The Big Reveal

Well, my friends, I have been looking forward to this post, and dreading it at the same time.  Looking forward to it because all this time I have been blogging, and claiming I have lost all this weight (100 pounds) and none of you have ever seen my before picture.  Really, I could just be some weirdo who gets their kicks pretending to have been fat (that would REALLY be a very weird weirdo.)  So, I have wanted to share a before picture with you for a long time.  But the longer it went on, and the more I got to know some of you, I started to realize that I was not so anxious to share my ‘before’ picture.  After all, you are a whole group of friends who only know me at my current, semi-normal weight.  I kinda liked that.  But it wouldn’t be a weightloss blog without before and after pictures.  So after having a few problems downloading pictures, I finally got it done.  And then I decided that New Year’s Day would be the perfect time to do this.

 First it was hard to find any decent ‘before’ pictures–really, you’re not a big fan of any pictures that are taken of you when you weigh that much.    Second, they were all taken before I or anyone I knew had a digital camera.  So all the ones I could find were just 3X5 glossy photos.  I ended up taking a picture of the picture.  This picture of me is pretty old–by the ages of my nieces, I would guess it is about 15 years ago.  But I managed to maintain the same weight for a very long time–usually 257 pounds.

 

before

 

Most of you have seen a few after pictures of me here and there in the blog.  I looked through all my pictures, looking for one full length, and couldn’t find one I liked.  I like this one, even though there is a disembodied arm draped around my neck–just a friend at a quilt show.

I think this picture was taken at my lowest weight, 155 pounds.  Something I am continuing to work back towards.  You wouldn’t think 6-8 pounds would be that hard to lose.  Anyways, I plan to continue to ‘clean up’ my eating in 2009, and to continue to challenge myself with new exercises and activities.  I really hope to be more consistent in my exercise.  I am really enjoying blogging, and I might be able to add a video or two in the new year(!)–I got that flip camcorder, and it is pretty cool.  In non-weight related areas, I hope to improve my art quilting, and to work consistently on it, and I want to read more, and study God’s word more, and be willing to go where He leads me.

Best wishes for a wonderful, health-filled New Year, my friends!

 

aftertwo

10 thoughts on “The Big Reveal

  1. This is really quite amazing to look at! And I am very proud of you, too. I’m sure I don’t say that often enough, but I hope you know it. Hmm…should 2009 be the year for me to think about losing weight? I’ll have to think long and hard on that one. I’ll let you know. In the meantime, HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!!

  2. Debby, you did a wonderful job. I know it took hard work and determination, I have lost a lot too and I know what it takes. I am glad you put the pics up. They will inspire others to creat before and afters for their lives. Good job.

    The pics gave me the chils. Awesome. http://run4change.wordpress.com

  3. Oh my gosh! That’s amazing!! Sometimes its one thing to hear a number, but when you see it in real life, it blows you away… that’s one of those times for me 🙂 You have done awesome; and you can see in your smile how happy you are. You just SHINE. 🙂

  4. Wow – great minds think alike. I was just thinking yesterday about posting some before and after pics too!

    I would never guess that those two photos are the same person – you should be so proud of all the hard work that went in to losing the weight. And I love your hair in the second pic – so pretty!! =)

    The rabbit ears are cracking me up – we all have one of those pics don’t we?

    Have I told you lately how awesome you are? No? Then consider yourself told! =)

  5. Thank you all for all the nice comments. I think it is important for me to look at the pictures and remember. The mind is weird. When I was that heavy I really did not see myself that way. And now, sometimes, when I am sitting around, I feel like I am just as fat as I ever was. And for a minute, I think nothing has changed, including the way I eat and the way I move.

    Yah, Jill…great minds! love that saying. The rabbit ears…you would have thought there was a second picture taken at the same time without the rabbit ears, but evidently not. When I took a picture of the picture, the flash obliterated my other niece’s face–she was doing the obligatory eye-roll!

  6. Wow! Thanks for sharing these pictures. I find them very inspiring. I did notice that you’ve got the same terrific smile, though.

    I know what you mean…I was kind of oblivious to how large I had gotten, but now feel just as large at times. I guess it takes awhile for the brain to catch up.

  7. Debby, thanks so much for sharing with us. Your pictures are tremendously motivating, I am so glad that you decided to post them, it was very selfless of you! Happy 2009.

Leave a Reply

