The Travel Bug

Lately, I’ve found myself wanting to travel more.  Heck, I already have been traveling more the past few years.  But now, I want to travel further afield.  I think its at least a little related to being a weight that fits easily into airplane seats, and being in better shape so I am not afraid of all the walking that might need to be done.

(side note:  after reading about Lori’s ‘pumpkin oats’ for over a year, I finally had some this morning–EXCELLENT!  I made mine with steel cut oatmeal, added a little quinoa partway into the cooking, added in the pumpkin, unsweetened almond breeze, spices, and splenda, and topped with a little ground flax seed.  I really recommend steel cut oatmeal, yummy texture and nutty taste.)

Back to travel…Margie has been writing about her cruise adventures over here.  Somebody linked to this inspirational travelista here.  And Hanlie added her own travel dream list here.  And then, of course, there was the fabulous travelogue by Pasta Queen.  Reading all these just adds to my own wanderlust.  For me, this means planning way ahead.  Setting goals to get the time off, and to save money.  If I really want to travel overseas, it means getting a passport.

Here are some of the places I want to go to:

Africa.  I really am going to do this.  And I can’t believe I am going to do this.  A few years ago, I became interested in Vapor Sports after reading an impassioned description of the abject poverty in Kawangware by this guy.  I really like them because they are interested in taking care of the whole person.  And as time has gone on, I am more and more concerned about people going hungry, and living without food, and water, and even shoes on their feet.*  But I think that it just might be important for me to go and see this in person.  I think it might make monetary choices even clearer in my future.  At first I said I would go in 2011, but I think I am going to try to go next year.

masai_mara1_dxo

I really do want to take a cruise to Alaska.  I think it would be a blast.  I know I would gain weight, but I think it would be worthy…there are quite a few quilting cruises to Alaska, but I’m not sure if I want to do that, or just go to enjoy the scenery and be inspired that way.  

radakhubglaicericeb1

I would like to visit England, Ireland, and Scotland.  Just love the scenery over there.  The whole James Herriot thing.

dsc01562

And, I would like to rent a camper or something, and travel around the United States, a la John Steinbeck, in Travels with Charley!  I even named one of my standard poodles Charlie.  There are so many beautiful places to see in our country, and of course, now I would have to include stops to visit with some of my favorite bloggers!

DSCN0414

DSCN0457

Of course my trip would have to be called ‘Travels with Oliver,’ who is evidently completely non-photogenic.  Oh, there might be one problem with that…Oliver doesn’t enjoy travel at all.  Maybe, ‘Travels with Sophie?’

All this brings up one other subject that I will have to mull over in deciding how much I can really travel.  And that is my desire to live a simple life.  Part of living a simple life is being willing to live with less income.  And I don’t really know how that would fit with extensive travel plans.

Hope you all are having a wonderful weekend!

*  see my verse of the week page for my thoughts about this.

5 thoughts on “The Travel Bug

  1. are you thinking of traveling with a medical assistance group to Africa? I can see you doing that (I can actually see you doing that every other year or so).

  2. or is it all perfectly in alignment?
    your desire to travel (and it could be simple travel not fancy) is TOTALLY in alignment with the decision to live simply at home so that travel is possible.

    fewer things here.
    more money and time and less encumbrances so you CAN TRAVEL!

  3. We have so much in common! I pine for the British Isles… I’ve had my picture taken on the set of All Creatures… I’ve rented a cottage in Yorkshire you can see in the opening credits of the show! I sincerely believe the stork dropped me on the wrong side of the pond. And, yes, MizFit, I agree with your philosophy. I post on tripadvisor.com as LiveSmallTravelBig!

  4. Pingback: Me and Africa « debby weighs in

Leave a Reply

