Fun with Food

Since I am doing a ‘home vacation’ I have had lots of time to read blogs, and lots of time to cook.  And I have had some really successful food experiments.  First I tried Vickie’s recipe for salmon and spinach.  That just sounded so good to me when I read it on her blog…again, something I would have turned my nose up at in my former life.  But I tried it, and it was FANTASTIC.  Couldn’t have been easier.  I followed her directions exactly, except I had fresh spinach.  And I think I would have chosen to chop the fresh spinach before I put it on top of the fish.  I did 1/2 of the recipe, so I think the cooking time was less.

Then I read over on Tigerlily’s blog about a chili recipe that she made.  And it just sounded so delicious.  So I made a version of it.  I thought it might interest you non-cookers to see how you can adjust a recipe and still have it turn out great.  Her recipe called for ground turkey, which I did not have.  I used my ground sirloin, still very lean.   No peppers, left those out.  Found one can of black beans–that’ll do.  No tomato paste…no big deal.  Didn’t have a raw sweet potato, but I did have those leftover ‘candied’ sweet potatoes that I made for Christmas.   No problem, just washed the syrup off of them!  What I did have that was not called for in the recipe was 2 cups of a soup made from a mix called ‘cheesy enchilada soup.’  It was good, and only 2 points per cup, but it was WAY too salty, and so I knew I wouldn’t eat it again.  But I thought the flavor would go well with ‘chili.’  Anyways, what I made was ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS,  and I estimated was about 4 points for a big bowlful.  I will print the two recipes side by side so you can see the difference.

Turkey and Bean Chili   (8 servings)                                                    

           (from Tigerlily)

1 lb ground turkey breast                                                 
1 large Onion                                                                      
2 red bell peppers                                                              
4 large cloves of garlic                                                    
3 tblspns tomato paste
2 tblspns chili powder                                                      
1 tblspn ground cumin                                                     
1 tspn dried oregano                                                        
1 tspn salt
1 large sweet potato, peeled and cut                             
1 (28 oz) can diced tomatoes                                         
1 (14 oz) can chicken broth                                           
2 (15 oz) cans mixed beans for chili, rinsed and drained                      
1 zucchini, chopped  

Debby’s Chili     (5 servings)  

8 oz. ground sirloin                                                        
3/4 medium onion
 2 tsp olive oil (trying to add  more healthy oils into my cooking)
 sprinkle dried roasted garlic
1 Tbsp chili powder
1’2 Tbsp ground cumin
approx. 1/4 of a large sw. potato, pre-cooked, cut into bite size pieces
1/2 tsp dried oregano
15 oz can diced tomatoes w/roasted garlic
 2 cups leftover ‘cheesy enchilada’ soup
1 15 oz. can black beans, most of liquid drained
2 small zucchini, chopped

You can follow the cooking directions on Tigerlily’s blog.  I cooked it a little less, because I was not putting raw sweet potato into it.  And I added the sweet potato at the very end, since it was already very well cooked.  If I hadn’t had the sweet potato, I think butternut squash would have been delicious.  I was also going to add a can of green beans, but I didn’t think it was necessary at the end.  AND, I think carrots would have been delicious in this also.  Again, chili is something I never would have eaten in the olden days.  I just didn’t like any kind of soup.  And no beans.   But I actually liked those little black beans in this chili.  It was really nice on a drizzly, cold day.


Earlier in the week I made some of my favorite ‘Sweet n’ Spicy Zucchini Bread’ which I can’t believe is not already posted in my side bar.  It is one of my all time favorites.  And what I was going to say was that the recipe calls for 1 cup of grated zucchini, but I have gotten into the habit of putting 2 or so cups into it, and I like it just as well, and of course it seems like I am getting a lot more to eat.  It is only 1 point for a small piece, or 2 points for a large piece.  I will try to post the recipe tomorrow morning.

I’m back on track!
6 thoughts on “Fun with Food

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog. Since you just found me, you don’t know…hubby was just diagnosed with type 2 diabetes. I’ve been on a low carb diet for 6 months, and I guess I over did it, was having bad headaches for couple of months, went to the dr. who first thought it was sinus infection. Took a round of antibiotics, but still had headaches, when I went back to the dr they did ct scan and no sinus infection (or anything else) showed up. I mentioned to dr. that my blood sugar was 26 when I tested it with hubby’s new blood sugar tester. She dais the headaches were probably from that, and that is why I am tracking my blood sugar. I take it every morning before I eat, and ye, 33 is very low. 😦 I am watching what I eat much better, though, and have increased my carbs and calorie intake. I don’t want to gain back any of the weight I lost.

Leave a Reply

