Can You Make a 2 Point Pizza???

Well, I was going to write about something else, but then I got in a bad mood, which I sorta solved with food, but most of the food was ‘good’ food, so I think I’ll tell you about that.  I went to the store to get a few things to try a new recipe–chicken chimichangas (I’ll let you know if they are any good.)  And then I was looking for something Roni had recommended–Joseph’s Lavash Flat Bread–which I didn’t find, but I found  Flatout Light Bread instead, which worked great.  BTW, this bread is labeled carb down, and has Bob Greene’s seal of approval on it, in case anyone cares.  I only mention this because Mizfit wrote a hilarious post about not liking Bob Greene.  Back to the grocery store.  So since I was in a foul mood (and it was only 10:45, and someone had once again mentioned how great the Weight Watcher’s ice cream bars were,) I decided I would get a box of those to try on my way home, which is something I really would never do on an ordinary day.  I got the ‘Giant’ chocolate with chocolate cookie crumbs.  I have a love-hate relationship with w.w. products.  Some of them are absolutely great tasting, and are some of my favorite snacks, and some of them taste terrible.  Most of them pay no attention whatsoever to nutrition, and I think they are very expensive.  And ‘Giant.’  Really, people, in some foreign country they might be giant, but not in America.  However, they were a nice size, and they were VERY satisfactory.  And for me, the single serving aspect of it is a very good thing.  More practical than the 1/2 gallon of loving scoopful ice cream that I’ve been enjoying.

On to the flatbread.  So it is one point.  I topped it with a bit of homemade marinara sauce (which is really just a combo of canned tomatoes and tomato sauce,) some onions, mushrooms, spinach, and 1 low fat string cheese–one point.  So by my figuring that is 2 points.  I guess I could run it through the w.w. recipe builder, or I could call it three points to be safe.  WHAT-EVER.  I put it in my toaster oven for 5-7 minutes at 400, and IT ROCKED!    The flat bread did get really flat, and I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to eat it like pizza, so I folded each piece over into a triangle like a quesadilla, and that worked.  It was so delicious.

I did go to Curves too, so got that out of the way.  And when you are mad at various and sundry things, it does make you work out extra hard.  Gonna go try to redeem the rest of the day!

6 thoughts on “Can You Make a 2 Point Pizza???

  1. Great post! Your recipe sounds fantastic. I have the same concerns about the ww products. Most of them are so full of chemicals that are counter to their mission. I actually can’t have many ww items because of the sugar. Way to go on your creative pizza! I had a regular pizza today and overate. I should have tried your recipe!

  2. I saw this hint (from Roni I think) – if you like a good crunchy ‘pizza” – when using flatbread or pita or taco shells or whatever for pizza – put it in the oven by itself first and let it warm up. Then turn it over and use the side that was bottom down in the oven as the top when you add your ‘stuff’.

  3. Awesome isn’t it! Once I found a way to make pizza for super low points I knew I’d be fine on this whole weight loss thing. LOL

    I think the Flat Outs have flavored once too! Just to add another kick!

  4. I do a similar thing with small corn tortilla pizzas. I love how the mozzarella sticks are already portioned so you can’t go overboard. Roni’s right. Once you figure out how to make a low-point pizza, you can curb the craving when it comes without doing any damage. 🙂

Leave a Reply

