Its A Different Life

Hey hey hey, my friends!  So good to see you again!  Sorry about the infrequent posting.  But I am back, and ready to start a new one-week ‘cleanse’ diet.  I don’t really like that word.  Basically, it is just a challenge to try to eat like a complete vegan for a week, as far as I can figure out.  I actually like these challenges.  I like lots of vegetables.  And it is fun to try new recipes, and to see if I can come up with an even better version of something. 

I went to the Bay Area for a quick overnight trip, and this time, there were no dinners out!  I took enough of my own food with me, thank goodness.  I took my dad up to see his cousin who lives in ‘wine country’ so after we got out of the stinking bay area traffic, it was a beautiful drive.  We saw a pie stand on our way there, and we did stop and get a piece of pie for each of us to take home.  But I only ate about 1/3 of my piece, and was satisfied, and left the rest for my dad.  I treated myself to a really nice hotel room, and I really enjoyed it.  I always like it when they have a refrigerator and microwave in the room!  I decided to meander home, and gathered fruits and veggies, and yes, beans from various sources along the way–Costco, the farmstand, and my favorite local discount food market. While I was in Stockton, I went to my beloved Yogelina and had a frozen yogurt for my lunch.  It was SOOO worthy!  I spent a lot of time staring at all the different beans that are available.  I finally decided on small white beans.  For some reason they had about half the calories of the other beans.  I thought it was a wrong label, but then I looked at the other brand, and they also had the same nutritionals.  Does anybody know anything about this?

Part of my plan was to get back in town for my usual Sunday workout at the gym.  I did some of those new passive resistance exercises that I learned last week, and took a good swim.  This time I challenged myself to try to swim as fast as I could.  Not too impressive–12 laps in 10 minutes instead of 12 minutes.

When I got home at about 7pm, I unloaded all the various and sundry groceries, and instead of collapsing in my favorite chair, I set about doing some cooking to prepare for the week ahead.  First up was getting a new batch of yogurt into the microwave.  Then I pre-washed some of the fresh spinach.  I am planning to make my first greem smoothie tomorrow!  Then I stuck 2 yams in the oven to bake for a recipe called Yam Delight.  I cut up a butternut squash and put it on to boil with some garlic and a carrot.  These went into the blender to make something called Golden Goddess Topping or Dip.  THEN, I cleaned and cut up some brussell sprouts and tossed with more garlic, salt and olive oil and put them in the oven to roast.  I ate a few tonight, and saved the rest for a salad sometime this week.  If any of these recipes are ‘worthy’ (and they sure sound like it!) you can be sure I will share the recipe with you.

Like I said, this is a different life from my usual return from a trip.  I wouldn’t even unload the car, and I would just collapse in my chair and watch television the entire evening.  It feels good to have the energy to do this much stuff.  And it feels good to look forward to trying some new food, and learning some new recipes.  It felt really good to WANT to go to the gym on my way home.  I have been following some of the raw food and vegan blogs, and really  a lot of their food sounds awful good.  This gal posted detailed directions on making your own almond milk, and I swear, I am going to try this!

And now, my friends, I am falling asleep as I try to edit this post!  So will just hit the ‘publish’ button and hope for the best!

14 thoughts on “Its A Different Life

  1. um WOW
    you are BEYOND DEDICATED WOMAN!

    getting back for the workout.

    WANTING TO GET BACK FOR THE WORKOUT.

    inspiring as always.

    here’s to a great week.

    • Awe, thanks, Miz! The best part was afterwards, when I’d be sitting there reading blogs and such, and then I’d remember, Yeah I did work out!

  2. Go you! I can’t wait to hear more of your veggie adventure. I discovered mashed carrots and parsnips in NYC this weekend, and after a major carb-fest in the big apple, I’m ready to eat my veggies, too.

    As for the white beans, what are the other stat comparisons? Do they have less fiber, protein or carbs than black other beans? Hmmm….

    • I’m going to share your Vegetable Paprikash recipe tonight at class. Actually, I think I might make it today. Gonna substitute ground oats for the flour, and yogurt for the fat free sour cream because of the diet restrictions, and see how it turns out!

  3. What a productive SuperWoman you have been!!

    Every time I read one of your posts, I think to myself “I need to find a Vicky”! I seriously hope one day to be in your veggie-lovin, work-out-doin shoes!!

  4. I do not know one thing about the beans – if you have a local food coop – you might call and ask them.

    glad that you are doing well – I was wondering what you were up to – and if you were gone again (out of town) or just working a lot of hours.

    • Actually I was home a few days, and didn’t have anything to say, then worked a couple of days, and then went to bay area for the next two days.

  5. Your post made me so hungry! Gosh I wish I was your neighbor.

    Thanks for the info about almond milk. I’ll be totally curious to see how this turns out if you try it. Wonder what the cost difference will be?

    And don’t knock your swimming performance!!! Cutting 2 minutes off is HUGE!

    • I foresee a lot of food posting this week! I have a backlog of almond breeze, but I think I will buy some almonds tonight because I am so curious about trying the almond milk. Also, am interested in using the ‘almond pulp’ in some recipes!

  6. Dang, but you are productive! I got tired just reading about all you did LOL! I am curious about the golden goddess topping.

    I keep thinking about trying vegan for a week just for the heck of it, but I love my dairy too much to actually do it.

    • You and me, Lori! I have kind of gotten over my meat love (but don’t plan on giving it up completely.) But my dairy love–a day is not complete without cottage cheese or yogurt!

      And productive…yah! but I crashed today. Fortunately, it is my ‘day of rest.’ And I am taking that literally. Sitting in my big chair, hand quilting. Watching stuff on tape or the internet. Lovely to do this without guilt!

Leave a Reply

