What’s the Difference?

Just got back from the morning “Challenge Walk.”  The challenge being, how long can I walk without having to pee LOL?  Dang it.  Am I the only one for whom this is a problem, especially with the morning walks?  Anyway, the challenge was to go a bit farther today, which I did.  And the walk still only took 1 1/2 hours–go me.  The legs alternate between “oh something is loose in there,”  to “dull ache, just keep going” to “glimmer of hope, feeling as strong as I did a month or so ago!”

Started the walk a little earlier than scheduled, since it was gray outside and showers were predicted.  Around here, “showers predicted” can mean it stays gray all day, and then rains for about 10 minutes at 5pm.  I was hopeful that we would miss the rain.  No such luck.  It started raining before we turned around, so half the walk was in the rain.  It was fun.  for a while.

Noah thought he deserved a treat after walking that far in the rain.

So now I am speeding things up a bit again, and heading out the door to the gym at 12:30 instead of at 2pm.  Because today is a day you want to stay inside on the couch, with a nice fire in the woodstove.  If I wait too long, I might not make it to the gym.  But if I go early, there will be more couch time this afternoon.

I wanted to answer the question, “What’s the difference? between what I’m doing this week and my regular life.  Because I’ve asked that question myself.  Well, probably the biggest difference is time. I have an idea in my mind of how much time should be spent on exercise in  real life.  I am prepared to spend up to 1 hour a day, 6 days a week, because the NWCR says that most people that maintain their weight loss exercise an average of an hour a day.  Okay.  That’s more than I’d prefer to spend, but I’m willing to go for it.  So that means that if I go for the long walk with Noah, I skip the gym.  If I go to the gym, I limit the time there, because I still need to go for at least a short walk with Noah.  If you look at the schedule I set out, I designated 4 hours for exercise. That’s just not gonna happen in real life, retired or not.  I CHOOSE NOT to exercise that much.  And yet, I wanted to challenge myself to be disciplined about exercise.  To show myself that I indeed could take a long walk and go to the gym.  And on a day that I did that much exercise, I could still eat a very reasonable amount of food, as long as I chose carefully, and made sure it was fuel (delicious fuel, but fuel nonetheless.)  The other thing that’s a little different is “letting myself off the hook.”  By preparing all the food ahead of time, and making the decision that there would be no additional cooking or baking during Spa Week, and also doing the house cleaning on Saturday,  I freed up the time to concentrate on the exercise and the relaxing.  Its just fun to be intentional sometimes.

Menu for the day:

  • Breakfast:  Katie’s Pumpkin Bread in a Bowl  (sub’ing 1/4 cup of eggbeaters for 1/4 cup of almond milk.)
  • After-walk snack:  Cottage cheese, crushed pineapple, and walnuts.
  • Lunch:  Red Lentil and rice salad by Vicky
  • Afternoon snack with coffee (maybe at Starbuck’s?):  apple with laughing cow cheese wedge and walnuts
  • Dinner:  Taco soup and honeydew melon
  • Dessert:  Gluten free Coconut cashew cookies by Vicky

Got the results of my mammogram.  Most exciting words on the test results?  “There is evidence of interval weight loss. “  Oh yeah, baby.  Those words were music to my ears.  And for those of you who are keeping track, yes, my last mammogram was November 2004.  Oops.  Oh, and the result of my mammogram was “normal.”

I’m off to the gym!  Wish me luck.  I might even get in the pool.  Because the draw of those “tiny bubbles” afterwards is almost irresistible.

10 thoughts on “What’s the Difference?

  1. I have to ask – does Noah ever get all four legs on the couch? He cracks me up the way he’s sitting in that picture!

    My jaw dropped when I saw “2004″ – wow. I go every year! One of us is doing it wrong…but I’m so glad that your results were normal. Oh, and when I I went after my big loss, the tech thought she’d pulled the wrong films to compare with – love that weight loss shows up everywhere!

    • Oh yes, he occasionally jumps on the couch in his enthusiasm, but he gets reprimanded right away. I think that he thinks he is getting away with “being on the couch without me noticing” when he does this. Cracks me up. You should see when he jumps on my bed (which is pretty tall.) He jumps straight up from a standing position. I should practice obedience jumping with him!

      Well, you know about me and my doctor paranoia, right? 2004 was my FIRST mammogram. So once every seven years isn’t so bad, right? Actually the doctor paranoia is just about gone. I just never got around to making the appointment.

  2. I had my last (first) mammo 2 years ago. I need to go again, but no insurance right now so I have to save up for these visits.

    I think we can all can really take a look at what you are doing for spa week and figure out how to apply it to our daily lives. There is a good thing about structure and planning that enables us to fully use those hours in a day we are awake. Plus the efficiency of getting all of X out of the way so there is more relaxing that can happen later!

  3. Not a cuter photo of a pup out there – and boy, not camera shy, either!
    Great news on your mammo. Don’t you love when someone objective notices your weight loss? Gotta love that :)

  4. Hi! And thank you so much for your kind words in my blog! I really, really appreciate it!
    First of all I have to say that Noah is beauuuutiful! I’ve wanted a dog since I was a kid, and used to nag my dad about it every single day. He always said no, sometimes “maybe”. And what do you think happened a few years after I moved out? Oh yeah, he bought a dog!! Jeez… :p

    Happy to see your mammo was fine, that’s a good thing to have sorted! And keep going strong with that exercise, that’s one of my most common downfalls in this weight loss things… :p

    All the best,
    Maren :)

    • Wow. My parents were really indulgent with my doggie love when I was a kid. I’ve had lots of dogs in my lifetime. Can’t imagine living without one.

  5. I think I’ve heard before that healthcare providers are often the worst at getting their own tests done – Miss no mammogram since 2004! Glad this one was normal and that the machine recognized your hard work in the last 7 years lol.

    You say it’s nice to be intentional once in a while and I think that is the thing I look forward to most when I think about retirement – having the choice and the time to be intentional.

    • Well, you are still intentional now Helen. I know you batch cook on Saturday sometimes. And you get an awful lot of running in. You just can’t be intentional THIS way.

  6. Your spa week is so much fun to read about! And yes, I think being “intentional” works on just about every aspect of our lives a whole lot better than flying by the seat of our pants.

    Exercising (walking) 45-50 minutes six days a week and doing something much more intentional and time consuming on the 7th day (usually hiking) works for me.

    Good news on the mammogram – get one every year!! I want my blog friends to stick around!

    • Yes, I love that word “intentional.” Especially love Dallas Willard’s explanation of it in V-I-M–Vision/Intention/Means.

      Well, let’s not get carried away–every year?? We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

