AIM: Kickoff to the Eating Season

542707_10151477330723281_358074385_n-1

I have one word for you:  PUMPKIN CUBES!! Okay, that’s two words, but you know what I mean. For those of you who have followed me for a while, you might remember my love of all things cubed. I’ve made banana cubes, and huge batches of fruit smoothies all frozen into individual cubes. I’ve pulverized, cubed, and frozen spinach to use in my smoothies. I even cubed some pesto!

DSCN0107

For me, from way back when I first started Weight Watchers, my go-to treat for the fall has been Pumpkin Custard. As they explained in W.W., the pie crust is where all the calories are. The pumpkin pie filling really doesn’t have that many calories.  Of course it took me a few years to get over the fact that my favorite part of pumpkin pie was THE CRUST and THE WHIPPED CREAM on top. Once I got over that, I embraced the pumpkin custard, and it has gone through various revisions over the years. Now my favorite way to make it is my single serving recipe. Its a simple recipe to mix, and then I don’t feel pressured to eat it four nights in a row. However, when you open the big can of pumpkin, there is a lot of leftover pumpkin after you use 1/3 cup for this recipe. And THAT is when I came up with the pumpkin cube.

DSCN0113

I don’t know what made me try this recipe raw, but I really love it. Its like one of those dessert soups I see on my cooking shows. And once I made the pumpkin cubes, I could make a frosty drink out of it! This morning I added 1/2 scoop of my vanilla whey protein powder, and that was a super delicious pumpkin protein smoothie for only 170 calories and about 17 grams of protein.

Now that I’ve got my handy dandy pumpkin cubes, I will probably be making even more pumpkin treats this fall. When I put “pumpkin” into the search box on my recipe site, I found more recipes than i even remembered having. (read this next sentence in Forrest Gump) There’s pumpkin pecan scones, pumpkin bread pudding, pumpkin protein snack bars, pumpkin in 3M Chia muffins, and pumpkin added to my fabulous quinoa breakfast recipe.

There are plenty of other hurdles to cross throughout this long holiday season, but having a simple and satisfying treat that I can enjoy any time is a really good thing.

Be sure to visit my AIM compadres to see what they have to say about The Eating Season. I’m sure we each have a very different take on how we enjoy the food and the holidays while still maintaining our weight loss!

Lynn @ Lynn’s Weigh

Lori @ Finding Radiance

Shelley @ My Journey to Fit

Cammy @ The Tippy Toe Diet

11 thoughts on “AIM: Kickoff to the Eating Season

  1. Best opening line of a blog EVER! LOL

    As I told Cammy, I’m going to make a sweet potato or a butternut squash soup today. AND I’m going to buy some pumpkins to roast and put them in trays. I love you and your pumpkin ways!

  2. Everybody’s talking about the foods of fall. Why not concentrate on wonderful, healthy things like pumpkin and crisp apples and cider and butternut squash. We had a friend over for dinner yesterday and he went to town on the butternut squash–just loved it. Good to remember.

  3. I love a good Forrest Gump reference! The pumpkin cubes are such a good idea; I forget about doing this until I have half a can of pumpkin that I have to throw away because it got icky in the fridge.

  4. How thankful I am that our blog friendship introduced me to the wonderful concept of cubing (among many other things!!). You really should have a show on Food Network! When we were getting ready to move, my niece was helping me pack up my pantry and she found my “cubing” ice trays on the shelf (odd that I wasn’t cubing anything at that point). I nearly bit her head off when she asked if I wanted to keep them. LOL!

  5. So, I have this giant can of pumpkin sitting on my counter right now. I grumbled at MyGuy for getting the large size. “But it costs less in the long run”, says he. “But it’s a pain in the patooty when the recipe only calls for 1/2 cup!” says I.

    Enter: The Cube!!

    What a great idea. How come I never thought of that… ha ha ha

  6. Gosh I am craving something pumpkin about now. I totally agree with you about the crust and the pie. Not worthy. Filling only :D

  7. I’m so into pumpkin right now! Fall flavors are like heaven. Pumpkin custard sounds awesome, too. I’d like to think that is my favorite part of pumpkin pie, but the crust and whipped cream are equally as tasty. Must be the combo that makes it so irresistible.

Leave a Reply

