I Feel Good!

Just a short post about little victories. After my previous serious post about making changes, and how important it was to my health, my bloggy friend Jill and I were kidding around about ice cream this morning.  But of course, the power of suggestion…and I was going to the doctor’s today, and really, I deserve some ice cream after the stress of driving an hour and a half, and going to the doctor’s, right?  And really, I knew right where the Coldstone Creamery was.  So, before I left, I had about convinced myself that it was the right thing to do–treat myself to some ice cream.  But I did take my alternative Cliff bar and some lite popcorn with me.    And I ate a delicious and filling lunch of cottage cheese and cantaloupe, and a big tomatoe before I left.  And by the time I got there, I had decided that I really wanted my Cliff bar and a Starbuck’s coffee on the way home, and not 15 points worth of ice cream.  I’ll tell you, thinking about my aunt (see previous post) is very sobering.  Like I told my friend on the way home, as long as it is within my control I don’t ever want anyone to tell me I can’t have a drink of water (that’s what my aunt’s doctor told her because of her kidney and heart failure.) 

The visit with my doctor was really just an interview.  I got assigned to a new doctor, and like I told her I didn’t want the first time I met her to be when I was naked.  She went over my labs with me.  Everything was normal.  My good cholesterol was much higher than pre-weight loss, and she said, are you exercising?  YES, I said.  Then I noticed my Triglycerides were way down, and I asked her why that would be, and she looked to see if I was taking fish oil pills, and I said no, but I eat way differently now.  Well, that’s it, she said.  So all in all, a great day.  I am 53 years old, and officially don’t have to take any prescription pills-YAY YAY YAY YAY YAY!!!  (Can you tell I am not a fan of pills?)

8 thoughts on “I Feel Good!

  1. Yay for you not having to pop any pills!!! Wow that’s really great! THAT is what all this healthy living stuff is all about. It’s great that you have something to validate all the sweating and making excrutiating choices between ice cream and cliff bars! Good job.

    The only suckage? Your doc is an hour and a half away!!!!!! ugh! I complain if I have to drive more than 30 minutes anywhere!

    I notice that you often comment on being 53 years old. Knock Knock Hello McFly??? 53 is not old!!! Quit talking like you’re some grandma in a rocking chair with one foot in the grave. You are a COUGAR – RAWR!!

    Oh, and QUIT PIMPING YOUR BLOG ON MY BLOG!! =) teehee!!

    Have a good day!

  2. Hi Jill, Hey, I have to comment here and hope you’ll read this because it would be tacky if I said anything on your blog. But, WHOA, you got a comment from Pastaqueen. You’re officially in the big league. WOO HOO! And on that silly ice cream cartoon–who knew?

    About me mentioning that I am ‘old’ and 53 years old. I think the reason that I do that is because I am trying to convince myself of it. Most of the time I think of myself as a contemporary of 25-35 year olds. And yet, I intellectually know/see that I have a little less energy than when I was 25, and I am sometimes distressed at lines/wrinkles in weird places, like my ears…Age is about as weird a concept as weight in some ways. But you know what, sometimes if you say something too often, it becomes reality in your life. So, I think I’ll stop saying it for a while.

    I am a cougar??? I guess I’ll head on down to that stream I was never supposed to visit again.

  3. Debby – congratulations to you on not having to take pills! We all focus on looks, scale, sizes, and all the outside physical attributes of weight loss – but the truly important thing is our health, and you have shown what a great thing diet and exercise is for your well-being!

Leave a Reply

