Beans

I’m like a proud mama!  I did it.  I cooked my first beans from scratch.  I think I overcooked them, but I’m still proud.  I’m proud of myself for eating them too.  Here’s what happened (I’ve been watching a lot of Monk lately!)

Last night I looked around a bit and decided to use Roni’s Vegetarian Chili recipe as the base for what I would do.  I always like to start with a recipe because it gives me an idea of amounts, especially where spices are concerned.  This morning before I left, I put 1/2 pound of the beans in some water to soak.  (I had an interesting day, but I’ll tell you about that later. ) When I got home, I checked the bean package again, and it said to cook the beans for one hour.  I think these beans were little and didn’t take as much time as some.  I took out all the veggies I wanted to add:  carrots, onions, squash, tomatoes, and some  cilantro.  I decided to use a can of tomato paste because that’s what Roni did.  And to be honest, I did not have chili powder, so I had to use some taco seasoning, and added some cumin, and of course salt and pepper.  Anyway, after the beans cooked an hour, I added the tomato paste, the spices, and the onions.  Then the carrots.  (I always do this when cooking a bunch of veggies.  I try to add  the ones that need to cook the most first, and so on down the line until I get to the ones that don’t really need to be cooked at all, like tomatoes.)  Anyways, then I added the squash, and finally the tomatoes.  Since I was snacking on some great fresh fruit I had gotten while I was out, I only ate a small bowl of my chili.  But I really enjoyed it.  I was so proud, I put some in a bowl and tried to take an artful picture to share with you all!

DSCN0803

 

I still have my issues with the bean texture and taste, but I can definitely add some bean recipes to my repertoire.  One thing that I really liked about this was the carrot chunks in with the chili taste.

4 thoughts on “Beans

  1. some of the beans DO take much less time to cook. There is probably a chart out there in internet land somewhere. Your picture is very cute.

    here is a chili recipe (I think from Lynn) that translates well into all fresh produce and home cooked beans (rather than canned):

    Chicken Chili
    6-8 servings

    (NOTE: You can make a vegetarian version by omitting the chicken and adding 2-3 cups total of roasted diced carrots, zucchini, mushrooms and sweet red pepper. Cut up the veggies into bite-sized pieces, put them on a baking sheet coated with cooking spray, sprinkle with garlic powder and black pepper (and a little cumin if you want a little extra smoky flavor), and roast in a 400-degree oven for 30 minutes or until brown, flipping once after 15 minutes.)

    1 pound chicken breasts, cut into bite-sized cubes
    1-2 T olive oil
    ¼ to ½ tsp tarragon
    Garlic powder
    Black pepper
    1 C chopped onion
    4 cloves garlic, minced
    1½ to 2 T chili powder (use more or less depending on how spicy you like it)
    1 t sugar (may need to add a bit more later in the cooking process)
    1 t salt
    1 t cumin
    1 t dried oregano leaves
    1 t cocoa
    ½ t red pepper sauce
    28 ounces canned diced tomatoes, undrained (or 5 -6 medium sized fresh tomatoes, skin removed, seeded and diced)
    2-4 C vegetable or chicken broth (depends on if you like your chili more like a stew or more like a soup)
    2 cans (15 ½ ounces) red kidney beans or black beans or a combination of the two

    In a Dutch oven, spray the bottom with cooking spray, add the oil and chicken, then sprinkle the tarragon (or spice of your choice), garlic powder and black pepper over the chicken. Cook on medium high until chicken is brown and slightly caramelized. Remove the chicken and do not clean the pan.

    Cook onions and garlic in the same pan. Add remaining ingredients and the chicken, and bring to boil. Reduce heat to simmer and cook for at least an hour. I usually cook it for three hours.

  2. Yea!!! Good job on the chili – it looks good, and I love your picture – very pretty! I fixed ham and beans in the crockpot on Monday – I love coming home and realizing dinner is already cooked!

    Vickies chicken chili sounds good too – I’m going to try that this weekend I think. I can’t wait for cooler weather – that’s when I really get my soup on!

  3. Good for you! I would just try some different beans until you find a texture you can tolerate. I am so glad to find someone who understands about the beans LOL

    I love that plate, too!

  4. Hi all, yes I remember seeing that chili recipe, but had forgotten where it was. Thanks for printing it on my blog–now I can find it again! Pubsgal mentioned adding mushrooms, which would have also been a good addition.

    And yes, Lori, the very best way to enjoy this chili would be to eliminate the beans completely LOL! And actually I’m not kidding…

Leave a Reply

