This n’ That, and a Merry Christmas!

Hey all,  how are your pre-Christmas days going?  I have to say, that as much as I have said about simplifying and slowing down, it is very hard for me to do.  Like last night, there was nothing on TV, nothing left in blogland that I wanted to watch and/or read, so I started to go through all my old videos to look for a fun movie to watch.  The whole time I’m thinking, just follow your own advice.  Turn the stuff off, and just sit quietly.  Which I FINALLY did.  And it was wonderful.  Still in mid-Christmas clean, but I sat  and knitted (okay, I can’t sit completely still) and looked at my pretty Christmas tree.  99% of the time I am so thankful for being thinner and having so much more energy, but when I can’t stop, it frustrates me sometimes.  I ran across this quote in a book I was reading this morning.

      Because we do not rest we lose our way….Poisoned by the hypnotic belief that good things come only through unceasing determination and tireless effort, we can never truly rest.  And for want of rest our lives are in danger.      Wayne Muller

So speaking of cleaning, I have come to the conclusion that I have as much of a problem with cleaning as I had with eating poorly.  There is something seriously wrong with me.  I get overwhelmed by the ‘piles’ and despair that I will ever figure out where to put stuff, and so I put off starting cleaning FOREVER, and then when I go for it, it doesn’t take that long.  Anyone know about a housecleaner’s anonymous meeting???

I have an important question.  I am thinking about getting a camcorder, and when I checked I was impressed with the price (and it comes in pink 🙂  )  Anyone know about this brand–Sony Flip Ultra?

Over in the sidebar I have added a new page–Recommended Reading.  It has some of my most favorite spiritual books (many of the ones mentioned in my Christmas talk), and some of my favorite weight loss books, and a few favorite sites to watch sermons online (I know, I’m weird, but I reallly do like listening to sermons by really great pastors.  And these guys are GREAT.)

I was all excited to give you a new recipe for 1 point egg nog, but it wasn’t worthy.  I will work on it and maybe have something by Monday.  But it’ll probably be 2 points…In the meantime, here is a great video to get you in the Christmas spirit:

7 thoughts on “This n’ That, and a Merry Christmas!

  1. Hi Debbie! I know what you mean, sometimes it’s hard for me to settle down in the evening, too. Knitting by the tree sounds really soothing.

    I’ll have to check out ours at home…not sure if it’s a Sony, but we found a similar device (it looks identical to this one) a couple of years ago on sale and got it for our son. It’s great! Very durable (he’s dropped it, taped it to the top of remote control cars for some car’s-eye-view footage, and the like). Decent quality picture. Can’t beat the size, and it’s easier to use than our regular camcorder. Ours only holds 30 minutes, though.

  2. Just a quick note–Costco has a camcorder on sale for around $60-70 but it’s only thru Saturday. Check online–I don’t remember the name, etc. but they’re taking some $ off the price.

  3. I’m not sure why my name isn’t liked to my blog! Hopefully it will this time 🙂

    If you perfect that eggnog, do share. I went 22 years without ever trying it, and finally did last year. I absolutely ADORE it. Although the calories don’t agree with me!!! 🙂

  4. My parents have the flip and they LOVE it! It is a great thing to have. I hear you on the cleaning thing. Laundry is a bug a boo as well as my fridge. Have a great rest of your week!

Leave a Reply

