Everyday Life

Quilt crazy–that’s what I’ve been for the past few days!  I went looking for something or other in the storage shed, and found a couple of quilt tops that needed to be QUILTED NOW!  So in addition to all the other little projects I have been working on, I brought in two large tops that needed to be made into sandwiches (BTW, I am considering starting another blog to talk even more about my quilting.)  One of them is for hand quilting, and the other is one of my most beautiful complex tops that I am going to machine quilt.  Making a sandwich is a somewhat laborious, boring job.  But I have got both of them done, and am happily hand quilting the one, and have started the machine quilting on the other!  AND, I went to the gym today!  Yay me

Here is the quilt top I am going to hand quilt.  It is traditionally a ‘signature pattern (people put their signatures or sayings in the white spaces.)  I thought tonight that I might put my favorite verses in those blank spaces!  Or I can just fill it with decorative stitching.

And this is the quilt top I am going to machine quilt because of all the little pieces and spikes.  They aren’t that much fun to hand quilt around.  This is called a New York Beauty quilt.  I really loved making each block, choosing just the right fabrics for it.  And now, as I work on it under the machine, it is fun to re-visit those fabrics and remember where I was when I found each piece.

Here’s some of the good eats from the past week, and a new recipe.

This is funny looking, but was easy to assemble, and quite tasty.  Kind of like a shepherd’s pie in a bowl.  Turkey burger on top of mashed cauliflower on top of some corn.

Some of my fried rice.  This one has shrimp and kale in it!  I forgot to put the egg in it, even though it was sitting right on the counter…

Jill wrote a post about breakfast and put me in the mood for scrambled eggs!  That’s some  crispy baked kale leaves on the side.  Very tasty, but you gotta watch that stuff.  It cooks quickly.

And a new recipe.  Its my version of Blueberry Banana Baked Oatmeal.  Original recipe here, and I combined it with some of the stuff I liked in this baked oatmeal recipe.  Yummy, and quite filling.

And plain old food.  That’s the best way to eat sometimes.  Cod fillets, zucchini, and a pear.

More plain old food.  One of my current faves–Fage 2% yogurt with walnuts.

Noah LOVES his little bones.  I let him keep them for a while, but when they get too small, they ‘disappear.’

Oh, close up shots of a quilt that I had finished, but didn’t like the way it looked.  So I devised this little quilting pattern to fill in the gaps.  You can see a bit of the ‘bubble’ quilting that I did in the background.  That took quite a bit of time.

Finished quilt, with some help from the quilt model.

Ooh, I love this quilt with the concentric strips.  I decided to practice my feather quilting on this one.  I like the way its looking.

And now you know why I’m thinking about starting a blog just for my quilting.  Believe it or not, I have even more to say, but lucky for you, I’ll contain myself.

A couple of really good quotes on blogs.  I really really appreciated Sharon’s blog on falling, but not allowing a fall to keep you from living your life fully.  I stumbled badly the other day RIGHT INTO THE WOOD STOVE.  Very luckily, only two fingers hit the top grate, and the skin sizzled right off of them.  Don’t worry, I have a lot of Neosporin LOL.  But really, it was bothering me a lot.  The way I stumbled, I could have landed with my whole arm on the stove, or MY FACE.  That event, plus the fact that it seems like I CANNOT remember to turn the oven or the stove burners off lately has had me worried about “what is wrong with me?  Whatever are they going to do with me?”  Sharon pointed out that in this life we WILL fall.  But that should not stop us.  And today I remembered to turn the oven and the stove burners off EVERY TIME LOL.

The other quote was priceless.  It comes from Karen’s blog, and is in a list attributed to Darla Breckenridge.  Among other things that made a lot of sense, she said, “You only need enough guilt to keep you from torturing and killing other people.”  I don’t know why that tickles me so much.

Last quote is from the current issue of the Oprah Magazine.  Linda Ikeda, a nutritionist from UC Berkeley stated that “it was ludicrous to think that everyone had to have a BMI less than 25 in order to be healthy.”  I’ve been waiting to see this in print.   I hope it won’t be the last time I see it.

And now, are you all as bored as Mr. Monk and the Queen are?  I will bid you a fond adieu for now.

9 thoughts on “Everyday Life

  1. Oh, I ADORE your New York Beauty quilt!! I sat and looked and looked… so lovely.
    And is that Swiss dot in the first one?? It’s so pretty, and reminds me of when we were kids, and swiss dots were popular. Made me smile.

  2. Your quilts are SO GORGEOUS Debby! I especially love that New York one… will it be for sale maybe? Also, my birthday is March 2 if you feel the need to just give it away LOL!

    I completely agree about BMI. There are elite athletes that are super fit with teensy amouts of body fat that don’t fall correctly in that chart. Dumb.

  3. Ooh, I love that signature quilt–your color selections move the eye around so nicely. (I even like it with the blank spaces. :))

    Noah looks like he’s saying, “I know it’s you who’s taking these things.”

  4. Mr. Monk reminds me of a dowager in that shot…ooh, the Maggie Smith character in Downton Abbey! OK, I know he’s a boy and she’s a girl, but semantics. :) Noah does have a look like “you’re gonna take this, aren’t you?” on his face. And the queen. I’m loving that red collar on her!

    Your quilts are so great, I can see why you’d want to have a blog about them. So on the topstitching – how do you get your lines so straight and perfectly spaced? I mean, I know it’s talent, but dang! Obviously I never was good at even sewing a straight seam, lol!!!

    Knitting email coming soon. :) :) :)

  5. Looking forward to the quilt blog I’m thinking about doing one too… but I’m a little afraid, I never been good at writing. I do love quilt blogs and I would like to show what I’m working on and getting feedback. Love your quilts : )

  6. Oh my goodness, that Signature Quilt is gorgeous……………..And falling into the stove??? We’re a pair, aren’t we??? Glad your fall wasn’t worse, but it does serve as a good reminder, doesn’t it?

    I’ve really gotten into the _________Banana Baked Oatmeal thing inserting several different fruits into the blank. I’m cleaning out my freezer in anticipation of farmers market fresh fruit season, so I’ve used strawberries, apples, peaches, blackberries or any combination of the above. All work beautifully!!

Leave a Reply

