About that Goal Weight

A little bit ago I shared that I had once again reached ONE HUNDRED POUNDS LOST. I didn’t say it in the post, but some people assumed that I had reached my goal weight. A reasonable assumption, since that is the most I’ve ever lost. But it is not my goal weight. I would actually like to lose more weight in the hopes that it will decrease the stress on my knees and my back. Right now I have in mind to lose another fifteen pounds. Anyone want to bet on the fact that it’ll probably take me another year to do that?

But here’s the thing. I don’t think I want to have a goal weight. I’ve been thinking about this a lot. Wouldn’t it be so much better to have a GOAL LIFE? Here are some of the qualities I would like to achieve in that goal life:

  • Kinder
  • Humbler
  • Productive
  • Healthier (which would include being as thin as possible with food choices to support optimal health)
  • BALANCED, with a side of contentedness (keeping up with that healthier goal but with minimal angst over food choices.)

For me, this seems a healthier way to look at weight loss. It is just one part of a whole and healthy life. Granted, it is a big part. But if those other things go by the wayside in order to achieve a certain weight or body size, that is NOT a whole and healthy life. I suppose if someone held a gun to my head and made me choose between being a morbidly obese, kind person, or a model-thin, mean-spirited person, I would choose the former. Fortunately, that is not a choice any of us have to make.

Everything works together. If I neglect my health, eating whatever I want, whenever I want, I will be in (even more) pain all the time. Do you know how hard it is to be loving and kind when you are in pain? So the best possible health is really very important. But if I am impatient or unkind or just plain unwilling to help a person in need because I am obsessed  with what food I am going to eat, or worried that I might miss a workout at the gym, that is not a good life either.

These are some lofty goals. I am not always balanced. Anyone who has read my blog for a while knows I spend a little too much time thinking about food. I am not naturally kind and humble. I have certainly learned a lot about humility in the last few years, but kindness is something I always have to work on. I think I’m relatively productive, but I can be very wasteful of my days sometimes. And heaven knows, I’m doing my best to work on my health LOL.

19 thoughts on “About that Goal Weight

  1. Balance is key to everything isn’t it? And sometimes so very hard to achieve! Somehow I believe you will though… maybe because what I’ve seen over the years of reading your blog is that you really really want to.

    • Well, thanks Helen. I’ve got a feeling I will be working on my life goal my entire life. But I guess that’s what its all about.

  2. Oh Debby I really love this! Having a goal life and doing what it takes to make that happen sounds so much better than focusing on a particular number on the scale. I also love the thought of minimal angst over food choices. This all sounds so calming and yes, balanced – ahhhhhh. :)

    • Ha! You’re making me muse over the idea of getting rid of the scale again. Heaven knows, I certainly know it when I gain a couple pounds in my current wardrobe!

      CAAALLLLLLMMMMMM. Ahhh, that’s my favorite state to be in.

  3. Oh my, this is the best blog post I’ve seen in a long time and one I sorely needed. How I wish we could sit on my front porch (or back porch for that matter) and talk about this for a long time. Just too many thoughts rolling around to even try putting them in a comment! But for sure, next time we meet up, we’ll be talking about our goal lives and ways we’ve become kinder, gentler women who also manage their health without being obsessed over it.

    • That’s the trouble with making long distance friends. I would really really like to be able to see some of my blog friends more often. Like you, as much as I enjoy our written conversations, there is just something about face to face conversations that can’t be replaced.

    • “manage their health without being obsessed over it” You’ve hit the nail on the head. I am sick of being obsessed over weight loss. It worked for a while (counting points) but I don’t want to live my whole life this way! At first, I abandoned all, but now I am coming back. Now I am just cleaning up what I eat (limited processed foods). I can see eating like this with 10-20 room for error long term.

  4. Such a great post, Debby! I’m also more interested in having a better life than having an ideal body. I’d choose both if I could, but I’m happier being happy and productive and engaged in the world around me. The other way didn’t work so well for me. :)

  5. Debbie, as a reader and member of the human race, and after seeing many piers and many, many parents of piers handicapped by illness resulting from obesity, I can heartily say YES YES YES! Let’s make our journey hand in hand with a goal of better health while living!

  6. A goal life is certainly a worthy endeavor! We tend to pigeonhole so much of ourselves into things like careers, dress sizes, scale weight, etc. People are so complex and vital – it is important to embrace all of ourselves, wherever we are.

  7. Enjoyed your post Debby. Your honest about yourself and you know that your always a work in progress as we all are. I’m for the goal weight or life in general at which we feel comfortable in our own skin,knowing that we are in a good place in life. All this is something I’m still working on, getting a little closer to my life goal.

  8. Oh, what a wonderfully refreshing post! A GOAL LIFE. I love it.

    And it’s exactly why I haven’t been posting lately, except on my art blog. I really wanted to re-examine EVERYTHING. I no longer wanted to give my life’s focus to “weight loss”. Of COURSE it’s necessary for my health’s sake. But I don’t feel the need to yak about it all the time anymore.

    I recently got a comment on the last post there (eons ago) stating that I wasn’t posting because of one of two reasons. Either I had MET my weight/fitness goals, OR I had given UP on my goals.

    Um… neither. I am trying to learn that elusive Balance, and LIVE my life, while still trying to get healthy.

    I can’t tell you how encouraging it was to read this post, and know SOMEONE gets it. :-)

  9. I’ve lost 50 lbs over the past 8 months and have gone from the morbidly obese range to the overweight range. My goal isn’t a weight but to get to the normal weight range. I have had both knees replaced over the past couple of years and have never felt stronger. I want to get better. In the past i have made the excuse that I would never get to that normal rangetoo thin. I saw a documentary on PBS about Winston Churchill. He was 65 when he became the Prime Minister and basically saved the world. What can I do at 65? One of the things on my 65 bucket list is to maintain a healthy lifestyle-which includes being in the normal weight range. i enjoy your musings. Kathy

Leave a Reply

