight.)  Jill emailed back,   I’m tired of the struggle too, but giving up is not an option. We just have to keep forging ahead. I mean really, we are the Navy Seals of weight loss – we will not give up!! :) ”  Which totally put a smile on my face for the day.  I think it was a week later that I realized it was a reference to the current events of the day.  I think I flunked current events in the sixth grade…

Honestly, I’m having trouble stringing together coherent thoughts into a good blog post.  So I’ll just a share a few incoherent thoughts and be done with it.

I’m pretty sure you’re looking at this first picture and thinking, Man, Debby’s really lost it.  Taking an unattractive picture of an old plastic grocery sack?  Well, this was my food bag for today’s excursion. And I wanted to share exactly how easy it is to take your own healthy food with you for the day.  No fancy equipment needed, even when your food requires refrigeration.  I just take one of those blue ice thingies, plop it in the plastic bag, and then put my plastic container of yogurt and fruit on top of it.  Also in the bag was a small baggy of granola to add to the fruit and yogurt, and another small baggy of nuts for my afternoon snack.  And a plastic spoon.  No excuses people.

Last night’s dinner.  An absolutely delicious combination.  There’s half a skinless chicken breast under there, smothered in sauteed onions and mushrooms, with just a bit of melted cheddar cheese on top.

Katie to the rescue!  I’ve really enjoyed trying some of the new desserts from Katie’s site.  Her recipes are usually very healthy, and many are sweetened using only natural ingredients (dates and bananas.)  They aren’t always low calorie, but they are VERY tasty and satisfying.  And I especially like that they are usually small recipes.  I recently tried her ‘Single Lady Cupcake,’ the strawberry shortcake version.  THAT was heavenly.  And no leftovers in the freezer to keep obsessing over.  I want to try her Snickerdoodle Blondies next.  They are her version of the black bean brownies, only she uses garbanzo beans.  Very clever, Katie!

Something that I have been glad to have in the freezer?  Those Magic Rolls, courtesy of Lori!  Absolutely delicious as a little afternoon snack.  I plan to have one for my ‘dessert’ later tonight.

My Left Thumb.  After almost ruining my hands by knitting too many hats (I got carpal tunnel syndrome,) now it seems I have a ‘trigger thumb,’ probably caused by repetitive grasping/pinching actions (aka hand piecing, hand quilting, etc.)  Come on, darn it!  Give me a break here.  For now I have put away all my hand piecing/quilting/embroidering, until I go to the doctor on Thursday.  The internet says you need to rest it 4-6 weeks.  I have rug hooking camp in three weeks…

Don’t I live in a beautiful area?  I try to appreciate where I live instead of just looking down at the ground I’m walking on.  This old tree intrigues me.  It looks like its had a rough life.  But it still wants to live.

Well, that’s about it for now.  I fluctuate between ‘life as usual’ and being indescribably sad.  Fortunately for me, the periods of indescribably sad are short-lived.  More often I feel like I have a hangover.  Oh, maybe that would help–drinking that giant jug of brandy I have sitting on the counter left over from making my mom’s fruitcake…

I’ll end with one of my all time favorite pictures, from my third blog entry about Other Worlds.

Hope you all have a peaceful and restful Sunday!

17 thoughts on “Oops, Belated Bloggiversary Greetings!

  1. congrats on the anniversary.

    I had totally forgotten about the issues with hand work. I slept in a brace for years.

    are you wearing a fur coat in the plastic bag picture? doesn’t look like one of the dogs. . .

  2. Happy Blogiversary!!! Do you know, we started our blogs one day apart? May 14, 2008 is mine (and yes, my post about it is late too – will be up on Monday). How funny!

    OK. Feel your feelings, be they sad or normal. Know that I’m thinking of you. And glad you started blogging!

    • Oh my gosh–that is amazing! Twins separated at birth, only one of us was born 10? years earlier than the other LOL.

    • Its definitely my pleasure, Katie! I just saw one of your commenters say they subbed a banana for the sugar in your snickerdoodle blondies. I’m off to try them with the banana and chickpea flour–I’ll let you know how they turn out!

  3. Congrats Debby. You have no idea how glad I am that you started your blog when you did and that I found it. Our blog anniversary’s must be within days of each other – mine’s just a couple of years younger! As I’ve told you before, you guys who’ve done it and maintained it are who I look up to as my heros. You are where I aspire to be one day soon and your honesty about your continuing struggles make it real. So many stop blogging when they reach goal and I am eternally grateful for those of you who keep on.

  4. Well Happy Blogiversary!!! I’m glad you started blogging and stuck with it. :) Lord knows where I’d be today without your support and encouragement!!

    This was a great post Debby – made me lol many times! I like your food bag idea. No excuses!! I need to do that on weekends when the kids and I are running around.

    • Whew, thanks for saying you LOL’d a bit. I was starting to worry that I’d have to get my funny bone checked along with my left thumb when I go to the doctor’s Thursday!

  5. Happy blogiverssary! I have to see when mine is. I don’t even know, but I think it is some time in January.

    You can also get a cortisone injection for the trigger if you don’t want to wait for the rest time. If you are in a hurry to get back to your hobbies :D

  6. Three years later and you’re still standing. Congratulations! I’m pretty sure I found your blog because of Shelley and I’m so glad I did.

    “The Navy Seals of Weight Loss” I LOVE THAT! Isn’t it great to have a BIF who encourages like that?

    My lunch bag looks just like yours ;-)

  7. Congratulations on reaching the 3-year mark! I’m glad you’re still here and glad I found you!

    It’s really kind of sad, but your plastic bag method is better than my current on-the-go method, which is either a container of almonds or a run through McDs for one of their yogurts. Or both. :)

  8. Happy Bloggiverssary! (spell check is going crazy here, but doesn’t offer a correct spelling). I think mine is just about now, too (1 year). Like Sharon, I’m so grateful that you started and kept on. Remember, you’re one a Big Time Bloggers in my book, as well as one of the first people to comment on my blog. That retirement day is coming up soon, no?

  9. Happy blog-i-ver-sa-ry!
    Happy blog-i-ver-sa-ry!
    Happy blog-i-ver-sa-ry!
    Haaaaaaappy blog-i-ver-SAAAAA-ry!

    So glad you’re still here and still blogging! :-) Thanks for being a great buddy, on- and off-blog! (And yes, that quote made me laugh. It’s awful having so much “little” to say and so little time to say it, and I miss my “few”!)

Leave a Reply

