Adventures in Baking

Well, I’ve been at it again. I was trying to clean house, and I ran across a cookbook I had gotten at the thrift store. A book with a new dessert recipe for every day of the year ( A Year of Diet Desserts.) Oh saints preserve us. But it actually had very low calorie recipes in it. It was written in 1987, so has some of the typical cooking that seemed to be popular in that era. Very low fat. A LOT of separating of egg white from yolks, and then whipping the whites and folding them back in. I guess this is to make volume? The author also used minimal sweeteners, and almost exclusively used honey for the sweetener in her recipes.

The first one I tried was a smashing success. It was Perfect Pineapple Sauce. Very simple, and only four ingredients.

  • 1 Tbsp cornstarch
  • 1/4 cup freshly squeezed orange juice (about 1 orange)
  • 2 Tbsp honey
  • 1 20 oz can crushed pineapple (in its own juice)

Just combine the first 3 in a pan over medium heat until blended. Add the pineapple and continue to cook until thickened. Only 15 calories per tablespoon.

So far I’ve had it on an english muffin (with just a bit of that yogurt cheese.) Two Yumms up!

And I had it with some cottage cheese and a few walnuts. Also tres delicieux.

IMG_9030

A few pages over they had a recipe for “squash pudding.” Now that sounded interesting. And I had WAY too much butternut squash in the fridge. Well, this was one of those recipes where you had to whip the egg whites. Way too much work. And then I realized that it was pretty much substituting squash for pumpkin, and I could kind of follow my pumpkin custard recipe. I varied it a bit, and it is very enjoyable. And VERY low cal. Check out the recipe for Roasted Butternut Squash Pudding here.

If you recall, I bought pre-sliced apples and blueberries for the quilt show reception, and then never put them out. What to do, what to do? Well, I made a batch of apple blueberry baked oatmeal. Very yumm. This is a pared down baked oatmeal, very low fat, but full of fruit. Click here to see my Bare Bones Baked Oatmeal recipe.

IMG_9031

I still had some blueberries, so I made another batch of my Bare Bones Blueberry Scones. I likee!

And lastly, I am very sorry I do not have a picture of this. Because it was SOOOOOO good. I had a hankering for some lasagna. It started with that yogurt that turned into ricotta. And then I ended up not putting that yogurt ricotta into it. Anyway, it was a single serving, and you know how much I like that. I weighed out half a portion of whole wheat lasagna noodles (which turned out to be one piece,) and broke it into 4 pieces. I had one serving of my Darn Good Spaghetti Sauce in the freezer. I measured out 1/4 cup of cottage cheese, and I had one low fat mozzarella cheese stick left in the fridge. And then I took a zucchini and sliced it long-ways (throwing away the core with the seeds.) I found a single serving pyrex bowl, and I just layered all those ingredients (yes, just the dry lasagna noodle,) and topped with the mozzarella cheese stick that I had grated. Covered with foil, and baked at 350 for about 45 minutes. It was a big serving. I could probably have called it two servings, but I ate the whole thing. About 385 most worthy calories.

Don’t worry. I did not eat all these things in one day. All the baked goods are portioned out and are in the freezer for easy convenient breakfasts.

7 thoughts on “Adventures in Baking

  1. Great idea on the single serving of lasagna! I use cottage cheese in mine instead of ricotta, too. Also, I wanted to make a pan while my kids were here over Christmas, but forgot after they got so sick with the stomach flu.

    The pineapple topping looks great and would be so good with plain Greek yogurt and some nuts. Plus I still want your baked oatmeal.

  2. The more I work on eating really good food – but a lot less of it, the more I enjoy single servings of anything! The pineapple sauce sounds really good and I love pineapple/cottage cheese combo.

Leave a Reply

