Reporting In

Had another excellent day.  Took a 3 mile hike with the dogs–the longest I’ve gone for quite a while.  At the end, I did 4 minutes of ‘intervals’ where I jogged for 20 seconds, walked for 10 seconds, and repeated X8.  It is harder than it sounds, but such a good challenge.  While I was out walking I thought about…what else, food.  I decided to have a chocolate banana smoothie for my post-exercise snack.  I adjusted the recipe on the side bar, and it was better than ever.  1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond breeze, 1 frozen banana, 2 egg whites, 2 Tbsp cocoa, and 4 ice cubes.  This is so excellent, and for only 180 calories, a pretty nutritional snack.  It was almost too chocolaty with the 2 Tbsp cocoa!

For lunch, I made ‘fried rice.’  I looked at this big platter of fried rice, and couldn’t believe I could eat this on a diet.  Fried rice has been a favorite of mine since I was a kid.  As a young adult, my mom and I used to go out and just order fried rice between us.  But fried rice these days is usually disappointing–mostly rice with a few frozen veggies, and a bit of meat.  Well, to make this, I used onion, cabbage, carrots, mushrooms, green onions, and frozen peas (all the other vegetables were fresh.)  Just sprayed the pan w/oil spray to start, and cooked the veggies for quite a while, then added 1 tsp. sesame oil, and some soy sauce.  I had 1 ounce of pre-cooked pork tenderloin that I had chopped into small pieces, and 1 cup of rice which I added to the veggies at the very end.  Unbelievable!

Then I did my upper body weight exercises, and one set of interval exercises.  I had a bowl of strawberries with a little fage for my snack.

Dinner was funny.  I had picked up some brocolli beef at Trader Joe’s.  The nutritionals sounded decent, and it just looked delicious.  After my success at lunch, I had had the thought that I could probably do the brocolli beef better than T.J.’s.  So when I fixed it, I added some tomato, which sounded good.  But when I tasted the beef I decided that it was not worthy (more chicken food.)  By now I was tired and hungry, and so I thawed out 2 ounces of my cooked turkey breast, and topped it with a bit of salsa, and avacado.  That was excellent, and only took a minute!  I had it with an ear of corn.

All in all, an excellent day both food and exercise wise.  I feel like the switch has been turned back on again!  I hope it stays on this time.  

I’m off to work for a couple of days.  Have a great weekend!

8 thoughts on “Reporting In

  1. the lowest sodium ‘soy’ that I have been able to find is actually less sodium Teriyaki sauce – at 320 mg per 1 T.

    And then I dilute it by 1/2 with water (so 1 T Teriyaki and 1 T water).

    I don’t know if the soy bothers you or not. Soy is one of the things that I WISH they could find a true low salt alternative (or substitute or something). Even the low salt soy is loaded with sodium (which gives me migraines).

  2. You are on fi-yah!! Keep going girl, and when you have a spare minute, come on over and flip my switch. It has been stuck in the off position far too long.

    🙂

  3. Woo hoo! Go, Debby! That chocolate banana smoothie sounds very tasty; I’ll have to try it. (Need to get to the store and get myself some more Almond Breeze! I’m out! Aaaiiieee!)

Leave a Reply

