Fascinating

Lori tagged me to write 6 interesting facts about myself.  Since I had done this a while back, I looked up those things, and was just going to copy them here, but I woke up this morning trying to think of more ‘fascinating’ things about myself.  So I will give it a try.

1.  I was obsessed with purebred dogs growing up.  I used to make my sister listen to me list all 125 breeds of AKC dogs after we got into our bunk beds at night.  (Pay no attention to her comments to this blog, haha!)  

2.  I had a list of at least 25 different breeds I wanted to own when I ‘grew up.’  So far I have owned German Shepherds, Cocker Spaniels, Standard Poodles, Maltese, Shih Tzu, Lhasa Apso, Bouvier Des Flandres, Doberman Pincher, and Dachshunds.  I still have a ways to go!

3.  Ha, Lori.  One of your comments reminded me of something.  My dad was the principal of the Jr. High School I attended.  With a last name like Schnabel…well, you can just imagine some of the things that were said.  But one that I actually thought was funny and clever was “Schnabels wobble but they don’t fall down!”

4.  My dad (whom I love) called me “Chubbers” as a kid.  Ughh…could this have been the beginning of the problem?

5.  My brother and I opened a pet shop together!  It was such fun.  We were naive enough to think that we could both put in $5000 and make a go of it. We actually might have made it if life hadn’t gotten in the way…he got married and I went back to college.

6.  Well, this wasn’t so bad.  For number 6, I am actually going to write about what I had been planning to write about for a while.  I made a decision about a month ago that I was going to lose the last 30 pounds.  It was when I was up at Tahoe, and I really wanted to run, but knew that it would really hurt my back if I did, so I just walked fast.  But it was as if God said, Maybe, if you lose this last bit, you might be able to run again.  And maybe it is time to go back to Weight Watchers for the ‘in person’ accountability.  So, I am determined to continue on, making small changes until weight loss occurs.  I think it is really going to be very slow.  Since I made that decision I have only lost 2.6 pounds.  So, besides my W.W. leader, I have only told a few people at work and a couple of friends about this decision.  And now you, my bloggy world. I am not a big fan of accountability!  As you can imagine, being single my whole life, I don’t have to practice it as often as most of you.  But I know its value.  So that’s it.  My new goal is 133, which is 6 pounds less than w.w. goal of 139 for me.  

So there it is.  My big announcement.  I am excited and determined, and hope I make it to that goal before I am 80, Jill!

3 thoughts on “Fascinating

  1. Debby, I am SOOO excited for you! Making that commitment is huge! I too secretly wonder whether I’ll be able to run once I have dropped a little more weight. It seems like every time I try something starts hurting. Maybe 20 lbs less on the ankles would be a good thing for me. I’m pulling for you.

    PS Can you still name all 125 breeds? 😉

  2. Debbie – congrats on your new commitment!

    And your question about getting old photos on the computer. We have a scanner, so I scanned them in – then saved the files as jpegs. Pretty straight forward. Another alternative is to take a picture of the pictures with a digital camera. If your camera is a good one, they will come out pretty decent. (Mine is not 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

