Inspiration

DSCN0613

That Mizfit is something else!  Thursday morning she challenged us with the question, “What would you do if you knew you could not fail?”  

I was surprised at how quickly I answered that question.  My answer was, “I would quit my job and become an art quilter.”  I read that blog post before I left for work on Thursday morning at 5am, and I thought about it all the was to work .  I kept thinking about it during the day periodically.  

And what I thought was this.  I am not really 100% ready to quit my job yet.  But what is keeping me from working more consistently on my art quilting NOW?  And I knew right away that there were two things I could change.  First, I could clean up my work area, and keep it cleaned up.  Having it cluttered keeps me from working when I have bits and pieces of time.  I have read several articles on this recently in art quilter magazines.  How artists tend to be messy and unorganized, but if you will take the little bit of time to keep an area clean and organized, you actually can get a lot more accomplished and actually be more creative.  

The second was this, and it is a biggie.  I need a table that the sewing machine can set down into, that is the correct height for a short person like myself.  The truth is that it is very uncomfortable for me to quilt for any period of time at all, and so I just don’t do it.  I can sew just fine, but the quilting is a pain, literally.  I have toyed with this idea for years.  And I actually had a custom cabinet being built when the guy decided he didn’t have time to finish the job.  ANYWAYS, because of Miz’s question, I looked around on the internet again, and I am ordering a table!  I am so excited.  

Have you all been keeping up with Pastaqueen’s travel blog?  LOVE IT!  She also has inspired me to take some more concrete steps towards travel in my future.  Of course the fact that she ate all that great food AND lost 4 pounds is a motivating factor–haha!  But this morning she mentioned something that resounds with me, and I think I will make a move to cut back again on my work hours–she and a friend talked about “the French philosophy of working to live, not living to work.”  I would still make plenty of money for my simple needs, and it might give me a little more time for my quilting.  I might also not feel quite so pressured when I am needed to help out my dad and his wife in the Bay Area.  Maybe I might even live in a tidier house, and be able to rake the yard once in a while…

On the weight/food/workout front, I am happy this morning.  I worked out with Vicky on Thursday (because of being gone on vacation) and if you will recall, my weight was up 3 pounds that day.  I have been diligent with my food since then, and worked out on Sunday even though it was my only day off, and my weight is back down 3 pounds this morning.  I am happy and hopeful once again.

Thought I’d better share a little quilting in this post about inspiration.  The top piece is a close-up of a quilt I shared before, so you can see the threadwork I do.  It is of my little place in the woods with the stream and waterfall.  The small quilt below is just something I like to do–the same fabric grouping that I used for the other quilt, but just an abstract set into a beautiful print.

DSCN0609

11 thoughts on “Inspiration

  1. loved the art quilt – loved the one patch too – great colors!

    I have 3 UFO’s that my mom and I are finishing. Started with the one that will require the most time (Button Tree Lane) and then blocks from one round robin (just need to do filler blocks and put it together. And then one that is both patched and appliqued that I have always loved.

    If I was doing them myself – would have started with simpliest one – but the harder one gives my mom more to do – so that is why we started there.

    My husband said that his dream would be to own/run a doggy daycare. We are all allergic to dogs (except him) so I think it would be his way to get his dog fix in each day. He would be very good at it – good trainer – loves to run and play with them – not enough $$$ for the ages that our kids are – would be a good retirement job for him.

  2. You know, I’m still pondering that question of Miz’s. The two aspects that are tricky for me are: (1) figuring out what I want is often harder than making it happen and (2) it’s not so much fear of failure as it is fear of succeeding and the “success” not being what I want after all.

    Have to say, though: your quilts are gorgeous! I don’t think I’ve ever seen that technique before, where you have the small quilt embedded into a print. Very cool!

  3. How awesome that you know what you want to do and are taking concrete steps to pursue it! I love your artwork. 🙂

    I really have trouble with Miz’s question. I have no idea how to answer it. Wonder what that says about me??

  4. Im with juice. and IM SO HONORED if I were even a tiny part of you deciding to take steps to your dream.
    I know I say it all the time but I DO believe that our goals are merely our dreams with timelines!

  5. Vickie, I LOVE that Button Tree Lane quilt! Will be anxious to see your finished product-hope you will share!

    Juice–maybe you don’t know how to answer it because you are already doing what you want to do and succeeding at it. In the past that is how I have felt when this question came up.

    Miz–You are indeed a big part of me taking concrete steps towards this goal. It takes a lot for me to make a DECISION, and you were definitely the final prod!

  6. Your quilts are beautiful. How wonderful that you took Miz’s challenge & ran with it. Good on you! (I have heard this question before, & someone answered “play the lottery.” HA!)

  7. Oooh, I like Laura’s answer to that question! Think I’ll go buy a lottery ticket after work today – oh wait, that’s right – I don’t play the lottery. Oh well.
    Love your quilt pictures – so pretty! You are so talented – is there anything you can’t do? I’ll email you a picture of my tiny knitted coasters if you want! I’m still envious of your quilting weekend with your friend – how fun!
    I’m also envious of your custom sewing table – I think that will be so great! I used to have one – but mine was a rickety little thing and now that I think about it, I’m not sure what happened to it. I would love to start sewing again, but right now the knitting is filling that need nicely.
    You are doing so great at everything – I’m inspired to be less sloth-like after reading this post – you are awesome! 🙂

  8. Thanks everyone for the nice comments!

    Yes, Jill, there are many things I can’t do. One of them is drawing, and right now I am trying to draw the rug for the rug camp that I am going to in two weeks! Of course I have known about this for months. Oh, that is one other good thing I can do–PROCRASTINATE!!! Aaaargh…. Yes, email me your coaster pics. I feel like a proud knitting grandma!

Leave a Reply

