Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

Thank you!  That’s what I couldn’t stop saying to God on my way home in the car.

Yesterday was such a good day.  I met my sister in Stockton (big town halfway between her house and mine.)  Uh oh.  (Remember, me + big town = too many food choices.)  Well, we planned to meet at BJ’s, one of my favorite restaurants, and I planned to have lunch AND a ‘pizookie’ (which is a fresh-baked CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIE served fresh out of the oven and topped with delicious FULL FAT vanilla ice cream.)  Anyways we had lunch.  I made relatively good choices.  Then we planned to shop for a while and then go back and  have the dessert before we parted ways.

We had such a good time.  We don’t see each other or talk to each other nearly as much as we used to.  My sister is the most wonderful person in the whole wide world (BTW, the previous statement has NOTHING to do with the fact that my sister now knows that I have a blog, and that there is a tiny chance she just might read this.)  But really, no one ‘gets’ me like my sister does, and we just talked and talked.  Anyways, neither of us wanted to spend that much money, so we went to a thrift store that has a LOT of designer clothes.  I got some really nice clothes that fit so well and looked really good on me, and I felt a little less fat than I have been feeling the past few days.  While I was helping my sister change out clothes in the dressing room I just glanced around and I really couldn’t believe my eyes.  There was a brand new Vera Bradley purse!  But not just any Vera Bradley purse.  It was one I had seen a friend carrying about 5 years ago that I just loved, with chickens and eggs on it.  So it is one that is not in production anymore, and yet it was brand new, with all the tags still attached!

 

Yes, I like all things chicken.

Yes, I like all things chicken.

So we headed back for our dessert, and my sister says, “Hey, there’s a yogurt place.”  So I said, well do you want that instead? And she said, yah, it sounds cooler.  This place was called Yogelina (my sister said Angelina Jolie owned it.)  Have you ever heard of it?  The stuff actually tasted like yogurt, you know, had that little tang to it, so I think maybe it was a little healthier than some of the frozen yogurt out there.  Anyways, we really enjoyed it.  [Holy cow, I just researched the nutritionals on this stuff–can you believe the serving we had only had 98 calories?!?  Oh, yeah, I FEEL GOOD!]

On the way home, I kept thinking about it.  I was really looking forward to, and determined to get that Pizookie.  But I felt SO GOOD that we had enjoyed that yogurt instead.  I think it was the first time I really really felt that way that people describe–being thin feels better than _______ tastes.  Not that I’m thin, but I think you know what I mean.

So, one of the reasons I didn’t want to spend as much money is because I am trying to live a little more simply so that I can have a little money to give, especially to help feed hungry children.  (Does anyone else see the irony in a food-obsessed person wanting to help alleviate hunger in this world?)  But I had been in a little bit of a quandry as to where to give, and when I got home there was a letter from World Vision saying that a donation could be multiplied 6 times because of government grants!  It was a real answer to prayer.

AND I got home before it was dark.  So I grabbed Oliver the Practically Perfect Black Standard Poodle and went for a really fast 1 1/2 mile walk.  It felt so good to WANT to do that!  THANK YOU, LORD!

9 thoughts on “Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

  1. WOW!!! I am overwhelmed at what you said about me. It’s true, we do know each other way better than anyone else. It’s strange, because you’ve called me ‘Mel’ my whole life and I don’t think twice about it. But when other people do it, I cringe. I ask them to call me by my full name. But it would be weird if you did it.

    Yeah, I don’t really know what hit me re: the yogurt except it was so dang hot, maybe. And that’s GREAT NEWS ab/ the calorie count (…did you add in your add-ins, the nuts and cookie crumbs, dear?). And that thrift store was WONDERFUL! I got a beautiful Coldwater Canyon dress that I can wear this summer and probably on into October w/ our Indian Summer.

    And World Vision is a great org. I have had two children I’ve supported thru them. My current little girl is named Dorica Felipe and she lives in Africa. And I think our food “problem” stems back to the days of Mom saying, “Just think about the starving children in China….” at the dinner table. Let’s face it, we are just marred for life!!! (said with a snicker).

    I’m glad you enjoyed our day, too. I enjoyed it so much that I forgot to get home in time to babysit my grandson so Brianne could go to school last night (I promised to watch him for her one night a week during the 10 weeks of summer school). It turned out ok; Chrissie took him to Fuddrucker’s for dinner 🙂

  2. Hey, MEL, did I refer to you as Mel in my post? I thought I was careful to guard your identity! And thanks for outing me on the add-ins!–LOL. But they were definitely worth it, and don’t you think they were conservative in the amount they gave you?

  3. Well, they filled the cup so stinkin’ full, there really wasn’t room for very many add-ins, I agree. I just enjoyed my mango yogurt as all true purists do–naked. The yogurt, that is.

  4. What a great day, and to give thanks to God right up front for it–awesome.

    LOVE World Vision. We did 30 hour famines for World Vision when DH & I worked with our church youth group before we had kids. They do a lot of good in the world.

  5. How great that you had dessert options and made a better choice for yourself. If it is still haunting you, that Pizookie, plan another trip and just eat 1/4 of it. Way to go!

  6. ::going to California to hunt down Debby’s sister MELANIE:: (insert evil laugh here – MUWAHAHAHAHA!!)

    Hey Deb Hi Melanie!! Just popping back in to say hi! Now I keep thinking of naked mango yogurt!!

    Have a great day ladeez!!

  7. Sounds like you had a wonderful day! I don’t think I could have passed up the pizzookie!

    And yay for thrift shopping! I know a lot of people pooh-pooh it, but you can find brand new stuff at a fraction of the cost (just like you did!).
    I’m addicted to it.

Leave a Reply

