Inspiration

While slumming in blogland last night, I came across this youtube video.  I have seen the story of Rick and Dick Hoyt before, probably on the Wide World of Sports (always loved the human interest stories better than the actual sports,) and I believe they have been on Oprah.  When I watched this, I was crying and clapping (dogs were going nuts!) and honestly, I just want to get up out of my chair and RUN FOREVER.  And swim and swim and swim.  And then get on my bike and ride across THE ENTIRE COUNTRY. 

This particular video was triply inspiring.  First, of course, the determination to keep going and accomplish an unbelievably difficult physical challenge (the IRONMAN.)  Second, I love the song.  And thirdly, Rick has cerebral palsy, which is something that I deal with at work.  In spite of our best efforts, this still happens to many premature babies.  I am always inspired by the courage and love of the parents when they bring their babies back to visit us.  And I am humbled that they continue to THANK us for what we have done for them.

So the next time you think you are too tired/too old/too stiff to get up and work out, think of Rick and Dick Hoyt, and get out there and run!  (Or walk, or swim, or lift weights, or whatever your exercise of choice is.)  And say THANK YOU that you are able to move your body.

Just in case you have not heard their story, this is another video that tells a little of the back story.

3 thoughts on “Inspiration

  1. I lived in Boston for many years, and always looked for the Hoyts in the Marathon. They were and are inspirational for so many, how much they loved each other and all of the work that went into making dreams come true. Thanks for posting.

  2. Wow-o-wow. Thanks for sharing this story with us, Debby. That’s so amazing! I just read up on Team Hoyt over on their web site. Another one for the “never say never” file….

Leave a Reply

