Fun Stuff

Hi all.  Nothing too significant to report.  I’ve done a couple of fun things the past few days–thought I’d share them with you.  Guess what is involved when I have fun?  You only get two guesses.  Yep.  Food and quilting LOL.

So yesterday I had some good cooking adventures in between my quilting.  I had my english muffin french toast for breakfast, and I always save the leftover egg mixture (one egg, 1/4 cup eggbeaters, 1/4 cup almond milk) in case I want some scrambled eggs later. Ha.  I RARELY want scrambled eggs later.  So I had the thought that I could use that to make Lori’s one minute muffin.  It was enough egg stuff for two of the muffins, so I doubled the rest of the recipe and put into two small bowls, and then put them in the toaster oven to see if they tasted better than the microwave version.  Holy yumm!!  The texture was a tiny  bit different, I’m guessing because of the small amount of almond milk.  BTW, I have only been making Lori’s pumpkin version of the muffin because I had a can of pumpkin in the fridge that I needed to use.

Later in the day I tried another newish recipe.  I had some leftover  ground beef in the fridge, and surprisingly, I did not want a burger.  So I got the Trader Joe’s whole wheat pizza dough out of the freezer, raided the veggie drawer, and made up some of that Vegetable Stuffed Bread, only with meat in it.  I have to say,  that dough makes VERY tasty bread.  I got carried away with the vegetable/beef mixture, and have enough to make another loaf of the bread.  I’m going to add a little marinara sauce to this one.  I changed the veggies a bit–left out the zucchini, as I think it makes the mixture a little too moist.  I cooked the red bell pepper and mushrooms first, and drained the excess liquid out of them.  The results were quite yummy, and I know from experience that this stuff freezes extremely well.  I just wrap the individual slices in foil, and then they can go straight into the toaster over to be re-heated.  I only had 1/2 pound of beef, and cut each loaf into 6 servings, so that is not that much meet per serving.  Just the right amount, I think.

I had this sandwich for an early dinner and then headed to the gym for a good workout.  I usually don’t go to the gym this late, but I wanted to attend one of Vickie’s lectures on which diets work.  Vickie has the mind of a scientist, and everything she says is backed up by research.  More about that later.  But I wanted to include this tidbit in my post about ‘Fun Stuff.’  At the end of her lecture we were treated to a buffet of mini-sized portions of some of her great foods.  Whoops.  Dinner number two.  And then she had a drawing (which I did not even know about) and guess who won?  MEEEE!!!  It was for three full days of her meal plan.  I am so excited.  I am going to plan another spa week in the near future, and this will make it even more like a spa experience.  Someone will be doing all the cooking for me for three days!

So I think I mentioned my latest quilting idea, Housetop quilts.  I blogged about them on the other blog here, and here.  After a difficult start (I didn’t like my first attempt at putting words on the quilt) I have continued working on them and am very pleased with the second and third quilts (and now that a little time has gone by, the first little quilt has grown on me.)

Here’s the quilt I was working on when I got the BIG IDEA.  It has the verse that started it all embroidered in the middle.  (Sorry about the bad quality of this picture.  I’ll have to try again sometime.)

And here’s the second one.  All of Psalm 19 is quilted on this one.

Today I completely ran out of dog food, so a trip to the ‘big city’ was a necessity.  As usual, I went over all my options carefully.  I ended up taking my food to eat, which not only saves  calories, but saves a lot of time.  And I mapped out three places I wanted to visit: Costco, Target, and a new quilt store.  I always get a kick out of my basket at Costco now compared to ‘the olden days.’  Now the majority of what is in my basket is fresh fruits and veggies.  I also picked up their economy size of Fage yogurt, and I did make one little ‘impulse’ purchase–their Costco brand of Trail Mix (or Trail Crack, if you know what I mean.)  I’m thinking maybe I have evolved and I can control myself around it now.  I can hear you from here ‘oh yeah, that’s what ALL the crack addicts say.’

I went to Target specifically for one thing.  I haven’t been able to find that brand of Abundance Oatmeal around here, so I googled it, and they were supposed to have it at Target.  Score!  I walked out of Target with nothing but 8 boxes of oatmeal.  What?  A single girl doesn’t need 8 boxes of oatmeal?  Home Goods was right next door, so I made a quick side trip in to see if they had my new favorite coffee.  Sure enough, they did.  I thought it had been just a one time thing, but I asked, and the lady said they carried it all the time.  Its just called Blue Mountain Coffee.

I behaved myself reasonably well at the quilt shop.  They did have a line of thread that I wanted to try out, so I got a few spools of that to try–such pretty colors!

Oh my gosh.  I was going to end with a cheery note about how we were supposed to have some sun for the weekend, but I just checked weather.com,  and it is supposed to rain straight on for the next five days.  Gaaaa.  Its already been raining steadily since Tuesday morning.  I am tired of coaxing little dogs OUT (to go poddy) and coaxing big dogs IN to get out of the rain (I don’t know why I worry about it when obviously he doesn’t.)  Oh well. I dare not complain too loudly.  We need the rain.

7 thoughts on “Fun Stuff

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog Debby! I really like the wonky shape of these quilts and the writing on them is just amazing. Great idea! I agree about the rain…..it gets a little old but we dare not complain. :)

  2. Loving the quilts, especially the one with all the pinks (of course)! Is it OK to say I’m a teensy bit jealous of your food win? But happy for you! I just wish I could get someone to cook healthy foods for me for three days.

  3. That meat roll looks amazing! I love how everyone else comments on the quilt and I talk about the food :D

    A spa week – that made me want to do one as well reading about yours.

Leave a Reply

