Re-Framing Travel

I’M BACK!

Went off on a shortened trip to visit my best friend and go to the world famous Sisters Outdoor Quilt Show!  The trip was shortened because of my friend’s wise advice that I might need some time at home to relax and decompress from all the recent stress and activity in my life.  She was right.  Those four days at home were a gift.  I like normal.  I like routine.  And that is what I did those days.  Normal cleaning.  Some extra de-cluttering.  Lots of reading.  A little quilting and creating.  And more than the normal dose of exercise, which was really fun.

[Side-bar:  I haven’t blogged about the stress that much, because, well, because I didn’t want to, I guess.  In January, my dad’s wife became ill, and she died in June.  There was a LOT of travel and doctor’s appointments, and moving and decision making and everything else involved in that kind of thing.  And trying to support my dad the best I could.  It has been difficult.  And yet, I know, not nearly as difficult as many people’s lives during this kind of thing.]

Anyway, we had a blast!  We always have fun together, but this was really a great time.

DSCN0732

 There is too much to tell about in one post, I think.  I want to write first about what I was thinking about on my drive home.  Can you guess?  You only get one guess.  Yes, FOOD!

I was thinking about how travel has been all about food.  I have written about this before.  But I don’t think that I wrote that as I gained more and more weight, that travel, and shopping especially, became about food because that was all I had energy for.  I didn’t really want to spend too much time walking around looking at stuff.  So any destination became all about the best place to get the ‘best’ food.  Have to put the best in quotes there, because of course, you know it wasn’t the best food.  It was the food with the most sugar, fat, and salt per square inch…

Anyway, this habit is still a work in progress for me.  My friend was nice and suggested that I bring some ‘Vicky’ food for our trip.  And so we actually did fabulously with our food intake on the two days we traveled over to Sisters and back.

On my drive home, I really had to think about where I wanted to stop, and why.  I finally decided against any food stops because it would save me time (and calories.)  I ate sunflower seeds all the way home (I only ate 200 calories worth of sunflower seeds in 8 hours of driving.)  I rewarded myself with a stop at Trader Joe’s to stock up on some of my favorites before going the last leg home.  That was really fun, because in addition to the old standbys (Fage yogurt, cottage cheese, veggies and fruit,) I found some new loves:  carrot juice(!) for my smoothies, fresh edemame beans, organic goat’s milk, and some delicious Rainier cherries.  (BTW, I give up on making goat’s milk yogurt.  But it will still be great in my smoothies.)

So the ‘re-framing’ referred to in the title is actually a ‘psych’ term from Weight Watchers.  One of those eight keys to weight loss that they try to teach you.  And, like I said, I am still working on this.  I have to find new goals and enjoyments for travel that don’t include eating out and buying stuff.  I think its gonna take a while.  

I’ll write another post about our adventures at the quilt show, hopefully with some pictures included!

5 thoughts on “Re-Framing Travel

  1. Debby – I am sorry to hear about your Dad’s wife. What stress to be under with all the help that you have given on top of work as well!

    I am glad you enjoyed your vacation, you deserved it.

    I can’t wait to read the recap!

    I miss Trader Joes – they aren’t here in upstate NY, but I loved shopping there when we lived in IL.

  2. So sorry to hear about your Dad’s wife. I know you’ve had a lot of stressful stuff happening lately, surely it will get better soon. (((hugs)))

    I love the picture – you look great!

    Funny how the word “normal” has been popping up today – you and Laura N both commented on how comforting the normal routines can be. I couldn’t agree more. I’ve always said, I love my normal, boring life!
    I hope you get more “normal” days soon.
    🙂

  3. Aw, Debby. I’m sorry to hear about your Dad’s wife, too. I’ve only hit the tip of the iceberg in dealing with parent health issues, and I can imagine how stressful that must have been for you. I’m glad you got a chance to have a nice visit with your friend and some “normal” time at home.

    (Oh, and what Jill said: you look fabulous!!! 🙂 )

  4. So sorry to hear of your family’s loss.

    Is your dad adjusting? I can’t remember if you have said how long they were married. I think the loss of a spouse is particularly hard on men.

    Did his move end up being a good thing for him too (I think originally it might have been due to his wife’s health) – ?

    I am glad that you told us and I can certainly understand why you needed to get past it before talking about it. Reflection is often helpful.

    Interested in seeing all your Sister’s pics – you always have such fun ones.

  5. Thanks for the nice comments all. I only mentioned this because I have so often referred to ‘stress’ in the past few months, and then stopped talking about it, and wanted to explain. But thank you for being kind.

    It was difficult because we were not close, and so people who knew me well did not even think it necessary to say sorry or offer condolences… Even so, it was difficult, and I did try very hard to get her the best care.

    I think my dad is adjusting okay. I think you are right Vickie. I think he misses the dailiness of their life together. They were married for 25 years.
    I think the move was good for him too, although I still wonder if it was premature, if he could have been independent a little longer. I hope to be able to talk to him about it this weekend. He doesn’t talk much on the phone like he used to.

Leave a Reply

