Fitcourse, Part 2

Continuing on.  I didn’t tell you that when I met with Vickie (my P.T.)  Tuesday, she handed me a sheet of paper with a 4-day ‘Detox’ or cleansing diet.  Oh, brother, I thought to myself.  I don’t want to do some stringent diet or eat ‘weird’ food.  But as she talked on, I looked over the meals that were outlined.  And all of the food sounded delicious to me!  A little different than the food choices I make now, but all good stuff.  It really intrigued me.  And as she said, its only for four days.  You can do anything for four days.  So today was the start of it.

Two hours into it, I was panicking.  I don’t think I can do this for four days, I thought.  It really put a spotlight on something I already sort of knew–that I rely on food for enjoyment a little too much.  It didn’t help that my EVERY MORNING  routine was rudely interrupted–NO CAFFEINE.  As my friend Jill says, “My coffee-love knows no bounds.”  Plus, a big reason I still love my coffee is that I have never given up half and half in my coffee.  And there is no dairy on this diet either.  Let me tell you, there are quite a few of my DAILY foods not on this diet–cottage cheese, popcorn, wheat, oats, splenda, and CHOCOLATE.  Yikes!

But now, at the end of the day, I am oddly content.  Yes, the food was enjoyable, and yes, I did not really get hungry.  But it was great to have a day where every morsel I put in my mouth was planned, and was completely for the nutrition, and oh yeah, all of it tasted good!  

There were 3 meals and 3 snacks on this plan.  Here are a few of the things I had.  Rice cereal–very boring, but not objectionable at all.  BIG salad (I thought of you, Lynn!) with salmon–yummmm!  Walnuts-a fav of mine.  And for dinner a vegetable stir fry with brown rice.  Also delish, and believe it or not, I was too full to eat it all!  For a snack there was my homemade pear sauce with flaxseed (fantastic,) and she suggested warm almond breeze.  I decided to heat it up and put a Good Earth (cinnamon orange spices) teabag in it.  That was also delicious.

Tomorrow’s food sounds even more tasty, and I am anxious to try it.  And that is all there is to it.  Two days of meal plans alternating  days.  This is going to be a great learning experience for me.

4 thoughts on “Fitcourse, Part 2

  1. I love your phrase of being oddly content!!

    more please.
    how are you feeling today? what are todays eats?

    Im really proud of you for not taking one look at the sheet and REBELLING.
    Im notsogood (even now) when told what to do. what to eat.

    you are smart in seeing it as a learning experience.

    Miz.

  2. I did something very similar to this when I VERY FIRST started (can you hear the long ago and far away sound of stringed intruments as you read that?).

    It was a MAJOR eye opener (at that time).

    The eye opening part – was getting my carbs down to (single) servings (and serving size) so that they were proportional to the rest of my food.

    I had a high number too – like 5 or 6 small meals. And that is exactly how I made it (it was two weeks) – the next meal was never very far away. I can remember WHAT a big deal I made out of it – following the schedule and learning to measure servings. That part of it is old hat to you. But for me – THEN – it was such a change.

  3. I’m so excited for you!! I think this sounds like a great opportunity to really get some good information, and knowing you, you’ll follow it for a long time. Keep us posted!!

  4. Never hurts to try something new, and four days isn’t so bad, when it’s a healthy food plan. Like Miz, I’d love to hear more.

    And Good Earth tea in almond breeze? Oooo, I’ll have to try it, it sounds like a yummy take on chai.

Leave a Reply

