Proud

Is proud a feeling?  That’s how I felt yesterday, after my second successful restaurant meal in as many days!  Sunday, my sister brought my Dad to Stockton (halfway meeting place) for a Father’s Day dinner.  He chose the Outback Steakhouse, which is a particularly difficult problem restaurant for me.  Oh, let’s face it.  Most restaurants have remained a problem area for me.  I have written about this before.  When I go to a restaurant, I want to enjoy all the good old foods I used to enjoy.  I don’t want to pay top dollar for a salad I could make better and for less calories at home.  So I fluctuate between just not going out, and throwing caution to the wind and eating whatever at the restaurant.  But when you need to go out to eat, for various reasons, on a fairly regular basis, AND you are trying to lose weight, the ‘throwing caution to the wind’ just does not work.

Since starting the ‘Vicky food’ and concentrating on food being for fuel and enjoying flavors (100 Days of Weight Loss book)  I have been able to make better choices at restaurants.  Back to the Outback.  I checked calorie counts of their foods before I left, and had a couple of choices in mind.  Stockton is also home to my beloved Yogelina (frozen yogurt) and I kept in mind that if I controlled myself for lunch, we could have Yogelina afterwards.  I got the grilled chicken (brought half home,) steamed veggies, and a salad.  The bread did not even tempt me, since I had noticed it was 200 calories per serving, and I did not deem it ‘worthy.’  I also had 2 of their coconut shrimp, which in my opinion, are divine, and most worthy.  Afterwards, we did go to Yogelina, and I got a small dish, and shared it with my Dad.  Yumm!!!

Then yesterday, another emergency trip to the Bay Area.  I was really distressed about my food because I had already planned my food for the day, and wanted to stay on track because weigh-in is today.  Well, I just rushed around and packed my food up, and even roasted some green beans to munch in the car.  But then my dad asked if we could go out for dinner, and I absolutely did not want to deny him that.  He chose Hick’ry Pit.  Yikes.  Another danger-filled restaurant for me.  We have been going there since I was a little girl, and my choice 99% of the time is exactly the same:  sliced beef with gravy/bbq sauce, french fries, and chocolate pie.  All absolutely delicious choices.  But because I have been reading a few blogs like this one that talk a lot about eating out, having small portions, and getting sauces on the side, I was able to order the beef with the sauce on the side, and a baked potato with the butter and sour cream on the side.  I ate about 2 ounces of the beef (weighed the leftovers when I got home) with the tiniest bit of sauce, and half of the baked potato with just a smear of butter and sour cream.  I didn’t even think about the pie until my sister reminded me on my drive home.  And for the first time, I thought, what am I feeling?  Proud.  Not deprived.  And to top it off, even though I was exhausted (driving WAY past my bedtime,) physically, I actually felt like taking a run when I got home (okay, maybe that was the big cup of Starbucks speaking.)  Anyways, to me, this was a real breakthrough.  I hope I will continue to be able to make choices like this AND be happy about it.

I was rewarded by my weight being stable this morning (only up 0.6 pounds–not bad for a travel day.)

P.S. Miz’s gentle prodding has also had a HUGE effect on how I regard restaurant food–‘more about the them chopping-cooking-cleaning up’ and the ‘decadence list’ (non-food items.)  Where would we all be without Miz?

6 thoughts on “Proud

  1. Hi Debby! Just a quick note to let you know that the swim shorts in my picture on St John are NOT the board shorts. The board shorts are shorts, & I wore them over my swim bottoms, which are what I was wearing in the swim suit picture. I loved the board shorts. They were comfy & felt great. I definitely needed the 12s. I wore the board shorts when we were on the sail boat & when we walked to the beaches, but I liked my swim bottoms when we snorkled or sun bathed. Just FYI! 🙂

  2. Noble? Is noble a feeling? I would describe what you felt as “noble”, but maybe that’s the same as proud? Anyway, you should be proud! You did great when faced with some tough choices.

    When we go out to eat (which isn’t very often), I always ask myself, “is this a celebration, or just someplace to eat?” and that usually helps me decide how far off track I’m willing to go.

    Not sure what I would do if I didn’t get my daily dose of the Miz! 🙂

  3. I want to be you when I grow up 🙂

    I love that you roasted beans to eat in the car! That’s like me making an omelet and eating on my drives down to Pittsburgh. ANY food is portable, that’s my mantra.

    Yeah, pride is a feeling. And you have every right to feel that way. You made excellent choices and didn’t freak. Whoohoo to you!

Leave a Reply

