Mission Accomplished

Oh brother.  Right after I posted a comment on Jill’s blog about the weather being great outside (64 degrees–sorry ’bout that, my frozen friends) and having no excuse to NOT take a walk except ‘I DON’ WANNA,’ my 81 year old dad calls.  And I really don’t know what’s got into him, but after me badgering him for 4 years to take a walk, and him resolutely refusing, he has decided to start walking.  Three days in a row, no less!  And today he informs me that he walked for half an hour.  He took his walker, and he had to stop 3 times to sit and rest.  But my dad walked for half an hour!  So of course, I had NO EXCUSE left for not exercising.  So me and the four K9 units headed out the door and got in 3 miles.  It was very nice, I have to admit.  And not really very hard.

Of course, part of the time I was thinking about what I was going to eat tonight.  Even after I got home I changed my mind about 5 times.  It wasn’t so much about trying to eat better, or less calories, but more about just choosing what I really want out of a lot of good choices.  My eating has been perfection again today, but as I confessed to Jill, yesterday someone plopped down 2 big buckets of mini candy bars in the breakroom, and I just couldn’t leave them alone.

This flip flop in my eating activities is exhausting, irritating, and just befuddling.  I don’t think it will ever really end.  But hopefully it can be managed, and I will eventually learn to be content with that.  Because being content is a big thing to me.  

Blogs on this topic that really spoke to me:  Dietgirl’s interview over on Lyn’s blog.  My bloggie friend Jill talking about moving forward..  And this post I really liked by Diana.  She talks about losing weight and eating well, and says ‘if it was easy, everyone would do it.  Brilliant.

Oh, oh, oh, speaking of brilliant.  I just read this on Vickie’s blog.  It might be the world’s shortest and most brilliant blog entry ever.  I hope all of you will read it and think about what it means for you.

So onwards and upwards, people.  That shred better come in the mail tomorrow!

4 thoughts on “Mission Accomplished

  1. I entirely agree with Vickie.
    A friend here always quotes me to me because she HATED when I initially said to her:

    your bod is created in the kitchen.

    it’s exercise, sure, but we can so easily negate all that.

    and so quickly.

  2. Great work on walking the 3 miles and the eating perfection! keep up the great work! Fantastic motivating factor: your father. I love when I try to instruct my parents to do something that would benefit their health and they actually listen!! Such a great feeling!

    Have a great day!
    ~rupal

  3. Congrats to your Dad!! That’s awesome!

    I don’t think the flipflopping with food ever changes. Only the attitude towards it changes.

    And great job on working out, even when you had decided not to!

Leave a Reply

