C’est Fini!

I did it!  I stuck to the detox diet for four full days.  I was a little tempted to go off and ‘celebrate’ last night, but actually I was too full, and just finished with the snack she had listed (which is delicious and will become a regular part of my repertoire–applesauce and 1 Tbsp flax meal–YUMM!)  I lost 2 pounds, which is gratifying, since the scale has been stuck or going up for weeks, especially considering that I was not deprived or hungry.

And I have to say, I love my blogmies!  Nowhere else could I talk ad nauseam about what I am eating, when I am eating, and how I feel before, during, and after I eat!  And you even were interested, and said ‘tell me more!’

So what I learned from this was mainly, I hope, that I can control what I eat.  I don’t have to have my ‘favorites’ every day.  Simple food is great tasting (I kinda knew that, but it was a good reminder.)  Here’s what I woke up thinking this morning:  I didn’t feel fantastically better, brighter, more energetic, or healthier from eating this way.  And I think that is because I eat pretty darn healthily every day.  

And, the main reason certain foods were eliminated on this diet was because they were foods people were more prone to be allergic to (eggs, soy, wheat, corn, sugar, peanuts, milk) and it says limit oats, yeast, chocolate, tomatoes, potatoes, caffeine, artificial sugar, citrus, shrimp, alcohol, processed foods.  And since I chose to follow it exactly, all those things were eliminated as well.  All that to say, since I didn’t experience an amazing sense of well-being, I guess I can conclude that I am not allergic to any of those things.  Which is good, because I missed my dairy!

Of all the regular foods that I love that were not allowed for 4 days, what I discovered that I missed the most was dairy, specifically cottage cheese.  And secondly, I discovered that I was getting a far bigger energy boost from my morning coffee than I had realized.

What I hope to keep from this experiment?  

  • There’s nothing wrong with eating more veggies.  
  • I don’t have to have chocolate every day AT ALL.  
  • Continue on eliminating sugar from my diet ( I was already doing this.)  Life is more peaceful without sugar.  
  • Consider cutting back on my liberal use of splenda.  
  • And one bowl meals are okay.  That is one bad habit I picked up from the points system.  It is not the points system’s fault, it was my take on the points system.  I tend to want a ‘buffet’ type meal, with several (3-5 different food items at each meal.)  So eventually, if anything was over 3 points, it became too ‘costly’ in my book, and was eliminated from my diet. This thinking eliminated a lot of worthy meals.

Changing to counting calories has been a very good learning experience for me.  Mostly in regards to changing my way of thinking.  Right now I have in my mind that breakfast should be less than 500 calories, lunch less than 400 calories, and dinner less than 300 calories, and that opens up the possibilities of different food choices for me.

Well, all, thanks again for listening to a LOT of food talk!  Yesterday in Sunday School, they asked what was your favorite thing, kind of as an ice breaker.  And I said ‘FOOD!’  To which someone said, oh, I thought it would be your stitching.  And I said, ‘Nope, no contest.  I love food.’

5 thoughts on “C’est Fini!

  1. Ha, Lori, I am laughing at your question because I had planned something else for lunch, but suddenly a bowl of rice and veggies, with an added scrambled egg sounds delicious to me!

  2. I’ve never been good at counting points. All of my weight loss has been from counting calories. Simple – burn more than you take in a day. I try to eat as many fruits and vegetables a day as I can and I NEED chocolate! haha
    It’s hard to get out of the buffet mind set- isn’t it? I still struggle with that.
    GJ!

  3. I’m looking seriously at a 90 day to build your immune system which has many aspects if detox but longer term. As I went through it I was surprised how much I already incorporate into healthy living ….. which I am not doing right now…. nuff said.

    Detox for a few days is a great way to get a kick start when stuck. Congratulations on finishing and enjoying it too.

Leave a Reply

