Blog Acedia

“The secret of getting ahead is getting started. The secret of getting started is breaking your complex overwhelming tasks into small manageable tasks, and then starting on the first one.” ~ Mark Twain

Hmmm.  I’ve gotten out of the blogging routine and I’m having a hard time getting started again.  I found this quote on another blog and thought it was a good starting place for me.  You can read some of my excuses over on my favorite funny blogger Jill‘s blog.  The word acedia is one I learned from this blogger.  Carol does a beautiful blog with lots of pretty pictures and inspiration. The word acedia means boredom, listlessness, lack of caring.  I’m probably misusing it here, but it made a good blog title, and I am intrigued with the idea–I think it happens to me too often (or is this just aging–someone please tell me)  They don’t teach classes in high school about the normal process of aging, and even if they did, can you imagine anyone signing up for that as an elective?  The best I can do is to watch Oprah regularly.  Of course, she also has the plastic surgeried-up Hollywood stars on there saying “This is the new face of 60.”  Harumph-new face is the right word, all right.  But I digress…what was I blogging about anyways?  Oh, yeah, the fact that I don’t exactly know what to blog about.

Well, here’s a pretty picture to distract you from this wandering blog.

Aren’t flowers great?  These were only $3.50 at Trader Joe’s the other night, and I couldn’t resist.  Fall is finally peaking in around here, and it was nice to feel a little chill in the house last night, and to sit and watch tv and knit and have the candles burning.

There are lots of new recipes to try out there in blogland.  Even tho I don’t really do the low carb thing, I am especially attracted to their recipes, because sometimes they seem to be more committed to healthy food.  I like to take their recipes and tweak them to make them a little more low cal to fit into my way of eating.  This blogger seems to really like good food, and has some great recipes.  I think I will try her Pumpkin Custard today, because maybe it will make me enjoy cleaning a little more if there is a good smell wafting through the house.  I don’t think I need to adjust this recipe.  Only two points.  I like the idea of eating it for breakfast too.  Lately I notice that I like my breakfast foods most of all.  I eat them for lunch and dinner sometimes.  I made these Oatmeal Cups from Roni last week, and I absolutely love them.  I adjusted the recipe a tiny bit because I didn’t have any bananas, so will post my recipe under my Recipes page.

I have been doing well on my eating lately, and have had some real victories.  Pastaqueen wrote about the problem of junk food in the breakroom at work, which is a real problem for me.  She made a rule that she could only take a piece of something at the end of the day when there wouldn’t be the opportunity/temptation to go back for seconds and thirds.  I love that idea.  I put it into practice last week.  I even put my lunchbox in the charge nurse’s office and told them I couldn’t go in the breakroom because there was a chocolate cake with blue lard icing in there, and I can’t resist that stuff.  So the waiting until the end of the day thing worked great, because the cake was gone by the end of the day!  I was a little disappointed, but it wasn’t nearly as bad as the angst and discouragement I experience when I eat 4 pieces of the lard cake.

I also followed Mizfit‘s advice (she talked about thinking of eating out as being about them doing all the chopping and prepwork and cleaning up afterward), and went out to eat, with the preconceived plan of what to order:  a salad with the dressing on the side, and allowed for ONE piece of bread.  And this was at a place that has amazing pizza.  But I was able to ignore that pretty easily because I have been eating those flatbread pizzas (see a previous post) also an idea from Roni.  Still, it bugged me to pay $14 for a small relatively plain salad and one piece of bread, oh, and a cup of coffee.  As I said to my friend, I guess I just have to think of it as paying them rent.  I’m not going to eat out much, though.

Well, how bout that?  I have lots more to say (guess I got my mojo back, Jill…or is it my muse-LOL) but this is long enough, so I will end with a picture of Sophie trying to look invisible on my bed.  She cracks me up.  She goes to bed early and hopes I won’t notice her because she has to sleep in a crate at night because, like me, she has to pee in the middle of the night.  Oh, boy, I can hardly wait til someone decides I need to sleep in a crate at night…

3 thoughts on “Blog Acedia

  1. Man, I WAS beginning to think maybe you had gone into hibernation or something. And you stole my idea for my next blog with the Acedia thing. I did manage to buy the Katahleen Norris book on the subject on CD, to listen to on my way/back to school. I taped that quote Carol has on her blog ab/ things to do to avoid acedia, on my bathroom mirror. My girls went in to use the bathroom, and came out (all 4 of them at different times) saying, “Shovel manure??” Geesh.

    And what is blue lard icing?

Leave a Reply

