The Thrill is Gone

Have you even noticed how a bigger truth can also apply to smaller, seemingly less significant areas of your life as well?  I notice this quite a bit–spiritual truths sometimes apply quite well to the whole weight loss journey thing.

This morning, my regular devotional reading book was 30 feet away, and since I was too lazy to get up and get it, I got out my ‘A Year with C.S. Lewis’ daily reading book that I hadn’t read since March.  This is really a great book, BTW.  Just enough of Lewis to start you thinking and pondering for the day.  I was flipping through to today’s date and the title of this entry caught my eye.

                                        The Thrill is Gone

What is more (and I can hardly find words to tell you how important I think this), it is just the people who are ready to submit to the loss of the thrill and settle down to the sober interest, who are then most likely  to meet new thrills in some quite different direction.  The man who has learned to fly and become a good pilot will suddenly discover music;  the man who has settled down to live in the beauty spot will discover gardening.

This is, I think, one little part of what Christ meant by saying that a thing will not really live unless it first dies.  It is simply no good trying to keep any thrill:  that is the very worst thing you can do.  Let the thrill go–let it die away–go on through that period of death into the quieter interest and happiness that follow–and you will find you are living in a world of new thrills all the time.  But if you decide to make thrills your regular diet and try to prolong them artificially, they will all get weaker and weaker, and fewer and fewer, and you will be a bored, disillusioned old man for the rest of your life.  It is because so few people understand this that you find many middle-aged men and women maundering about their lost youth, at the very age when new horizons ought to be appearing and new doors opening all round them.  It is much better fun to learn to swim than to go on endlessly (and hopelessly) trying to get back the feeling you had when you first went paddling as a small boy.

                                                                        –from Mere Christianity, by C.S. Lewis

This really resonated with me in regards to my diet.  I have obviously been thinking about food a great deal this past week or so (the last 5 posts were about food!)  And then, going out of town on yet another stressful mission also makes me think a great deal about how I used to eat ALL THE TIME.  Whatever I wanted, however much I wanted of it.

But this entry is absolutely true.  Nothing really ever thrilled me anymore.  It took more and more food, richer and richer choices.  And when I first started in Weight Watchers, it was like a death.  I remember mourning the loss of large chunks of meat.  Agonizing over giving up rich desserts.  But once I did, there was a ‘quieter interest and happiness that followed.‘  And I definitely found myself ‘living in a world of new thrills all the time.’  Cottage cheese, wonderful fruits, ahi tuna, roasted veggies, hummus.  Just a few of the wonderful new tastes I never would have tasted in my old life of food.  And now, once again, I find myself going through this process, trying to refine my food habits to even better choices.  Less processed, more fresh.  A little more olive oil.  Who would’ve thunk I would be craving something called edemame and tofu salad a few years ago?  And being excited about making my own yogurt?  But again, I am living in a world of new and tasty thrills all the time.

Its so difficult to convince the person in that old world of rich and dangerous foods that there is another world of wonderment just through the wardrobe door (another C.S.Lewis story.)  But you have to go through the ‘period of death’ to be able to see the new thrills awaiting you.

2 thoughts on “The Thrill is Gone

  1. Wow-oh-wow, Debbie! This is such an awesome, thought-provoking post. I feel like I’ve gone through similar, and not just food-wise. But of course hadn’t quite thought of it this way until I read this quote and your post inspired by it. Thanks! 🙂 (Also, good thoughts to you during your upcoming challenging weekend.)

  2. Excellent food for thought (I’m so punny!). Thanks for sharing. I’m currently re-reading the Chronicals of Narnia, so I’m feeling all warm and fuzzy about CS these days. 🙂

Leave a Reply

