SIMPLIFY?

 

jpg

Hi all.  If you recall a few posts ago, I highly recommended simplifying your life.  I really do believe that this is true, and is important.  My sister, who doesn’t let me get away with anything, commented when she was here, “do you think that your Christmas decorating kinda goes against the ‘simplify’ concept?”  And I said, “I am aware, I am aware…”  I mean, I love all my collections.  I collect beautiful ornaments.  I collect Santas.  I collect snow globes.  In the past, I collected with a vengeance.  Not so much in the past few years.  And really, most times I do think it is absolutely silly to have boxes full of little ‘treasures’ that you cart in and out of the house, and rearrange your whole house to display these little ‘treasures’ for 3 weeks out of the year (of course in my case, the display can sometimes last 3 months….)  But I think they are beautiful.  I enjoy the creativity and artistry  and workmanship put into each little treasure.  Many of them have sentimental value to me.  Some just make me laugh.  The best part of decorating for Christmas is that it forces me to do a really good cleaning…it makes me think twice before I clutter things up again.  I am more likely to clean up and put away so it will still look nice the next day.  So I thought I’d share some of my decorations with you over the next few days.

simplify

This whole corner makes me laugh.  Last spring, I made a grand declaration that I was going to simplify, and that meant NO unnecessary shopping.  Only, I went on a trip, and then I went in a store to find a bathroom, and the store was full of the most wonderful stuff, and then I spotted this sign, that stated so eloquently what I wanted to do, and so I had to break the NO unnecessary shopping rule, and buy the sign to remind me of my NO unnecessary shopping rule.  Most of the pictures were given to me by dear friends, and they all go together so well.  I really do like this little corner.  It is where I sit and do my computer stuff, and read good books and my Bible.

Hey, here is that light eggnog recipe I said I was working on.  I think it is quite excellent, and if the computer site I looked at is true, regular store-bought eggnog is about 350 calories and 19 grams of fat for 1 cup.  This recipe has about 130 calories and 2 grams of fat per cup.

LIGHT EGGNOG

1 1/2 cups 1% milk

1/2 cup eggbeaters

1/2 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp rum flavoring

1/8 tsp nutmeg

1 Tbsp splenda

Place all in blender and blend well.  Makes 2 servings.

 

Merry Christmas, All!  Simplify, and take time to enjoy the glory of the season.

8 thoughts on “SIMPLIFY?

  1. I must add here that I L-O-V-E all Debby’s decor, because she has such a gift for putting things together so beautifully. But I did look up at that sign while I was there and was kinda laughing to myself ab/ the paradox! I have nothing to brag about and have waaaayyyy too many “things,” too. And I don’t decorate nearly as well as Debby does.

  2. I lOVE your Christmas decorations. In 4 years I have managed to acquire boxes adn boxes of Christmas stuff. I, too, should probably work on simplifying in that area… but it just makes my heart happy to see all the beautiful decorations! I especially love my Willow Tree nativity 🙂

    Thanks for the eggnog recipe; I will most definitely be trying this, once I hit the store for some eggbeaters and run flavoring!

  3. I think christmas trees are the one place where you don’t have to simplify. Aren’t trees really a reflection of all years past? So many ornaments that represent different parts of one’s life and they are just a joy to look at.

    I like your tree!

    Thanks for the eggnog recipe!

  4. YOur tree is so pretty!!!

    And I can’t wait to try this eggnog recipe. I LOVE eggnog, so this will be a welcome recipe!! And I guess it’s okay to replace the rum flavoring with actual rum?! 😉

  5. I’ve gone through phases with my Christmas decoration, and I’m definitely in a simplify stage right now. I have several boxes of decor in the basement, but this year I did just three things: the tree, wreaths on the doors and decorating the front window. I’m so pleased with the result that I plan to go through the rest of the boxes downstairs and purge. Focusing mostly on the tree allowed me to relax and really enjoy unpacking the ornaments I’ve collected over the years.

Leave a Reply

