This ‘n’ That

I was thinking about sharing two new products from Trader Joe’s (no, unfortunately TJ’s has not realized the wisdom of providing me vouchers for my frequent positive reviews…) And tonight I used both of them in the same dish, and it was SOOOO DELICIOUS and so low cal that I just had to share.

The first product is their Light Champagne Vinaigrette. Its only 50 calories for two tablespoons. And just recently I’ve discovered that 1 Tbsp is more than enough dressing in a big salad. So 25 calories is definitely a winner. But I am pretty picky about dressings, and there aren’t too many processed ones that I like any more. This one is pretty tangy, and I discovered that if I added a bit of splenda, it was just perfect for me.

The second is their Papaya Mango Salsa. This stuff is SO good. Hardly any calories. I had it on top of some grilled salmon the other night and it was scrumptious. I’m sure it would be just as good on some chicken.

Tonight I wanted to make a salad, and I realized that the bag of shredded cabbage was about to go out of date. So I mixed the whole bag (4 cups) of cabbage, about 9 or 10 baby carrots cut into sticks, 1 spear of pineapple cut into small pieces, 3 Tbsp of the Light Champagne Vinaigrette, and 1/4 cup of the papaya mango salsa. I decided it would make 3 large servings, only 90 calories each. It went great with my turkey burger.

IMG_9135

And changing the subject rapidly, I just found out that my little column has been published in The Quilt Life magazine! I haven’t even seen the magazine myself. I just clicked on the table of contents on their website and was so surprised that I was actually listed there!! So Exciting!! Here’s the copy (of the table of contents):

2o | Debby weighs in
Little things count by Debby Schnabel

TQL’s new column offers advice for a long,

healthy quilting life

 

quilt_life_cover

I don’t think I even mentioned that I had been asked to do this, because I wanted to make sure it was real before I said anything. Each issue they have a cooking contest, and I will ‘weigh in’ on their recipes, and/or add a few tips on living the healthy life.

And so I must end. I just heard (again) how getting enough sleep can help with weight loss, so I am trying to go to bed a little earlier. I don’t know if I or the dogs wake up earlier. But its very early!

IMG_9077

IMG_8576

IMG_8399

IMG_8028

Some of us have no trouble getting enough sleep in a 24 hour period…

17 thoughts on “This ‘n’ That

  1. Congratulations! I’m on my lifestyle change also and have made this the year of me! I’ve enjoyed your recipes , it’s always nice to hear the struggles, makes me know I’m not alone. Now if I can only get motivated to exercise on a regular and enjoyable basis!

  2. I’ve found so many really cool things in TJ’s since they opened here last summer. It’s right around the corner from where Bill & I walk every morning, so I’m often in there right after it opens. So it’s just me and the friendly store employees. I roam about looking at everything and always find something new to try! Gotta look for that mango stuff. If it’s mango, I’m all over it!

  3. I’m so excited for your magazine work! How awesome is it that you’ve found a way to blend two passions into one project? You should approach the dog magazine people and pitch a column on how to keep you and your pets healthy! :) (If you can wake up any of the pets for a walk.LOL)

  4. First, your salad look SO fresh and tropical! YUM!! second, the light champagne dressing sounds so good, I usually get their champagne pear vinaigrette, i haven’t seen this one before so I will have to find it next time. Third, the dog in the laundry basket cracks me up :)

    • Oh yes, that champagne pear vinaigrette is so good! I think they stopped carrying it at my store.

      It was even funnier if you could have seen Sophie with her short legs working at getting INTO that basket!

  5. I just love that you are getting your very! own! column! in a quilting magazine…well-deserved and extremely awesome!!! I’ll have to get your autograph on a copy of the mag next time I see you! :)

    Hearing about TJ favorites makes me envious. I think there might be one in Texas, but obviously not anywhere near me. Your coleslaw looks (and sounds) great!

    The sleeping dogs slay me. So cute!

  6. So awesome about the magazine!!! So when you start writing books and doing book tours, I call dibs on being your assistant!! :)

    I wish we had a TJs around here. Don’t they realize they are depriving my state of wholesome deliciousness?? What about my needs, Joe????? Trader Joe, you are so selfish.

  7. Congrats on the magazine article. Love your tips and helpful hints. I’m trying to get on the wagon of eating better. We have a TJ in Fort Worth now. Their olive oil is rated the best tasteing and is very cheap.
    Keep up the good work for us!!

  8. Have been following you since Alex mentioned it in her weekly blog. When I mentioned it to my WW leader I found she knew about it too. We are both quilters. And now I’m really excited about AIM as I am finally back to goal. Have been lifetime since 1984m but this is the last time I am going over the number. Love finding goood things at TJ’s.

Leave a Reply

