A Peachy Keen Summer

After grousing about the poor harvest of peaches last summer, it seems I have been rewarded with a banner crop of peaches this year! I have gotten peaches from three different places, and all of them have been wonderful. My latest purchase was from Costco! They traditionally have had great peaches for sale each summer. But really, what is a single person to do with a DOZEN peaches? Time to get creative!!

While I was at Costco, they were promoting their organic products. The lady in the quinoa booth caught my attention, and we had a brief conversation about how we used our quinoa. I still have a lot of quinoa because I bought a SEVEN POUND BAG at Costco. Ahem…moving on. Anyway, she mentioned that she uses it with peaches to thicken them. Ooh, that sounds yummy.

One of the troubles of quinoa is that it is kind of dry. It seems like it needs something to make it stick together.┬áSo I came up with this idea. Its more an idea than a recipe, although I guess I’ll write the idea down on my recipe site, if only for myself. I cooked one serving of quinoa–1/4 cup of quinoa in 1 cup of water. While that was cooking, I peeled and chopped 2 peaches. I put them in a separate pan with just a bit of water to keep them from sticking. After they cooked for a bit, I added a slurry (don’t you love these fancy new cooking terms I pick up from my cooking shows) of 1 1/2 tsp corn starch, 1 tsp cinnamon, and 1/4 cup water. And I continued to cook for about 3 minutes. By this time the quinoa was cooked and I added the quinoa to the peaches–Voila! Peachy Quinoa Compote. Remove from heat and add sweetener of choice. This made 3 servings at 95 calories per serving.

IMG_9922

Now, here is another recipe I tried at the same time, because I thought they would taste good together, kinda like peaches and cream. Well, its peaches and cream for the weirdly healthy food addict LOL.

IMG_9920

It is Chia Pudding. Couldn’t be simpler. I got the original idea here. All you do is put 2 cups of unsweetened almond milk and 4 Tbsp chia seeds, along with sweetener of choice into a container with a lid. Give it a shake. 15 minutes later give it another shake and then put it in the refrigerator for 6 hours or overnight. I really enjoyed this. Only 50 calories for 1/2 cup.

I think there are a lot of ways you could eat the Peachy Quinoa Compote. Warm, with some granola on top, for a dessert. Maybe as a topping for french toast or protein pancakes?

IMG_9902

(French toast made with whole grain bread, about 230 calories for this plate.)

And I plan to have the rest of the Chia Pudding with some blueberries tomorrow morning. The Fun with Food never stops!

Oh, as long as I mentioned fun with food, I have to share a picture I took of my dinner the other night. I really eat like this.

IMG_9917

( 4 oz. turkey burger with tomatoes and lettuce.)

13 thoughts on “A Peachy Keen Summer

  1. I was afraid in the midst of our move, I had failed to get peaches and they’d be gone. But I discovered a place near our condo that brings them in every morning from upstate South Carolina. So I plan to go back and get 1/2 bushel. So what do TWO people do with that many peaches? Cut ‘em up into bit sized chunks and flash freeze them. Then use them for smoothies and lots of other things.

    • Yeah, I’m sure some of mine will be going into the freezer as well. My freezer is chock full right now, so hopefully they’ll keep in the fridge for a bit until I make a little more room by eating a few things!

  2. I have to tell ya that chia pudding is kinda scary looking. But I’m sure it’s good…I have been making different versions of peach cobbler crisp using peaches, quaker low sugar maple oatmeal with a little protein powder and almond milk. it’s pretty good.

  3. LOL at the scary chia pudding. Should I call it “frog’s eyes pudding?”

    Your peach cobbler idea sounds yumm. Thanks for the idea of adding protein powder. I think that might just be what I’m looking for. It would also be a good addition to the chia pudding!

  4. Yummers! That compote looks good. Although 95 calories is about half a serving for me :D

    I just can’t get with the chia. I am not one for gelatinous or gummy substances (just say no to swedish fish!!). I have some chia mix in my cupboard and at it once. John keeps saying to me, “you still have that chia stuff in here”. “Yeah, yeah, I hear ya” – I say.

      • Yes, I do! It makes for more interesting conversation. See–with the chia, I am a fan of gummy stuff. I have gummy calciums, I had gummy vitamin C’s. LOVE hot tamales, used to eat spearmint leaves and gumdrops by the bagful!

        And I agree–that is a small serving. I think I did that because I was having it for dessert with the chia pudding–so 150 total. Also, I think I am going to try PJ’s suggestion, and add some vanilla protein powder to the last serving. Might be quite tasty!

Leave a Reply

