Dread

That’s not a very nice title for the end of a great little vacation trip, is it?  But now I am home and I have to   get to go see Vicky, which means weighing in.  I really am dreading it.  Even though I already know what the scale will say–3 pounds up.  I just don’t know what Vicky will say.  She is very kind and encouraging usually.  I guess I am afraid she will give up on me as hopeless.  I guess that is really how I feel about myself this morning.  Why didn’t I feel that way when I was eating all that food while I was driving for 7 hours yesterday.  Oh well, onward and upwards  (oops, I guess upwards is a poor choice of words  in this instance.)

The trip was great.  My best friend and I are quilters, so we wanted to find a place big enough to set up our sewing machines.  I started out looking for hotel rooms that were considered ‘suites’ and something made me type in vacation rentals.  And lo and behold, there is a whole world of houses to rent out there.  And usually for the same price as a hotel room!  So we ended up in the nicest 2 bedroom-2 bath house, with a living room, dining room table for our sewing machines, and a big kitchen.  It was in a nice older neighborhood, with a little shopping area nearby.  We mostly cooked our own food, which was great.  One day we went to a little drive-in which is famous for its garlic fries.  I had eaten at this place when I was just a kid, and I never forgot their fries.  Which means it was a 40 year old memory!  And the fries lived up to the memory!  That was fun.  We laughed and talked and sewed and watched movies and Dancing with the Stars, and ate popcorn.  It really was a great trip.  I even brought two sets of weights, and exercised each morning, as well as got in a good walk a couple of days.  So really, it was only 2 days of over-eating,  and 2 days of traveling in the car.  Okay, I feel a little better about this weight gain…

10 thoughts on “Dread

  1. You are not hopeless!!!! It is tough to drive for 7 hours without indulging in boredom eating. Before your next car trip perhaps you can plan differently to handle the travel portion of the trip. Of course you can pack your own healthy snacks. How about a book on tape to pass the time more quickly?

    As for indulging on vaca… Meh. Enjoy yourself (in moderation). Give yourself credit for your exercise and for bringing an activity that precludes eating! (Dirty quilt anyone??)

    So you are up a little this week. Big deal. You know what to do to get back to where you want to be. You can do it.

  2. Well thank goodness you put that last sentence in because I was about to smack you upside the head! 3 pounds is NOTHING. It will be gone in a matter of days, if it takes that long. Seriously, after a vacation break & eating foods you don’t normally eat, it’s only water weight. You did amazingly well on your vacation. You took weights! You worked out! You took walks! You cooked at the vacation rental house! Sounds like you did everything right–INCLUDING HAVING A SPLURGE on those fries. Absolutely nothing wrong with enjoying yourself. It sounds to me like you found a nice balance. Now just allow for the water weight, & go to your training appointment, & move on. You are a super star!!!!

    On the board shorts–they arrived last night. I love them! I got mine from a company that hand makes the shorts in California (thought you’d like that). It’s called http://www.boardshortsworld.com. They aren’t cheap, but they are very very well made. I got the Grizzo Girl pair in brown, in a 10 & 12. My shorts measured right between those sizes (they say to measure your shorts to figure out the size to order). The 10 fits well, in a shapely way. The 12s are very baggy & the waist sits at the top of my hips (as opposed to the 10s where they sit at my waist). I think I’ll like the 10s for swimming in & the 12s for lounging by the pool in. I’m a total goofball but think I’m going to keep them both.

    The length is perfect. They hit at my upper thigh, but below where the chub of my inner thigh is. About where my exercise shorts hit. The 10s fit snuggly enough that I think I can swim without anything else underneath them (I’m taking a pair of boyshort swimpants just in case I’m wrong–but these don’t cover my legs at all, so I’m not really comfy wearing them in front of anyone). The brown matches the color in my bathing suit top, so I’m really happy about them.

    OK, enough about that. Hope you have a super great weekend!

  3. How fun!! That sounds like a great vacation!!

    Don’t sweat the tiny gain – like everyone else said, it will be gone in no time! And I’ll bet you get extra credit points from Vicky for working out while you were on vacation. 🙂

    I want to see pics of the quilt!!

  4. Welcome back!!! Your vacation sounded great! Please don’t get too down on yourself about this. And I think Vicky will think you’re “hopeless” ONLY if you give up and cancel the rest of your sessions. We all know that’s not going to happen. I’m sure she’s seen clients gain weight on vacation all the time, and it’s her job to provide a good strategy for you to follow to get back on track, something that you can follow on your own the next time. Maybe it’s upping the activity, maybe it’s doing a modified version of that cleansing diet she had you follow when you got started.

  5. Don’t let any vacation gain ruin the memories and fun you had on the trip. The weight gain is the consequence, and you are certainly capable of getting it off!

    I’m glad you had a great time!

  6. Sounds like a great trip to me! The indulging was fun… and it’ll take a bit of work to erase it, but it’s nothing that some hard work and good eating can’t solve. It’s not like you went CRAZY 🙂

    It’s great to hear from you. Now that I found a way around the Great Wall that’s been blocking me, I can read your wordpress blog, as well as update my own. Have a good friday… I’m going to read through your old stuff I missed!

  7. Thank you all so much for your kind and encouraging words. I had a great workout with Vicky, and she did go over some strategies to minimize the eating-in-the-car damage.

    I had a great food day, and I even went out for a 1 1/2 mile run-walk this evening. Back to work tomorrow!

  8. Debby, thanks for your comment today. I’ll be praying for you!

    And yes, I usually avoid all committees like the plague. This is actually for a new music team at church. I thought we would be serving under the worship leader, but the idea is that we will be a self sufficient group. Unfortunately no true leader has emerged, so last night was a chaotic mix of too many chiefs not enough indians. Ugh! I pray it will get better!

Leave a Reply

