Some Movie Reviews?

I am back again after yet another quick trip to the Bay Area.  I have so many things I want to tell you all, but am SO TIRED.  So I thought I’d share a couple of movies I saw recently that I found worthy.  

I rented ‘The Curious Case of Benjamin Button’ the other night and really enjoyed it.  Much more than some of the reviews I had heard.  I think its because I like period movies that span a long time period, and are a bit quirky. It kept my interest, and was really enjoyable to watch.  And it was almost 3 hours long.

Then last night in the hotel room, I watched ‘The Pursuit of Happiness.’  I had heard that this movie was a real downer.  But I had seen the real guy that the movie is about on Oprah, so I knew there was a happy ending, even if it wasn’t in the movie.  I really liked this movie too.  Excellent acting by Will Smith (I never have gotten why he is so popular, but I do find it fascinating that he seems to have a face that can completely change into different characters,) and his little boy did a good job too.  One thing I liked about this movie was how he just kept working doggedly, sometimes frantically to reach his goal.  It really reminded me of how many of us have to work on our health and fitness (different words for diet and exercise) goals.

Another thing that happened on this trip was once again, facing my possible future by seeing my dad, and his increasing frailty.  When I told him about joining this gym so that I could swim, he reminded me that he had belonged to a gym (Jack LaLayne!) when he was about my age.  I remember that well.  He was quite devoted to going to the gym.  So even the fact that I am working out so hard is no guarantee that I will not end up like him.  I was thinking about all this in my hotel room (and exercising, BTW!) when a news piece came on about George Bush Sr. celebrating his 85th birthday by skydiving!!!  Not that I want to skydive now or in the future.  But there is a different way to age!  It really gave me hope.

I also got in some great exercise today.  Checked out a walk to the Japanese gardens near where my dad lives, and then went and got him and took him over there in the wheelchair.  Even ran with the wheelchair a good bit of the time!  6 miles total today!

And because I know my sister will probably be checking my blog, I will tell you that I joined her at Cheesecake Factory for a late lunch.  But I had already eaten lunch, and so just got a piece of unbelievable cake.  I asked the server twice to bring the ‘to go’ box WITH the cake, so I could put most of it in the box, but alas, he delayed bringing the box.  I was able to stop myself after eating 1/3 of the cake, which I estimate is 400 calories, so actually, if I go to bed right after posting this, I will come in UNDER my calorie goals for the day.  Funny what a motivating factor a personal weigh-in in the morning can be.  And yes, I sent the rest of the unbelievable cake home with my sister.

3 thoughts on “Some Movie Reviews?

  1. I watched the Pursuit of Happyness too the other night – I was amazed that someone could be so focused and not give up when everything seemed to be crumbling around him. That’s a powerful movie.

    Good job sending the rest of the cake home with Mel!! 🙂

  2. Enjoying reading your blog. I know it’s been out a while, but just watched Pride and Prejudice and loved it.

    Cheesecake is one of my many food weekness – but like you only eat a sliver. After losing 150 pounds 12 years ago I’m still careful around cheesecake (and chocolate)

    BTW – I saw the link to your blog on LynnsWeigh

  3. Awesome day Debby! How great that you shared your find with your dad. 🙂

    I’m almost finished with Randy Alcorn’s book Heaven – you might enjoy it. Yes, we are going to slow down and decay in this life, but we have an eternity stretching before us filled with health, vitality and fun! And I hope you’ll teach me how to quilt up there! 🙂

Leave a Reply

