What an Adventure!

I’ve done quite a bit of trying out new recipes lately, sometimes tweaking them to suit my way of eating, and sometimes tweaking them to use what I already have in my house.  Yesterday I made the Pumpkin Custard, and I tweaked the recipe quite a bit–partly because I didn’t have all the ingredients listed, and then because I wanted to see if I could get the recipe down to one point.  It was really delicious, and I wanted to eat more of it.  Then for lunch, I made a ‘Skillet Scramble.’  I had some scooped out baked potato innards, and I had in mind to make some scrambled eggs and ‘fried potatoes’ with them, and there on Roni’s blog was another great recipe idea.  Again, I tweaked it to use what I had at home, but it was fabulous.  It ended up being 5 points, which I wasn’t all that happy about, but it was definitely worthy.  Here’s a link to Roni’s recipe.  And I will post my recipe on my recipes page.  BTW, sorry about the recipe page.  It’s rather basic, no organization to it.  Someday, I will spend some time figuring out how to make it more user friendly.

Anyways, while I was making this recipe with Eggbeaters, and then eating it and finding it absolutely delicious and satisfying, I was thinking about how I could make skeptical ‘newbie’ dieters try Eggbeaters.  I was so dead set against using them for so many years.  I don’t really like eggs all that well, and I just thought they were weird artificial food for old people.  Then when I started baking low-cal, a lot of my recipes called for egg whites.  That was the first time I realized that most of the calories in an egg are in the yolk, and most of the protein in the egg is in the whites.  And VERY SLOWLY, I started to think that maybe the taste that I didn’t like so well in eggs was actually in the yolk.  Now, I have my own chickens, but they are on strike, so I started buying Eggbeaters.  And this was the VERY FIRST TIME I actually ate Eggbeaters!  So anyways, it all just made me start thinking about this adventure of learning to eat new foods, new combinations of foods, experimenting to take a few calories out here and there without sacrificing the taste.  It took quite a bit of time (still does) and there has been lots of ‘chicken food’ along the way (that’s what I call stuff I have made that is too bad to eat-I feed it to the chickens.) 

But come on, people.  Here’s what I ate today.  I defy you to find that I am deprived eating this kind of great stuff!

Breakfast:  Cinnamon toast, grapes and cottage cheese, coffee

Lunch:  Skillet Scramble, Berry Oatmeal cup

Snack:  Pumpkin Custard w/Lite cool whip

Dinner:  Rosemary Lemon Roasted chicken breast, corn on the cob, brocolli

Dessert/Snack (very important, because I wanted to have something fun to eat while watching Dancing with the Stars):  chocolate cake w/Cool Whip Lite, and Kettle Corn (Jiffy Pop Healthy, of course)

All this stuff was 23 1/2 points!

5 thoughts on “What an Adventure!

  1. Yum! That sounds really good. I love EggBeaters, but I don’t buy them as often as I used to. I used to eat a lot of omelets, and EB are so handy to have when you need something quick!!

    I’m going to have to try the pumpkin custard – sounds really good!

  2. Nice menu! I like 1 omega-3 egg plus egg whites out of a carton. I gotta have at least one real egg. But the liquid egg whites are an easy way to have more egg volume without losing flavor. I also love Roni’s website. I’ll have to check out her latest.

  3. Hi Debby –

    Thanks for the great comment on my blog. It’s nice to meet you!

    I hope you’ll post some photos of your crafty projects… I’d love to see them.

    YUM – your meals sound fabulous! WW is so easy to stick to – once we stop saying, “I can’t!” 😉

Leave a Reply

