A Bit of This ‘n That

Last night I spied the Apricot Scrub on my sink, and decided that today would be a day that I could do whatever I wanted to do. Apparently I wanted to blog, because I have written on each of my blogs this morning! A new recipe, and some newly finished quilts, and just a few new thoughts for this blog. Eventually I’ll get to that Apricot Scrub.

Yesterday was a crazy day. I had an electrician come and put in a new little wall heater. Yahoo! I have to be careful to not over-use it, because its not the most efficient way to heat the house. But on a cold morning, its a nice luxury. And, the guys came to take down some of the big trees on my property. Its quite amazing how they do this. One guy way up in the tree, lopping off one branch at a time. and then cutting it off portion by portion. The biggest pine tree was only about 12 feet from my house, and was leaning at a 60 degree angle over the house! Anyway, as you can imagine, it was quite a scene with all the dogs in the morning. I had made an appointment to board Noah for the two days of ‘tree-ing’ and so I left to take him down, as well as go to PT, the gym, and run a few errands. I got home just in time to see them working on that big pine. I guess this is why I decided I needed a day off today. The guys finished up their tree work last night, so its an extra quiet morning. I will pick up Noah from his trip to camp later this afternoon.

New recipe:  I got the original idea for this recipe here. I changed it up quite a bit (surprise!) and have enjoyed these Cranberry Lemon Protein Bars as both breakfast and a dessert treat, so thought I would share with you.

IMG_8535

Pretty good stats on this bar: 15 grams of protein in 185 calories. A nice sized bar too.

Here is the extent of my Christmas decorating so far:

IMG_8538

I brought in my big Christmas quilt, and covered the dog’s sofa with it. They seem to appreciate my effort.

IMG_8541

This camellia always blooms in December. It usually goes unnoticed by me. I need to move it to a better location. It always reminds me of the quote “Memory is the ability to gather roses in winter.”

IMG_8536

That’s all for now. I’m off to use that Apricot Scrub–its for my face, not the sink!

7 thoughts on “A Bit of This ‘n That

  1. Ah yes, the dreaded tree cutting/pruning. We have to do this about every three years and next year will be the year. When you’ve had one fall THROUGH you house like we did in 2004, your are pretty diligent about noticing when one leans a bit too far and a branch gets off balance hanging over the house. If only the neighbors were that conscious of their limbs hanging over MY house!!

  2. The picture of Sophie and Noah made me smile – she’s got her spot and looks slightly miffed that he’s on the couch…and Noah? He’s the picture of contented bliss!

Leave a Reply

