FOG

The Fog Blog.  That’s what I’m gonna remame this blog.  Because its all about food and dogs these days…

I’ve really been enjoying my food this week.  Being careful not to eat too much (still counting calories,) but choosing each snack and/or meal to be something I truly want to eat.  Experimenting with new recipes and new (to me) foods.  Here’s just a few of the pics of the goings on in the past two days.

Some delicious sauteed brussell sprouts with dried cranberries and walnuts.  Love this combo.  They are just as good leftover, too.

Had them alongside this bowl of sauteed veggies–onions, mushrooms, carrots, and zucchini.

I actually had the veggies (not the brussel sprouts) topped with some marinara sauce and a bit of shredded parmesan.

Here’s that Voluminous Vanilla Ice Cream from Katie.  I don’t know how she made it into actual scoops for her picture.  I suppose I could have if I really worked at it.  Anyway, this is a case of “you get what you pay for.”  At 40 calories for a big bowl, why did I think it would taste like real vanilla ice cream.  Nevertheless, it was a fun and refreshing treat, especially on a hot night.

And here’s how I really ate it–I took one of those Raw Cookie Dough Balls and cut it into bite sized chunks and topped the ice cream with it.  Now this WAS a treat.  And no sugar in the whole thing.  The calories did increase significantly to 160 for the whole bowl.  Oh.  And I guess there is a little sugar in the chocolate chips.

Last night Mr. Monk was REALLY happy!  I tried to document the momentous occasion:

Really, I think Monk is one of the prettiest pugs I have seen.  I got a book full of pug pictures and they just looked plain weird.  But look at that face.  I think I need to contact People Magazine.

Another refreshing smoothie experiment–awesome!  Just some frozen pineapple chunks, a little homemade yogurt,  and some coconut water–AWESOME taste, and only about 150 calories.

 

Yesterday was sewing day, and guess what?  I only ate what I brought with me.  Which was a wonderful bowl of cherries, strawberries, and blueberries, topped with cottage cheese and walnuts.  And because I am eating vegetarian this week, my calories came in pretty low for the day, so I treated myself to the Single Lady Cupcake.  Decadence.  And no leftovers to keep calling my name.

I’ve tried a couple of other experiments.  Yesterday morning I wanted to make some of my famous blueberry scones.  I didn’t have any spelt flour in the cupboard, so thought I’d experiment with the coconut flour and chickpea flour.  Only thing was, it was VERY early in the morning, and I’m not really sure how much flour I put it.  Oops.  The one I ate right after I baked them was so light and delicious that I would try the recipe again to see what I had done.  But when I re-heated one this morning, after having frozen them the night before, the texture was kind of icky.  I’ve never experienced this with my frozen baked goods before.  Anyone else have this experience with using and then freezing coconut flour?

I have an idea to make some frozen yogurt using only dates and bananas for sweetener.  I’ll let you know how it turns out!

Retirement countdown:  4 SHIFTS LEFT!!!

7 thoughts on “FOG

  1. Aww tanks for all the sweet shout outs :).
    The trick for the vanilla ice is to scoop it out with an ice cream scoop… that’ll make it look more like the shape of ice cream.

    Happy Friday!! :)

  2. But what about your Faith and ART???? Where do those fit in with your new blog title? ;) heehee…

    Those sweet pictures of Mr. Monk made me LOL!! That’s his good mood face? So cute!!!

    And now I need to go make some cookie dough balls because YUM!!! :)

  3. Yes, that looks like ice milk rather than ice cream. Almond milk just doesn’t have the creaminess to it. But you get what you pay for calorie wise :D

    Mr Monk made me laugh out loud! He looks so stately and dignified :D

  4. What else is there, beside food and dogs?

    I am intrigued by your pineapple smoothie made with coconut water! I have some fresh pineapple in my freezer and coconut water and yogurt in my fridge…when I get home, I’m making one! And I’m sure I’ll be instantly transported to Hawaii, right? ;)

  5. Oh, yum! All of your food looks great, and what a cool thing! A single cupcake!

    And that faint *squeeing* you heard all the way out there was Thing 2 looking at these photos of Mr. Monk, and the ones the other day of him and Noah.

    Definitely, let’s talk about the September event! I’d much rather walk it in your good company than run it alone. (Been there, done that, have t-shirts.)

Leave a Reply

