Oops…

It all started when I ate my ‘drive home popcorn’ on the way to work.  I knew it would be trouble.  But I was sleepy and I needed something to munch on, I thought.  And I had that crappy popcorn in my locker at work for emergencies.

By the end of the day I thought, challenge yourself.  See if you can make it home without your popcorn to munch on all the way home.  (Remember, people, I work 12 hour shifts, and I commute 1 1/2 hours to work.)

Well, yeah, the answer is, of course I can make it home without my popcorn.  After all, I can get one of those giant hot dogs at Costco, and eat the whole thing and then follow it up with FIVE cookies and a walnut stuffed date.  No problem.  Who needs that healthy pop popcorn, anyway?  (The cookies came in a package in my mail that I picked up on my way home.)  My best friend’s  daughter-in-law (the woman behind the famous saying “a cookie is just a delivery mechanism for frosting”) is a cookie baker extraordinaire, and she sent me a sampler package of the most amazing cookies ever.  Really.  Quite amazing.  That is, if you like butter and sugar.  Yes. amazing.  Does anyone have a treadmill that I can live on for the next 48 hours?

Well, the remainder of the cookies are now safely abiding in the freezer, where I seem to have some semblance of control over what I eat.  And I am off to work out at Curves before going to meet my mom and sister for a little pre-Christmas celebration of sorts.  We are eating at one of my favorite restaurants, so I might eat a little more than I should, but my food intake up until then will be in control and limited!

Here are some more of my favorite Christmas ornaments. More birds and a bird feeder.  I love the little pink snow lady hiding behind the bird feeder.  The Canadian goose is new this year.  I got him on one of those trips to Lake Tahoe earlier this fall.

pinkdoll

Isn’t this zebra silly?  Can you see the little bird that is attached to his back?

zebrz

 

It seems like they are all my favorites.  But these two really are.  The coke bottle is one I got in the early 80’s when I was a confirmed ‘classic coke’ girl.  And the parrot is probably the oldest ornament I have–from my mom’s ornament collecting days.  It is so fragile that little bits seem to come off every year.  I think it is amazing something so old and so fragile could last through the years.

coke

 

More birds.  But the main thing is the little ice skating girl.  She is the first ornament my mom got for me–wow, I guess that would almost make her an antique–about 50 years old!  (That seems weird to me–I mean I know that I am 54, but to have a toy that I remember getting as a child, and it is 50 YEARS old?)

iceskater

 

New food combo I tried this morning:  Dannon Lite n Fit Carb n Sugar Control vanilla yogurt, with 1/2 apple diced, 4 walnut halves, a SMALL sprinkle of granola, and 1 date cut into pieces on top.  DIVINE!

4 thoughts on “Oops…

  1. uh oh – sounds like a good day, except for the cookie issue! But it wasn’t a irreversible thing, and you were well behaved, climbed right up and went to the gym!

    Enjoy your pre-Christmas celebration 🙂

  2. I love bird ornaments too, and I buy a new one every year. I have wooden ones, glass ones, pewter ones, and a few handmade ones that the kids did in preschool. I have a really hard time getting rid of old ornaments, so my tree is very crowded, as well. I figure you only do it once a year, so why not put it all out there. I don’t really care if anyone else likes it. I love it, so once a year, this can be for me.

  3. I discovered the anti-food advantages of IPODS in November. My kids have IPODS and my son loaded his with NPR things that I love – This American Life, Wait Wait Don’t Tell Me, Car Talk, and Science Fridays. We listened to one during the 2 1/2 hour (one way) trip to take him back to school. As I got ready to leave and drive home ( 2 1/2 hours) by myself after thanksgiving – he showed me how to use it and told me to take his so I would have something to listen to on the way home. Then at home – he walked me thru loading more to listen to when I picked him up last week. I loaded enough so that we also had things to listen to on the way back with him. So I have now made three 2 1/2 hour trips with the IPOD and it totally replaces the need to munch as I drive. The 2 1/2 hour trips seem like under an hour. The time just flies. I laugh. I am totally drawn in to the stories.

Leave a Reply

