Shrimp Ceviche

Hi all–I promised to post this recipe, and this time I even remembered to take a picture of the food.  The picture shows the original recipe on top of a bed of lettuce.  I thought it would taste good that way, and also look pretty.  I did not enjoy the taste of the lettuce with it–I picked the lettuce out.  I will also post the recipe over there on my side bar.  This is really a delicious and refreshing dish, chock-full of good healthy ingredients!  The lime juice was the missing ingredient and really adds to the taste.  It also probably keeps it fresh a little longer than usual.

                              SHRIMP CEVICHE

 

DSCN0807

 

6 oz pre-cooked shrimp (I used 8 large shrimp,) cut into bite-sized chunks

1 ear corn on the cob

1 avocado, chopped

1 tomato, chopped

cilantro, to taste, chopped

4 green onions, sliced thin

1-2 limes

pepper, to taste

Cook the corn (I take the husk off, wash the ear and wrap in a wet paper towel and microwave for 3 minutes.)  Let cool.  I run it under cold water to speed the cooling.  Cut kernels off ear.  Combine all ingredients, squeeze lime juice over the top, and stir gently to combine.  This tasted and looked fresh after 3 days in the refrigerator!

Total recipe is 625 calories.  I split into 3 nice size servings, for approx. 210 calories/serving.

 

Work was pretty distressing the past two days.  I usually forget all about work once I get home, but I notice my thoughts turning to some of the patients and events and my fellow nurses today.  I don’t actually like this on my days off.  Hopefully a better night’s sleep tonight will help.  It is actually cool here–can you believe it?  And at the start of my ‘at-home vacation’ where I am planning to work outdoors a lot.  Yahoo!

Today was a pretty normal Sunday–church, followed by an extra long workout at the gym, a few groceries (I actually only shopped in the produce section!)  Followed by….NOTHING.  I mean, I have done nothing since getting home at 3:30, and it is almost 7:30 now. Oh, I washed some lettuce leaves, and I read lots of blogs, and left a few comments.  But really, NOTHING ELSE.  I don’t know if it is left over tired from work, or too much working out at the gym. I couldn’t motivate myself to pick anything up, or read a book, or even quilt something.  But as soon as I’m done writing this, I plan to get in my jammies, and work on a quilt and watch a movie.  I have enough calories left to have one of those bean brownies, and maybe a piece of fruit.  I’ve been doing pretty well with my food still.  BTW, I really like those bean brownies–their ingredients are healthy enough to make me feel virtuous when I eat one, and with a few chocolate chips and walnuts in each one they seem like a treat.  But I am not tempted to keep eating them.  (The reason I linked to the link on my post is because I changed the recipe just a little.  But hit the link there, and you will get on over to the original recipe!)

Okay, another boring and rambly post.  But at least it includes a good recipe.

6 thoughts on “Shrimp Ceviche

  1. never boring 🙂

    I LOOOOOOOVE SHRIMO CEVICHE but never ever ever thought of attempting it in my kitchen for some reason….it was always a restaurant food for me.

  2. I printed out all the recipes and collected all the stuff for the middle child to make (all three of the recipes listed on your link to the other blog).

    Middle child is our ‘I don’t know how to cook’ kid.

    And I have told my mom and the youngest that they can answer questions – but CAN NOT DO it for her – she needs to be able to do this herself.

    shrimp recipe sounds very good

  3. Yay – food pictures LOL! Looks so yummy!

    It is hard to leave work at work sometimes. There are always those things that make you think after hours. Enjoy your staycation!

    I would love to see pictures of your trainers bars, btw 😀

Leave a Reply

