Experimental Food – Day Three

Yes, I still had to take my excedrin to make it through the morning without my coffee.  Why am I doing this, you might be asking, when I am just going to go back to drinking coffee every morning?  Well, the truth is, I would like it if I just had coffee for a treat, maybe once or twice a week.  So it is a good discipline to try to make it a week without coffee.

First thing I did when I got up was to turn the blender on to make my almond milk.  I followed the recipe here in case you want to try this yourself..  The old osterizer did a great job of pulverizing the almonds.  Then I strained it through 4 layers of cheesecloth.  I was actually very interested in using the almond pulp.  Roni has made some cookies out of it.  And I used it in a breakfast concoction that was pretty tasty.  But the almond milk itself…not that great.  I really love the unsweetened vanilla almond breeze.  It tastes very rich and decadent to me, and at 40 calories a cup it can’t be beat.  

I started my morning with another type of smoothie called a Brazilian Breakfast.  It used unsweetened acai berry puree (something I got from Vicky,) yogurt, flax meal, raspberries, and a few walnuts.  Quite yummy.  A bit tart.  I added a little agave syrup, and don’t tell anyone, but I think I added a little splenda too.  Then it was perfect.

My mid-morning snack was another experiment–a take off on the breakfast cookie idea.  I mixed 1/3cup of oatmeal, 1/4 cup of almond pulp, 1/2 Tbsp flax meal, 1 tsp agave, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp oil, 1/2 tsp vanilla, 1 spoonful of yogurt, and 3or 4 walnut halves, and then put it in the frig to firm up.  I really liked it.  I am trying to figure out how to keep the oats from getting mushy.  I ate it with a whole bunch of strawberries.

For lunch I had 1/2 of a baked sweet potato (because I wasn’t hungry for the whole thing.)  I made a topping for it out of some chopped onion, sliced mushrooms, rosemary, garlic, parsley, all sauteed in a little olive oil.  Very tasty, but again, needs a little something, not sure what.  And I had a big bunch of cooked brocolli.  All very filling.  Again.

Wasn’t hungry for a mid afternoon snack, but I did snack on some grapes while I was fixing dinner.  I had gone to the farmers market in the afternoon specifically to get some fresh tomatoes.  So I just made a really good salad of mixed greens, baby carrots, tomatoes, and a sprinkle of sunflower seeds and pumpkin seeds.  I did the dressing in the bottom of the bowl again, with just the balsamic vinegar, olive oil, garlic, and a bit of plum sauce.  I really like the way this works.  I had  a little bowl of chili, but I only ate 3 bites because I was full.  I did make a delicious bowl of ‘frozen peach yogurt.’  All it was was some frozen peach slices and my homemade yogurt.  I swear that’s all.  No splenda or any other sweetener.  And the natural taste was really delicious.

And last meal of the night is a little bowl of pear sauce with a blend of flax meal, chia seeds, and psyllium added in.  This is really good, too, and I like the chia seeds crunch.

I think I might be eating a little too much food, because I have not been hungry that much.  But this kind of food (high fiber, whole foods) is very filling.  I’ll be back tomorrow with more Adventures in Food.

7 thoughts on “Experimental Food – Day Three

  1. Hmmm…maybe try steel-cut oatmeal instead of regular oatmeal? I found a quick-cook variety to try, and it spoiled me texture-wise for regular oatmeal.

    For the frozen yogurt, I remember seeing an idea of taking yogurt and frozen berries, and then blending them together in a food processor. Is that what you did with your peach yogurt?

    Also, more bean ideas: Lori (of “Finding Radiance”) has a bean brownie recipe on her Desserts page! (http://findingradiance.com/recipes/desserts/). Not sure if beans in brownies counts… 🙂

    • I wonder…I think I just might try steel cut oatmeal. It seems so hard, but maybe that will be the chewiness I am looking for. Steel cut is the kind I routinely have for my regular oatmeal. I love the taste and texture of it!

      Yep, I saw that idea too, and that is exactly what I did. The truth is, it was drinkable. But it was more fun to eat with a spoon!

      Thanks for the brownie idea! I checked it out, and have been dreaming about it ever since! It doesn’t quite fit in with this cleanse, but my plan is to make the brownies to celebrate making it through the cleanse!

  2. I can’t get over how far you’ve come in the last couple of years with your food. When I “met” you, you were gushing about the 100 cal packs, now you’re all “look what I can do with almond pulp!” That’s pretty amazing, if you ask me!

    Seriously I think I have a bone to pick with God because he gave you oodles and oodles of talent – seems like your creativity knows no bounds! Save some for the rest of us!! 😉

    Now if I could just figure out a way for you to come live next door to me, I’d be a happy camper!

    • I don’t ever remember gushing about the 100 cal packs, but I did have quite a love affair with lite cool whip and granola bars of all types going on!

      Wish I did live next door to you! What am I supposed to do with this gigantic amount of vegetarian chili that I made? Even if I was in love with beans, I don’t think I could eat all of it!

  3. You are so creative. Wish I had your dedication to the challenge weeks. I should just bite the bullet and be like you and give it a try.

    For the breakfast cookie – less liquid = firmer cookies. Since you have yogurt and the almond mush, might have been too much.

    The baked potato topping, maybe something bright like citrus zest would give it that extra punch?

    You need some pictures of that food, lady – I want to see! 😀

    • Lori, the whole ‘accountability thing’ has a huge influence on what I can and can’t do. I don’t think I would start or finish a challenge unless Vicky (or someone) was there holding me accountable. And its not that she’s breathing fire or anything. Its just that she’s there, and somehow something in me wants to meet the challenge!

      Yep, still experimenting with the bfast cookie. I think the nut butter is probably a key to texture. But i am trying to get that same texture without the nut butter (not a giant fan.)

      Yes! Love the idea of citrus zest, and even some fresh squeezed orange juice might add the bit of liquid I was looking for!

      Ha! I was thinking I might take a few food pics. Can’t compete with your gorgeous photos, though!

Leave a Reply

