The Food Journals

As always, food is on my mind!  I thought I’d write a series this week about various food topics that are on my mind.  Maybe it’ll work into a weekly column, but I’m not sure I’m organized enough for that.  For today, I’ll just share a new recipe.  I tried it out today, and it is MOST worthy!  Macaroni and cheese, with butternut squash.   4 points for a big old serving.  As usual, the original recipe was found on another blog, and then I just adapted it to fit the way I like to eat.  If you like traditional mac and cheese with a smooth sauce, visit Lyn’s blog for her recipe.  She has some other tasty sounding recipes on there.

I don’t like most sauces.  I didn’t like gravy until I was a grown-up.  So the way I like my macaroni and cheese is the way my mom made it.  With little lumps of cheese in it.  Its easier than trying to make a sauce too.  So I went to the store because I thought, if I’m gonna have mac and cheese after all this time, I want me some real macaroni (not whole wheat, which I almost always use.)  But I found this stuff, Ronzini Smart Taste, which said it was ‘white’ pasta with 3X the fiber.  And it was fantastic.  The reason I list ‘cheese sticks’ in the recipe is because that is what I had.  But today I was thinking, that is the way to go for a single person.  Even before the weight loss, cheese was always getting moldy on me because I could never eat enough of it.  This way, each little piece is safe until I need it.  Oh yeah, and the butternut squash…I kinda think I actually got a spaghetti squash.  I was so mad when I took it out of the oven.  Obviously I don’t know my squashes very well.  But even if it was spaghetti squash, it was excellent.  So don’t despair if you get the wrong squash. (But don’t get carried away.  It would not be the same with zucchini.)  Anyways, here is the recipe.  I just made 4 servings, because I didn’t want to eat it forever.  But I bet I will eat all four of these servings!

 

Debby’s Famous Mac and Cheese

5 oz. Ronzoni Smart Taste Macaroni

3 Trader Joe’s Lite Mild Cheddar Cheese Sticks (2 1/2-3 oz)

1 cup nonfat milk

15 oz. butternut squash

1 Tbsp. lite butter

Salt, pepper, and chopped dried onions

Cut squash in half, remove seeds, spray w/Pam, and bake at 400 for 60 minutes.  I used half of the squash (about 15 oz. raw).  Scoop the squash out of the shell and cut into bite size chunks–it might be mashy, that’s okay.  In the meantime, cook the pasta according to pkg. directions.  Drain pasta.  put in an 8 or 9 inch square casserole pan and add the butter, salt, pepper and chopped onions to taste.  Stir around.    When the butter has melted, add the cheese, which you have already sliced or chopped into small pieces.  Stir to let cheese partially melt.  Add the squash and stir to distribute squash evenly.  Pour milk over all.  Bake 30 minutes at 350.

4 servings, 4 points each.

One thought on “The Food Journals

Leave a Reply

