Cooking for an Army of One

Yeah, that’s what I did yesterday.  It was kinda fun.  I had a lot of veggies, and I had bought a family pack of boneless, skinless chicken breasts and some pork sirloin steaks (BTW, these seem like a very lean cut, are tasty and tender, and are cheaper than other cuts of pork.)

So yesterday, I fired up the grill, cut the meat into about 4 oz. portions, and put them all on to cook.  In the meantime, I started chopping veggies inside, put 3 servings of rice on to cook, and started stir-frying the veggies, to make my fried rice.  For a wee bit of time, there was a lot of running in and out of the house, but in the end, I had 3 big servings of fried rice, an extra serving of stir-fried veggies, and a LOT of barbequed chicken and pork.  I weighed out 3 oz. of pork to put in the fried rice.  Really, one ounce per serving seems like more than enough.  And then I put all the pork and chicken in ziplock bags, and lay flat in the freezer so it is easy to take out one serving at a time.  I have found that having pre-cooked meat really works well for me for the days when I am tired, or lazy, or don’t want to wash so many dishes.  Also its good to have on hand for work lunches.

That’s all for now.  I’m off to my weights workout.  Maybe I’ll post more this afternoon.

3 thoughts on “Cooking for an Army of One

  1. I always think of doing that, but somehow never seem to get it done. You must have put the stir fry idea into my head because that’s what we’re having for dinner tonight!

    Have fun at your weights class!

  2. I do stuff like that too! This weekend I cooked 5 lbs of boneless chicken breasts in the slow cooker, then froze them for the future. I am a total freezer girl!!!!! Today for lunch I had chili-mac (4 points) – homemade from my freezer (made several weeks ago). And tonight I’m thinking of making a big pasta dish – should be good for at least 6-8 servings, most of which will end up in my freezer. It’s weird, but I get a total sense of comfort from a well stocked freezer. 🙂

  3. Bulk cooking is the best! We did that last night with chicken, and especially on these really hot days, it is nice to have something already cooked with the option to eat it cold.

    Plus it keeps you more likely to stay on plan because you don’t want your leftovers to go to waste!

Leave a Reply

