Lions and Tigers and Bears, Oh My!

Or in exercise language–Jillian and Violet and Leslie, Oh My!  To answer my own question about exercise DVD’s–yes, I think they are a good workout.  They don’t let you slow down and take your time, like I sometimes do on my walks or at Curves.

The Shred finally came in the mail today, and I stuck it in the computer.  I actually thought I would ace it.  After all, I work out at Curves and do pretty darn good, and I have worked out with weights periodically.  In fact, I still had my 10 pound dumbells at the ready…

But Jillian never lets up.  She just keeps you moving.  And unlike some of my bloggy compadres, I thought that 20 minutes was never going to end.  But its all good.  And, after all, think about the rewards.  In 30 days I’ll look like one of those girls working out behind Jillian, right?  Keep a lookout-I’ll post an ‘after’ picture in 30 days. Am I supposed to do this every single day?  And the Violet Zaki workout looks similar, only she has that nice Australian accent. Plus she included a card to get free issues of Cooking Light magazine.  And I love magazines…

Okay, I’m not gonna get graphic on you guys, but I can’t do those jumping jacks.  I jump around, but my arms are in a fixed position, if you know what I mean.

In other news, except for the house being a mess, it was an excellent day.  I finished a quilt block for a challenge me and my friend are doing, and took a nice long walk with the doggies to pick up the mail, which included 3 books and a rug canvas that I had to carry home in a backpack.  I have been well worked out today.  And my eating was great, good food, and no extras.  gonna have one of those great oatmeal bars for dessert.  Yumm.

 Have to work the next two days.  See you guys on Thursday!

10 thoughts on “Lions and Tigers and Bears, Oh My!

  1. loved the title and then the exercise remake of the title!

    I have a couple Gilad’s from fit tv recorded for emergencies – like snowed in or sick kids and they are work too!!!

    I take classes because of the push and the non-stop. And I get that same thing out of DVD’s/recorded – it doesn’t matter if the instructor is not ‘real’ – it still pushes.

    have a good two days of work – drive safely – is your weather better? we warmed up to high 30’s with no wind and yes sun over the weekend and all felt like we could be out in Tshirts and shorts – we have had sub zero for a long time.

  2. Yay! I’m so glad you got the DVD!!

    You had a really busy productive day – I love days like that, but they are few and far between!!

    Have a good 2 days at work!! Kiss those babies for me!! =)

  3. I wish I had time to do the Shred DVD. It sounds like it’s gonna kick your butt in a good way! I’m glad you had a good day with your diet/exercise and all that. It’s so fulfilling to get to the end of the day and know that you’ve been good 🙂

  4. Hi All!

    Yes, Vickie, when I was writing that, I thought about the dvd having the same effects as a class. It’s just that for me, going to classes is not workable in my life right now. When I retire, I hope to become a gym rat, albeit an old, bedraggled gym rat! So, I might just get into the whole workout dvd scene. Plus you can order them from netflix to preview.

    And Amy Jo–butt kicks–that is one of the impossible exercises that Jillian makes you do! But I like the idea of really working out hard. I sure slept extra good last night!

  5. Sounds like a great day! I, too, have a love-hate thing with jumping jacks, and it sounds like for the same reason! Hee hee. That’s kind of cruel, though, to tell us about a quilt block you finished and not post a picture. 😉

  6. Oh my GOSH! Joelle is something ELSE. She just starts talking and I don’t think she has a clue what she’s saying! I’m glad she’s gone.. but I feel bad for her partner 😦
    I get extremely attached to the people on that show.. I laugh with them, cry with them, get angry with them.. it’s a little ridiculous 🙂
    It would be fun to watch and comment on it together – too bad we’re worlds away (and time zones too!)

Leave a Reply

