What I Ate

What I ate–I’m referring to last weekend, when I took a 4 day trip out of town to that quilt workshop. I was really looking forward to “getting away.” I put that in quotes because, why, exactly, does a person who lives alone need to get away? Exactly what was I getting away from? Four dogs?–don’t answer that question!

ANYWAY, that was my intent. It was a short trip, both in time and in distance, but I wanted to relax and enjoy myself. Hmmm. So just exactly how relaxed was I going to be with food?

Those of you who read often will know that I am very good at traveling with food. I always like to get a hotel room with a microwave and refrigerator, and I usually google directions to any restaurants that have good low-cal food (Baja Fresh!) and local grocery stores.

This time I decided I wanted to be a little more relaxed about my food. I took some pre-portioned homemade yogurt, and some of Shelley’s famous granola, some fruit, and I also took some of my low-cal baked goods for breakfast. I had one serving of that wonderful ‘tropical slaw’ left, and I couldn’t leave that behind, so I stuck it in the bag. I brought some of my Quest protein bars, and some dark chocolate and commercial microwave popcorn. That was way more food than I was going to need, but it gave me some choices.

I knew they were serving a delicious catered lunch at the workshop each day. And I knew I wanted to eat dinner out one or two nights. AND, I knew I would get frozen yogurt at least once. So yeah. For a person whose been consistently dieting for 3 months, I was definitely planning to be a little more relaxed about my food.

Added into the mix: this was the first time I would be “recognized” as “The Healthy Quilter.” The Quilt Life magazine had just come out, and Alex Anderson (co-creator of the magazine) was the workshop teacher. That was making me a wee bit nervous. Was everybody going to be looking at me and thinking “who made her the queen of quilt health?” or “LOOK at what SHE’s eating!” (answer: no. Not very many people paid any attention at all.)

So this trip was a mixed bag. I made some really great choices–the side by side salad at Baja Fresh the first night. They give you so much grilled chicken that I saved half of it. The next night I mixed it into that tropical slaw that I had brought along. Ooh, that was a very good idea.

I ate that microwave popcorn two nights, but I really don’t like it any more. I much prefer my own paper bag concoction. So I trashed the rest of it.

IMG_9162

This was my snack tonight–6 cups of the paper bag microwave popcorn, 1/2 a serving of M&M’s (110 calories) and a diet coke.

One day after the workshop I needed to stop at Safeway for something. And they had a Chinese food bar where you could get a bit of this and that. It looked so good, and I did get just a bit of this and that. Not too much of any one thing. It looked way better than it tasted. Oh well…

The lunches at the workshop were just delicious. They had wraps one day, and wonderful salads another day. The third day they had sandwiches, and they all had mayonnaise (yuck) on them. I ended up just picking out the meat and tomato and tossing the rest. They had some homemade potato chips that were quite tasty. I also trashed them just so I wouldn’t eat all of them. I did not, however, trash the desserts…

photo copy

Alex saw that I had a brownie on my plate and got out her iPhone to take a pic of the evidence and send to Ricky. So I obliged by posing with it.

One of the hardest things for me was that in the afternoons they had some of that dang trail crack (trail mix with nuts, raisins, and M&M’s) on the back table. It is so hard for me to resist that stuff. I did pretty well. But I wondered if my table mates (who all were fairly normal weights) had the constant ongoing inner conversation that I had. I don’t think that’s normal.

One day I got some frozen yogurt, and even though it was not very good, I ate it all :{{ The last day I was there I found another froyo place (Menchie’s) and it was TOTALLY WORTHY! Got one for the drive home.

Back home, and I went right back to my healthy diet. No problems. No lingering cravings. I was very happy to be eating food that I enjoy that makes me feel good. I did notice that eating that much sugar made me feel bad. I wish I could describe it better. And the weirdest thing is, (and I remember this from ‘the good ol’ days’) when you are feeling bad from eating the sugar, you think that eating a little more will make you feel better. Hmmm. Did I just describe the thought process of an addict???

So there you have it–the good, the bad, and the somewhat ugly. I realize that this is a long boring ramble about “what I ate.” But I wanted to share the real life of a person who is maintaining a large weight loss and is even currently losing weight. Some people still seem to want to know.

23 thoughts on “What I Ate

  1. Yes, and I’m one of those who will ALWAYS “want to know.” I hope you had a good time – the pic of you is great! Sure wish you could plan another trip to TN in April. We had such a good time and this year, the wildflowers are right on time!!

  2. It is an addiction. I think people cavalierly say they are addicted to sugar and not realize that it can have as powerful an effect on your brain as opium. Now there’s a thought. Good thing I found sugar before opium, I guess??

    I think you did fine on the trip. I love the popcorn M&M snack, but I am like you that microwave popcorn just doesn’t do it for me anymore. I won’t tell you that I pop mine in coconut oil. Oh wait….

    • You said what I think often. I could very easily have been one of those people on the corner drinking something out of a brown paper bag…

  3. The only time I notice any effects of sugar is after Christmas, when I eat way too much of it by my current standards.

    After I smoked up a hotel room with the paper bag popcorn, I don’t carry it on trips anymore. :)

    • LOL. That’s exactly why I didn’t pack the paper bag popcorn.

      And yes, I agree about the ‘too much sugar.’ I can have a little bit (and probably do) every day and I don’t feel ‘bad.’ This past weekend was a little too much like Christmas :)

  4. Microwave popcorn became popular not long after microwaves became the norm, so I grew up eating microwave popcorn. About 3 years ago, I decided to go Pioneer on my family and make it in a dutch oven on top of the stove. Holy cats on a cracker!! You’d have thought we discovered fire, we were so excited about our “new” popcorn. A couple of years ago my husband bought a Whirly Pop and now that’s the only way we fix popcorn. Microwave popcorn just tastes “meh” to us now.
    And that is my long winded popcorn story. You’re welcome.
    :)

    • I’ve seen those whirly pops before, and always heard good things about them. I might have to get one of those for myself one of these years! Do you buy a particular brand of popcorn?

      • I think last time I got Orville Redenbachers Gourmet popping corn and I’ve also had the Boy Scout popcorn kernels. Both were fine. I try to get the best I can afford.

  5. Thanks. I just started following your blog via email. I’m also preparing to start back on weight watchers online. Over the past year and a half I have had several surgeries and totally let myself go. Trips are difficult and I also spend 2 days a week out of town babysitting my grandchildren. I like to know what goes on inside other people’s heads! Kathy

  6. I love that picture of you – and really, the brownie wasn’t smothered in ice cream, so you were positively angelic with eating it! :)

    I don’t like the taste of microwave popcorn anymore. I just use a plain air popper (that goes in the microwave, ironically, but you know what I mean). And I know exactly what you mean about thinking so much about the trail crack…I doubt the normies do that – have the interior struggle – that we do. Sighhhh.

      • Yes, I like to know. I find inspiration in your blog. I’m now down about 50 pounds from my highest of 330 and many more to go. I check regularly to see what you’ve posted (as well as a few other bloggers) and enjoy your honesty and struggles and what is and isn’t working in your weight maintenance (now loss). I also enjoy seeing your doggie family! Thank you for blogging!

  7. Hi Debby,
    Just wanted to tell you your blog is one of my top favorites. I found it via Lynn Weighs In and I started from the beginning of your blog, I am now almost into 2013, except I cheated and have been reading your currents also. The things I love about your blog is your day to day way of losing and managing your weight loss and your honest thoughts on the subject. ( I am starting over on WW, and I am going to lose this 100 lbs for good) , also, your food ideas. But I guess most of all is your love of dogs and color. Your pups are so adorable and they have such a wonderful home. I have 3 pups myself, I am a widow and live alone so they are great company. I have a background in art, I work occasionally in watercolor and colored pencil, which I have been lacks in lately, so reading your blog and seeing your quilting has given me the kick in the pants I needed to start drawing again. You see you never know who your blog will effect, but I enjoy it greatly. Take care.
    Lynn

    • Wow! Thanks so much Lynn! It is so fun to hear from people who read, and who have similar interests. I feel like I need to apologize for all those days I didn’t think too much but just blathered on. Keep in touch!

  8. Pingback: Rock Stars of the Week, March 15 | Tippy Toe Diet

Leave a Reply

