A Totally Selfish Blog Entry

I wasn’t going to post today, but I checked Roni’s blog and found she was doing this great giveaway, and I REALLY REALLY WANT A NEW FOOD SCALE!  Here is the link to the scale she is giving away:

Check out the scale giveaway on Roni’s Weight Loss Blog! I can win anAffordable Food Scale from Eat Smart and so can you! Click here for contest details!

In other news, my weight is really up, and I am really trying to hunker down and eat just exactly what I should eat:  nutritious food fuel, and not too much.  Today I really ate well.  Wrote down everything, and only ate exactly what I planned.  I even checked off everything on the bottom of the weightwatchers food journal:  3 milks, 5 fruits and veggies, and 2 proteins.  Drank plenty of water.  23 points for the day, if I don’t eat more than what’s planned for the evening dessert/snack.  BTW, this is a delicious way to have a dessert.  Take a Vitatop muffin, and crumble it in a dessert dish (1/2 point.)  Make your cook and serve SF FF pudding, and pour 1/2 cup  (1 point) over the crumbled ‘cake’ while the pudding is hot.  Mmmm Mmmm–instant pudding cake!

I didn’t exercise today, but I really got a lot of little house cleaning/organizing things done around here.  It felt like a really good day.  Oh, yeah, my BF had a sore throat this morning so didn’t feel like talking, and we are planning a big quilt project to work on together, so I made a video for her and emailed it.  She really liked it, so maybe I will get my courage up to make one for you guys pretty soon.

That’s all for now.  Maybe tomorrow I will do a more worthy post.  Hoping to get my Amazon shipment–2 exercise dvd’s, and Dietgirl’s book!

8 thoughts on “A Totally Selfish Blog Entry

  1. “In other news, my weight is really up, and I am really trying to hunker down and eat just exactly what I should eat…”

    Just thought I’d drop by and offer a few words of encouragement. You can do it! Just pretend it’s the start of a new year and … oh, wait. It is the start of a new year!

  2. hey woman.

    how about shifting the mindset a tad? not much just morphing it into:

    I AM TRYING TO GIVE MY BODY WHAT IT IS CRAVING AND NEEDS TO RUN SMOOTHLY AND ENERGETICALLY.

    I tend to use the word hunker a lot and, for me, it rings more like…punishment?
    does that make sense?

    you know where to find me…

  3. Good luck with the scale drawing. I won’t enter, so that increases your chance to win!

    Debby – I think I was detecting a bit of panic in your post. I know you’ve been dealing with a lot of stress lately. If you ever want to shoot me an email just to chitchat, you can!

  4. I am not entering either – so that’s two more chances!

    Give yourself credit for getting on the scale and knowing you are up and then immediately refocusing to DO something about it. Denial is half the battle for most of us (I think so anyway).

  5. Don’t worry Debs, you’re not alone. I’ve gained weight too, but I think that’s pretty common in winter monts. Plus the stress doesn’t help either, but you’ve already got a handle on it and you are moving forward. That’s the hardest part right there. You are going to be fine!!

  6. Like Jill said, you’re not alone! It’s a tough time of year, that’s for sure. I had a tasty, filling dinner and still crunched down a couple of handfuls of almonds on autopilot after talking to my step-dad about my mom’s status…before realizing that I was stress-eating crunchy things and switching to carrots.

    (P.S. Hope you win the food scale!)

  7. As soon as I saw “food fuel” I thought of Miz and there she was in the comments! Yeah for your resolve! As I told another blogger a minute ago, how easy it would be to just give up, but you’re not and that’s what makes you cool 😉

    Good luck with the food scale, too.

Leave a Reply

