Weekend Fun

Functional exercise! That’s what’s been going on around here the last few days.

Did I mention I have a new yard guy? (I love saying that!) Over the last couple of days he’s turned this:

IMG_9183

IMG_9182

Into this:

IMG_9194

IMG_9197

That means a LOT of functional exercise for me as I stack it all. There are two more gigantic piles of wood on the property for me to stack.

Then, after discussing with yard guy and a consultant from the nursery, I am finally going to make a planter bed around my oldest Japanese maple that has outgrown its pot and has roots in the ground. I am pretty excited about this project. (the rotted bench will be removed!)

IMG_9184

Excited enough that I took three trips to Lowe’s and brought home three loads of those pavers. And unloaded all three loads, 6 pavers at a time, into the wheelbarrow, and then over to stack.

The dawrgums were quite enamored of the stacked stones.

IMG_9199

 

 

IMG_9196

Here’s the outline of what we hope to do. Yard guy is going to level the ground a little. And I do believe that I will let him move and stack the rest of those blocks. I think I prefer my little gym exercises!

IMG_9198

I did go to the gym yesterday and swam 36 lengths. My real motivation was to get to sit in the spa! Ahhhhhh….

 

11 thoughts on “Weekend Fun

    • LOL. You read my mind. I was surprised when I told him on the phone why I was hiring him (old, aches and pains…) and he said, “oh yeah, I get you.” He is 50. For some reason, when the nursery recommended him I thought he would be a college or high school guy. He works SO MUCH HARDER than a younger guy. So I am thrilled to have him.

      I will show my progress pics. I was just out there, daydreaming about whether or not I want to expand the area… Since they took a few trees down, I have a lot more sun in my yard. Its going to be fun.

  1. I was just thinking “oh yeah, chop that wood, um hmmm, swing that axe” but then I read that he’s 50 and ::poof:: fantasy over.

  2. Hi Debby,

    Yes please give us progress reports as the project goes on. I like your backyard, it is so woods-zee looking. My backyard is just a back yard with one lone oak tree in it. I am slowly starting to add a garden. Bess and Monk look happy basking in the sun.

    Lynn

  3. Oh, this reminded me of my first yard guy, who was out mowing my lawn shirtless. I made some comment to my neighbor friend about the great view and she said, “You do know he’s 17, don’t you?” I felt like such a pervert. :) (But it did diminish the attraction.)

    I’m eager to see the progress, too!

  4. I’m sure the dogs are great help :) I had a tree guy back in the day. I’d have killed a tree just to get him out there to climb it! Looking forward to your yard updates!

Leave a Reply

