Whoa, Nellie!

Am I dating myself by using that phrase?  Anyways, my body kinda said ‘hold your horses’ on the unlimited sweets thing.  As always, WAY too much really great tasting junk shows up in the breakroom this time of year…and I had at least one of each.  But the main thing I really noticed this year was that whatever it was I was eating, it was NEVER enough.  I would thoroughly enjoy each bite of whatever cookie or candy I was eating, but when it was done, I wanted one more, no matter how full I was, or how bad my stomach felt.  Whereas, when I eat one of my planned ‘healthy’ snacks (i.e. pumpkin custard,)  when it is done, I am done.  I am satisfied.  I guess I kinda knew this a bit, because 98% of the time, when I am thinking about what I want sweets-wise, I will go through ALL the choices, but I end up picking the healthy one because I know I will be satisfied when I am done.  But for some reason, I was really surprised at how concrete my DISSATISFACTION was when I allowed myself to eat the goodies at work.  Lesson learned, I hope.

My plans to travel for Christmas this year kinda fell through.  And I am so happy to be having a Christmas in my own home for once.  It will be a quiet one.  I am going to our candlelight service tonight at church.  And tomorrow, a relaxing day of cooking, and my sister is going to come up in the late afternoon for dinner.  I am really looking forward to that.  AND, now I have 2 weeks off work and my whole plan is to stay home, quilt to my heart’s content, and really put in some serious exercise!

Again, have a Wonderful and Merry Christmas!

dsc00456Debby and two of the ‘bad little girls

5 thoughts on “Whoa, Nellie!

  1. It is a great picture. I have been enjoying all your pictures!

    I always feel so sorry for nurses that try to watch what they eat – that break room junk is so plentiful!

    Have a wonderful two weeks! (there is a man at yoga that took off from the week of thanksgiving and until the week after New Years – he says he does that every year).

Leave a Reply

