Day One

Yesterday I started the ‘cleanse diet’ with a fantastic green smoothie. Basically took the recipe for my fruit smoothie and added at least 2 cups of spinach.  I know why the Fitnessista calls these a ‘sludge.’  Instead of being a beautiful apricot pink color, it was…well, it looked like sludge.  I don’t know if any studies have been done, but for me, the color of something definitely affects the taste of it, or at least my perception of the taste of it.

BTW, you might notice I didn’t say ‘I started the day with a great cup of coffee.’  That’s right.  No coffee again for a week.  Even if I was to fudge and have the caffeine, there is no dairy allowed except for yogurt.  And its not worth it to me to have coffee without half and half.

Anyway, after a few excedrin, the day progressed well.  It was my rest day, and I definitely rested.  I even took a nap in the afternoon!  Mid-morning I had a great nectarine with a bit of granola.  And for lunch I had a great salad.  I mixed the dressing in the bowl like I had seen Martha Stewart do years ago.  Used balsamic vinegar, olive oil, and some herbs from my garden–thyme and rosemary–and some salt and pepper.  Added in carrots, tomato, the roasted brussel sprouts, and a ton on greens, and some pine nuts.  Very substantial.  Mid afternoon snack of carrots and cauliflower with that Golden Goddess dip–the jury’s still out on this stuff.  Then I noticed last night that I left an important ingredient out of it.  Oops.  I’ll try to report on it tomorrow.  For dinner I roasted some green beans, cut up my last farmer’s market tomato, and had a delicious yam.  Now this is worth reporting on.  I cut the yam into chunks, skin still on, covered with water and put on to boil.  Simmered 10 minutes, then dumped the hot water and cover with cool water.  This is just to cool the yams enough to be able to handle them.  You could also do this pre-cooking the day before or whatever.  Then peel the skins off (SO much easier than when they are raw,) and cut into bite sized chunks.  While they were boiling, I cut a slice of a good onion and chopped into bite size pieces, and cooked in pan sprayed with pam.  Then I added 1-2 teaspoons olive oil, and the yams, and ‘fried’ them, probably about 5 minutes per side.  They were really tasty.

Then it was off to class with Vicky, where she lectures for an hour about all the benefits of eating clean, whole foods.  She brought some food samples.  Has anyone tried buckwheat groats?  I was really disappointed, but again, I think it was my pre-conceived notion of what they were supposed to be.  I thought they would be like oats, and I would have them with fruit for breakfast.  But the way they had been prepared, with veggie broth and some herbs, um no.  not breakfast food.  I tried to switch my thinking.  I tried to think of them as mashed potatoes.  But it was too late.  I didn’t like them.  I’m still gonna try them fixed another way.  I hate being picky about healthy food choices.  But there are plenty of foods out there that I do like.

After the lecture, there is almost an hour of negative resistance exercise.  Man, this is good exercise.  It always surprises me when I am sore the next morning.  Basically, it is taking any exercise, and slowing down the ‘return’ portion of the exercise to 6-10 counts, if that makes sense.

I am off for a very full day of activities–car repair, getting new glasses, meeting with Vicky, swimming, and then lunch and the afternoon with a friend.  There is a restaurant we go to and I think my favorite salad will fit just fine into this diet!

4 thoughts on “Day One

  1. I love green smoothies, but my kids dislike the color of them too. So I put in some blackberries and they look very appetizing then, with a nice purple color!

  2. I know it’s green and looks like sludge, but green smoothies have replaced my morning coffee and after almost two years of drinking them every single day, I can’t imagine life without my daily fix of green.

    Good luck on the cleanse diet. I’ve been doing a lot of research on it lately and am interested to hear how it goes for you.

Leave a Reply

